Eric Owen Moss Architects | Distinguished Faculty - Southern California Institute of Architecture (SCI-Arc)
For lecture dates and times visit the Kent State CAED Lecture Series page.
Eric Owen Moss by
Provides indepth analysis of Eric Owen Moss' philosophical and engineered solutions to architecture and design, often representing paradigm shifts in focus The work of Eric Owen Moss Architects is about "making it new," and the aspiration to uncover new ways to think, to feel, to see, and to understand architecture and this essential concept is the departure point for Eric Owen Moss Architects. This firm's oeuvre is underscored by its unique approach to design, which is that it's convinced the world renews itself, and that architecture has the capacity to offer alternative venues as human affairs continue to be re-imagined. Showcasing highly illustrated and richly photographed works, this volume illuminates how Eric Owen Architects avoids traditional organisation strategies, standardised design solutions, and any notion of architecture as simply a repetitive style. This book delves into how the firm is fascinated both by individual buildings, and that evolving inter-relationship between building and city, and the interrogation of that urban/building exchange in a search/research of alternative design tactics, methods, and techniques that will obligate and modify both building and city. Spanning four decades, Eric Owen Moss Architects has designed a variety of award-winning buildings that continue to re-shape the discourse of international architecture. The Eric Owen Moss office works across a range of typologies and continues to educate through prolific engagement, including master planning, building designs, exhibits, lectures, publications, and teaching around the world. AUTHOR: Eric Owen Moss was honoured with the Academy Award in Architecture from the American Academy of Arts and Letters in 1999, and has received numerous honours for his work. Moss has held teaching positions at major universities around the world and in 2006 he received the AIA|LA Educator of the Year in 2006, and the Most Admired Educator Award from the Design Futures Council in 2013. SELLING POINTS: * Provides in-depth analysis of Eric Owen Moss' philosophical and engineered solutions to architecture and design, often representing paradigm shifts in focus * Covers projects from around the world, including China, Finland, United States, Russia, Mexico and across Europe 400 col.
A Confederacy of Heretics by
A Confederacy of Heretics examines the explosion of activity associated with the Architecture Gallery, the first gallery in Los Angeles dedicated exclusively to architecture. Instigated by Thom Mayne in the fall of 1979, the Architecture Gallery staged ten exhibitions in as many weeks by both young and established Los Angeles practitioners, featuring the work of Eugene Kupper, Roland Coate, Jr., Frederick Fisher, Frank Dimster, Frank Gehry, Peter de Bretteville, Morphosis (Thom Mayne and Michael Rotondi), Studio Works (Craig Hodgetts and Robert Mangurian), and Eric Owen Moss. Another young architect, Coy Howard, opened the events with a lecture at the Southern California Institute of Architecture, which hosted talks by each exhibiting architect. In an unprecedented move by the popular press, the events were chronicled in weekly reviews by the critic John Dreyfuss in the Los Angeles Times. Gathering an array of original drawings, models, photographs, video recordings, and commentary alongside new assessments by current scholars, A Confederacy of Heretics aims neither to canonize the participating architects nor to consecrate their unorthodox activities. Rather, the book re-examines the early work of some of Los Angeles' most well-known architects, charts the development of their most potent design techniques, and documents a crucial turning point in Los Angeles architecture, a time when Angeleno architecture culture shifted from working local variations on imported themes to exporting highly original disciplinary innovations with global reach. Taken together, the exhibition, symposium, and catalog that comprise A Confederacy of Heretics offer a unique lens through which to analyze a pivotal moment in the development of late twentieth-century architecture.
Eric Owen Moss by
During the last decade Eric Owen Moss built a critical fortune with a series of elaborations of the de-constructivist theories of the 1990s. Considered one of the most innovative North American architects working today, Eric Owen Moss is known for reinventing spaces for commercial uses and performing arts facilities. Moss plans have breathed new life into marginal urban Los Angeles areas such as his celebrated sequence of buildings in Culver City's Hayden Tract.This monograph features 250 illustrations-including the Wedgewood Holly Complex, the Beehive and the Box.nbsp; Eric Owen Moss opened his office in Los Angeles in 1973. In addition to practicing, he has held professorial chairs at Yale, Harvard, and his current position is at the Southern California Institute of Architecture.
