For participants, dates, and times visit the symposium page.
Luisa Lambri: Autoritratto by
A concise introduction to the three-decade career of a leading Italian photo-artist Luisa Lambri's (born 1969) photography addresses the politics of representation, architecture, the history of abstract photography, modernism, feminism, identity and memory. Autoritratto appraises the breadth of her work.
Kramlich Residence and Collection by
This book explores the evolution of the Kramlich Residence, a home for American art collectors Richard and Pamela Kramlich and dedicated space for their pioneering collection of media art, located in the beautiful landscape of the Napa Valley, California. Designed by Swiss architects Jacques Herzog and Pierre de Meuron, the unique character of the Kramlich Residence developed from a laboratory of ideas by the architects, and since completion off ers artists and artworks a rare creative opportunity to respond to this dedicated home for media art. Featuring essays and conversations with historians, curators, architects and collectors, and new artist commissions, each contribution in the book draws on distinct experiences of the project, exploring how new ways of viewing and refl ection emerge from the intersections between architecture, nature, moving images, sound, and spaces to live and gather.
Make New History by 
Revisiting the Glass House by
In recent years there has been an enormous interest among emerging and established artists in architecture of the modern period. Revisiting the Glass House explores the ways in which contemporary artists incorporate images of modern buildings in their work as a means to explore the utopian potential of architecture and to provide an antidote to the cynicism of our time. The book features painting, photography, video art, and other two-dimensional work by twenty-two artists from around the world whose engagement with architecture has more to do with ideas and ideals than with structure. The artists reimagine the iconic designs of architects such as Walter Gropius, Frank Lloyd Wright, and Le Corbusier, placing their buildings in unlikely locations and repurposing them for a new generation. Through the works of these artists, contributing essayists examine the recent nostalgia for modern architecture and its potential for instigating social change. ]]>
| Selected Articles and Publications | Availability |
| Morgan, Susan. “A Form of Recollection: The Architectural Interiors of Luisa Lambri.” Aperture, no. 202 (Spring 2011): 32–39. | Full Text |
| Lambri, Luisa, and Stefano Mirti. “Lambri + Sejima: Un Dialogo Tra Stefano Mirti e l’artista Lujisa Lambri = A Dialogue Beween Sefano Miri and Luisa Lambri.” Abitare, no. 504 (July 1, 2010): 102–9. | Print Only - Main Library (6th floor) |
| Webb, Michael. “Luisa Lambri.” Domus, no. 911 (February 1, 2008): 54–69. | Print Only - Main Library (6th floor) |
| “Luisa Lambri: Senza Titolo (Weekend House) = Luisa Lambri: Untitled (Weekend House).” Domus, no. 882 (June 1, 2005): 84-89. | Print Only - Main Library (6th floor) |
| Selected Articles and Publications | Availability |
| Paradelo, Goito. “Anastasia Savinova / Symbol And Place.” Material Soul (blog), March 2, 2016. http://materialsoul.com/graphic-anastasia-savinova/?lang=en. | Online |
| Anzilotti, Eillie. “How One Artist’s Collages Capture the Most Intangible Elements of a City.” Bloomberg City Lab, February 5, 2016. https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2016-02-05/artist-anastasia-savinova-collages-the-spirit-of-a-place-in-a-collage-series. | Online |
| “Something Greater: An Interview with Anastasia Savinova.” Beyond Photography, August 12, 2014. https://www.beyondphotography.online/interviewed-anastasia-savinova. | Online |
Montage and the Metropolis by
Montage has been hailed as one of the key structural principles of modernity, yet its importance to the history of modern thought about cities and their architecture has never been adequately explored. In this groundbreaking new work, Martino Stierli charts the history of montage in late 19th?century urban and architectural contexts, its application by the early 20th?century avant?gardes, and its eventual appropriation in the postmodern period. With chapters focusing on photomontage, the film theories of Sergei Eisenstein, Mies van der Rohe's spatial experiments, and Rem Koolhaas's use of literary montage in his seminal manifesto Delirious New York (1978), Stierli demonstrates the centrality of montage in modern explorations of space, and in conceiving and representing the contemporary city. Beautifully illustrated, this interdisciplinary book looks at architecture, photography, film, literature, and visual culture, featuring works by artists and architects including Mies, Koolhaas, Paul Citroen, George Grosz, Hannah Höch, El Lissitzky, and Le Corbusier.
