Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAED Lecture Series - Resource Lists

This guide features selected resources on featured lecturers appearing at the Kent State College of Architecture and Environmental Design.

 

Selected Resources for:

Joel Sanders

Principal at JSA | Director at MIXDesign | Professor in the Practice at Yale University

For lecture dates and times visit the Kent State CAED Lecture Series page.

Books

Articles

Selected Articles & Publications Availability
Sanders, Joel, and Lili Zarzycki. “Interview with Joel Sanders.” Architectural Review, no. 1469 (March 1, 2020): 32–35.  Full Text
Flynn, Katherine. “Restrooms of the Future: Cross-Disciplinary Project Stalled!, The Winner of a 2018 AIA Innovation Award, Envisions the Non-Gendered Bathrooms of the Future.” Architect (Washington, D.C.) 108, no. 2 (February 1, 2019): 57. Online - US Modernist Library
Sanders, Joel. “Curtain Wars: Architects, Decorators, and the 20Th-Century Domestic Interior.” Harvard Design Magazine, no. 47 (Spring/Summer 2019): 31–38. Print Only - Arch Library
Bartolucci, Marisa. “Walk through: Bi-Level and Bicoastal - Firm, Joel Sanders Architect; Location, West Village.” Interior Design, 88 no. 12 (September 1, 2017): 91–94. Full Text
Sanders, Joel. “Position: Stalled! Transforming Public Restrooms.” Footprint: Delft Architecture Theory Journal, no. 21 (January 1, 2017): 109–18. https://journals.open.tudelft.nl/footprint/article/view/1904 Online
Sanders, Joel. “From Stud to Stalled! Architecture in Transition.” Log, no. 41 (January 1, 2017): 145–54 Full Text - JSTOR
Kellogg, Craig. “Uncommon Thinking: Firm, Joel Sanders Architect; Site, Philadelphia [Education Commons, University of Pennsylvania].” Interior Design 84, no. 7 (May 1, 2013): 99–102. Full Text
Cohen, Edie. “The Professor Is In.” Interior Design 83, no. 5 (May 2012): 71–74. Full Text
Block, Annie. “Listen and Learn.” Interior Design 81, no. 3 (March 2010): 92–94. Full Text
Cohen, Edie. “Ready to Upload: A YouTube Founder Shares His San Francisco Penthouse by Joel Sanders and Melissa Winn.” Interior Design 81, no. 12 (October 1, 2010): 222–29. Full Text
Van Lengen, Karen, and Joel Sanders. “Re-Envisioning Audio Techno Culture: Synthesis of Design and Technology in Support of Communicative Architectures.” International Journal of Technology, Knowledge & Society 6, no. 6 (November 2010): 15–27. doi:10.18848/1832-3669/CGP/v06i06/56154. Full Text
Sanders, Joel, and Karen Van Lengen. “Making Sense: The MIX House [Charlottesville, Virginia].” Architectural Design 78, no. 3 (May 1, 2008): 16–19. Full Text - Ohiolink EJC
Barreneche, Raul A. “Blurring Boundaries between Hidden and Revealed, Work and Play, Joel Sanders Fashions the Highly Flexible LEE RESIDENCE.” Architectural Record 190, no. 9 (September 2002): 122.  Online - US Modernist Library
Lewis, Julia. “Peep Show: Joel Sanders Spurns Conventional Notions of Privacy and Propriety in the Design of a Manhattan Loft.” Interior Design 71, no. 12 (October 1, 2000): 140–43. Full Text
Sanders, Joel. “Male Space.” Architecture 85, no. 6 (June 1, 1996): 77-83. Online - US Modernist Library
“Artists’ Live/Work Housing.” Progressive Architecture 75, no. 1 (January 1994): 32-35. Online - US Modernist Library
Sanders, Joel, and Jonathan Crary. “Sight Specific.” Assemblage, no. 24 (August 1, 1994): 40–47. Full Text - JSTOR

Additional Resources

This guide was created with resources available through Kent State University Libraries or freely online.  Visit the JSA essay and publication pages for additional resources.  These resources were compiled by the Joseph F Morbito Architectural Library in February 2022.