The PS Building by Eric Owen Moss by
The PS building is an experiment and an ambitious attempt by Eric Owen Moss to redefine what a city is. A challenging design, well described and illustrated, from ground-breaking idea through to final design. 30 col., 30 b.andw.
Lawson-Westen House by
This text looks at the Lawson-Westen House - the first major residence that Eric Owen Moss has completed since the Petal House, also in Los Angeles, which led to him being mis-cast as an unpredictable practical joker. He is now regarded equal in skill to Frank Gehry.
Eric Owen Moss by
Incorporating polyhedrons, bent pipes, curved wood, undulating glass, and other organic shapes into industrial architecture, Moss has constructed a number of buildings in Los Angeles, Culver City, and other cities in California, Germany, and elsewhere. The buildings are depicted here in full-page ph
NOTE: Some online files from the US Modernist Library may take a few minutes to load due to their size.
| Articles | Availability |
| Volner, Ian. 2017. “Vespertine, Culver City, Calif., Eric Owen Moss Architects: At the Hottest New Restaurant in Los Angeles, Architecture and Food Are Equally Integral to the Dining Experience.” Architect (Washington, D.C.) 106 (8): 102–9. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=772139&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Vespertine, Culver City, California - Design 2007- , Construction -2016.” 2017. GA Document, no. 143 (August): 48–60. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=776397&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| “Eric Owen Moss : Pterodactyl, Culver City, California, U.S.A -- Design 1998-2013, Construction 2013-14.” 2015. GA Document, no. 133 (July): 94–111. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=741400&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Betsky, Aaron, and Eric Owen Moss. 2015. “Pterodactyl, Culver City, Calif.: Eric Owen Moss Architects.” Architect (Washington, D.C.) 104 (5): 222–33. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=733785&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| Hawthorne, Christopher. 2014. “Eric Owen Moss: His 27-Year-Long Collaboration with Frederick and Laurie Samitaur Smith Has Transformed a Once-Derelict Area into a Thriving Urban Community.” Metropolis 33 (6): 70–80. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=703598&site=ehost-live. | PDF Full Text |
| Díaz Alonso, Hernán, Marcelo Spina, and Eric Owen Moss. 2013. “‘There Is Always a Historical Moment When Techniques and Methodology Influence Culture.’” Architectural Review 233 (1395): 52–61. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=704434&site=ehost-live. | PDF Full Text |
| Webb, Michael. 2011. “La Città Degli ‘Angoli’: Eric Owen Moss Rivitalizza Una Zona Industriale Degradata = A City of ‘Angles’: Eric Owen Moss Revitalizes a Blighted Industrial Zone - Los Angeles, USA.” The Plan: Architecture & Technology in Detail, no. 50 (May): 36–46. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=668994&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Samitaur Tower, Culver City, California, U.S.A.” 2011. GA Document, no. 116 (January): 116–23. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=662671&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Manaugh, Geoff. 2011. “225.” Architectural Review 229 (1371): 066–071. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=60628852&site=ehost-live. | PDF Full Text |
| Gerfen, Kate and Mike Morgan. 2008. “A Surface of Points.” Architect 97 (11): 48–51. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=35348480&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| Mays, Vernon. 2007. “3555 Hayden.” Architect 96 (14) (December): 70–79. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=28037282&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Conjunctive Points Gateway, 3505 Hayden Avenue, Culver City, California, U.S.A.” 2003. GA Document, no. 73 (April): 78–83. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=492438&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Costanzo, Michele, and Emilia Giorgi. 2002. “Eric Owen Moss: The Beehive, Culver City.” Architettura 48 (566): 834–41. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=472496&site=ehost-live. | PDF Full Text |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Mariinsky and New Holland Cultural Center, St. Petersburg, Russia.” 2002. GA Document, no. 70 (July). http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=462182&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Sagaponac House #22, Sagaponac, New York, U.S.A.” 2002. GA Houses, no. 70 (January): 80–84. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=458930&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Ranocchi, Francesco. 2002. “Rinnovamento = Making It New: Eric Owen Moss.” Architettura 48 (566): 830–33. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=472494&site=ehost-live. | PDF Full Text |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Parking Garage & Offices, Culver City, California, U.S.A.” 2001. GA Document, no. 65 (May): 74–79. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=205636&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Stealth, Building One and Two, Umbrella, Hayden Avenue, Culver City, California, U.S.A.” 2001. GA Document, no. 64 (January): 104–15. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=504903774&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Molinari, Luca. 2001. “Eric Owen Moss and Culver City.” Lotus International, no. 109 (April): 80–84. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=504911801&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Moss, Eric Owen. 2001. “A. R. City.” Lotus International 109 (April): 85–89. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=29321093&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Betsky, Aaron, and Sara Hart. 2000. “The Glass Fantastic: Architect-Alchemist Eric Owen Moss Makes Marvels out of the Mundane in His Latest Culver City Project.” Architecture 89 (3): 104–15. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=9001&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Pittard Sullivan, Culver City, California.” 1997. GA Document, no. 52 (August): 8–19. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=407678&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Betsky, Aaron. 1997. “Urban Construct.” Architecture 86 (July): 80–89. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=505688267&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| Stephens, Suzanne. 1997. “Criticism: Eric Moss’s Samitaur Building, His Latest Project in the Culver City Section of Los..” Architectural Record 185 (2): p52-64. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=559007&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Vienna Housing, Vienna, Austria.” 1996. GA Houses, no. 48 (March): 158–62. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=399545&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Samitaur, Los Angeles, U.S.A.” 1996. GA Document, November, 78–87. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=411159&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Rocca, Alessandro. 1996. “Irvine, Piano e Architettura Del Campus = Irvine, Plan and Architecture of the Campus.” Lotus International, no. 89 (January): 7–49. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=389838&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Dixon, John Morris. 1995. “Superstructure.” Progressive Architecture 76 (7): 60–69. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=378176&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| Betsky, Aaron. 1994. “Urbane Renewal [Los Angeles].” Architectural Record 182 (7): 62–69. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=351227&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| “Eric Owen Moss: Lawson/Westen House, Los Angeles, California.” 1993. GA Houses, no. 38 (July): 78–97. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=338507&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Lawson, Linda, Tracy Western, Michael J Crosbie, Eric Owen Moss, and Ziva Freiman. 1993. “Into the Uncharted [Lawson - Westen House, Los Angeles].” Progressive Architecture 74 (5): 68–77. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=345498&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| “Mixed Media: Reclamation of the Building at 8522 National Boulevard, L.A.” 1992. Lotus International, no. 73 (January): 98–107. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=324212&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Moss, Eric Owen. 1992. “Mixed Media Reclamation of the Building at 8522 National Boulevard, LA.” Lotus International 73 (July): 98–110. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=28009083&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Freiman, Ziva. 1991. “Rites of Passage.” Progressive Architecture 72 (5): 98–104. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=317711&site=ehost-live | Available Online |
| Stein, K.D. 1991. “Up against the Wall.” Architectural Record 179 (3): 106. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=9105272602&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| “House T & L, West Los Angeles, California, Design: 1989; Completion:1990 (Est.).” GA Houses, no. 28 (March 1, 1990): 54–57. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=298890&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Murphy, Jim. 1989. “A Different Drummer.” Progressive Architecture, November, 74–83. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=282435&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| Gandee, Charles K. 1985. “Gathering Moss: Four Projects by Eric Owen Moss, Architect.” Architectural Record 173 (8): 132-145. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=239006&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
| “708 House, Los Angeles, California, 1980; Architect: Eric Owen Moss, Assisted by Nick Seirup.” 1981. GA Houses, no. 9 (January): 96–101. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=219541&site=ehost-live. | Arch Library - Print Only |
| Morton, David. 1979. “Look Again: Morgenstern Warehouse, Los Angeles, 1979; Architects: Eric Owen Moss, James Stafford, George Elian.” Progressive Architecture 60 (6): 66–69. http://search.ebscohost.com.proxy.library.kent.edu/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=216897&site=ehost-live. | Available Online |
This guide was created with resources available online or through Kent State University Libraries. Much has been written on the work of Eric Owen Moss and the included resources were selected for their depth and availability.
Several other articles can be found through this search and library resources such as Discovery @ Kent State.
Visit the Eric Owen Moss publications page for additional readings.
These resources were compiled by the Joseph F Morbito Architectural Library in January 2021.
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account