Make New History by 
Las Vegas Studio by
Since it was first published in 1972, Learning from Las Vegas has become a classic in the theory of architecture, and one of the most influential architectural texts of the twentieth century. The treatise by Robert Venturi, Denise Scott Brown, and Steven Izenour enjoys a reputation as a signal work of postmodernism in architecture and urban planning. However, despite of the book’s prestige, none of the editions have ever featured high-quality color images of the field research Venturi, Brown, and Izenour conducted in Las Vegas and used to illustrate their argument. Las Vegas Studio presents for the first time these significant photographs in large color reproductions. The numerous pictures and films the architects shot during their research in 1968 are a crucial aspect of their architectural study, which relies heavily on these images as the foundation of their ideas. The original slides of these pictures are held by Philadelphia architecture firm Venturi, Scott Brown, & Associates, which has only now opened its archive. Las Vegas Studio assembles a large selection of these iconic images and film stills, alongside essays that explore how the pictures contemplate the phenomenon of the modern city—forge the link to architectural practice of the decades since. Essays, including a discussion with celebrated Swiss artist Peter Fischli and highly renowned Dutch architect Rem Koolhaas on the strong and lasting influence Venturi and Scott Brown's images still have on contemporary art and movies, complement the pictures. A unique opportunity to experience the full intent and import of the Learning from Las Vegas project, Las Vegas Studio will be welcomed by architects, architectural historians, and scholars.
| Selected Articles and Publications | Availability |
| Stierli, Martino. “Territories of Conflict: Monuments and Memorial Culture in Socialist Yugoslavia.” Marg: A Magazine of the Arts 71, no. 4 (June 2020): 46–55. | Full Text (No images) |
| Stierli, Martino. “Architecture and Visual Culture: Some Remarks on an Ongoing Debate.” Journal of Visual Culture 15, no. 3 (December 2016): 311–16. doi:10.1177/1470412916665144. | Full Text - Ohiolink EJC |
| Stierli, Martino. “Building No Place.” Journal of Architectural Education 67, no. 1 (March 2013): 8–16. doi:10.1080/10464883.2013.769840. | Full Text - JSTOR |
| Stierli, Martino. “Mies Montage.” AA Files, no. 61 (June 2010): 54–72. | Full Text - JSTOR |
| Stierli, Martino. “Preservation Parade: The Mediatization of the Lieb House into a Monument.” Future Anterior: Journal of Historic Preservation History Theory & Criticism 7, no. 1 (Summer 2010): 44–58. | Full Text |
| Stierli, Martino. “In the Academy’s Garden: Robert Venturi, the Grand Tour and the Revision of Modern Architecture.” AA Files, no. 56 (October 2007): 42–55. | Full Text - JSTOR |
| Geiser, Reto, and Martino Stierli. “Architecture Officielle Maudite: The Zurich Kongresshaus Between Preservation and City Marketing.” Future Anterior: Journal of Historic Preservation History Theory & Criticism 4, no. 1 (Summer 2007): XII-11. | Full Text |
Epics in the Everyday by
Architecture and photography share the condition of being suspended between fine art and craft. Realism is considered a given, something that happens almost by default. From the moment it is taken, a photograph is understood to be a record of what was in front of the camera--just as a building, as soon as it is inhabited, becomes the fixed backdrop for everyday life. In Epics in the Everyday, Jesús Vassallo explores this condition, tracing a series of collaborations between architects and photographers from the postwar years up to the present. Consistently, the subject matter of these collaborations is the built environment, which presents architects and photographers--in different ways--with a mirror that challenges the idea of realism in their respective disciplines. Beyond casting a diagonal light on important developments within the two individual disciplines, the book chronicles an alternative history of both modern architecture and photography and builds a case for a specific type of realism found at their intersection.
Seamless by
During the past fifty years, documentary photography and architecture have become increasingly interdependent, blurring the disciplinary boundary between the two. Seamless looks at the work of a new generation of European photographers and architects working together to produce images of architecture made from fragments of reality. At the same time, it investigates how shared digital technologies influence the creation of architecture and its photographic representation through images. Based on a series of interviews, Seamless discusses the collaborations between Filip Dujardin and Jan De Vylder, Philipp Schaerer and Roger Boltshauser, and Bas Princen and OFFICE Kersten Geers David van Severen. Each of the three sections is illustrated with a series in images that form parallel narratives within the book. In the concluding essay, architect Jesús Vassallo pulls together the treads of the conversations to investigate questions about the impact of digital technology on the value assigned to images, how shared technological platforms enhance the influence photographers and architects have on each other, and why they have often chosen to focus on the dirty realism of the urban spaces.
Make New History by | Selected Articles and Publications | Availability |
| Vassallo, Jesús. “Seamless : Digital Collage and Dirty Realism in Architecture.” Log, no. 39 (January 1, 2017): 45–65. | Full Text - JSTOR |
| Vassallo, Jesús. “Doll’s Houses.” AA Files, no. 70 (June 2015): 19–24. | Full Text - JSTOR |
| Vassallo, Jesús. “Documentary Photography and Preservation, or The Problem of Truth and Beauty.” Future Anterior: Journal of Historic Preservation History Theory & Criticism 11, no. 1 (Summer 2014): 14–33. | Full Text |
| Vassallo, Jesús. “Social Housing in Madrid.” Domus (0012-5377), no. 931 (December 2009): 14–19. | Print Only - Main Library (6th floor) |
Archi. Pop by 
Bigger than life : Ken Adam's film design by | Selected Articles and Publications | Availability |
| Yoder, Jon. "Playing in the World, or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Fetish." Archinect Cross-Talk 9 (March 13, 2019). https://archinect.com/features/article/150125833/playing-in-the-world-or-how-i-learned-to-stop-worrying-and-love-the-fetish-with-jon-yoder | Online |
| Yoder, Jon. “Atlas of Graphic Novel Tectonics.” Flat Out 2 (2017): 2,13-15 | Print Only - Arch Library |
| Johnson, Sara, and Clay Risen. “The Studio Prize: Graphic Novels / Novel Architecture.” Architect (Washington, D.C.), no. 9 (September 1, 2016): 158-161 | Online - US Modernist Library |
| Yoder, Jon. “Photographic Architecture in the Twentieth Century [by] Claire Zimmerman [Review].” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians 75, no. 1 (March 2016): 110–12. | Full Text - JSTOR |
| Yoder, Jon. "Digital [Tactical] Viscosity." TxA Interactive Conference Proceedings (2013): 44-49. | Online |
| Yoder, Jon. 2011. Widescreen architecture: The immersive visuality of John Lautner (Order No. 3486553). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. | Full Text - Proquest Dissertations |
| Yoder, Jon; Hepokoski, James L.; and Utterback, James. Graduate Sessions 6: Televisuality [Syracuse University] (2011). | Online |
| Yoder, Jon. “Vignette Films for Between Earth and Heaven: The Architecture of John Lautner/Infinite Space: The Architecture of John Lautner [reviews].” Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians 68, no. 2 (June 2009): 283–88. doi:10.1525/jsah.2009.68.2.283. | Full Text - JSTOR |
| Yoder, Jon. “John Lautner: Diagramming Vision in Los Angeles.” ArcCA: The Journal of the American Institute of Architects, California Council, no. 3 (January 1, 2005): 26-29. | Online |
This guide was created with resources available through Kent State University Libraries or freely online. These resources were compiled by the Joseph F Morbito Architectural Library in February 2022.
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account