Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAED Lecture Series - Resource Lists

This guide features selected resources on featured lecturers appearing at the Kent State College of Architecture and Environmental Design.

 

Selected Resources for:

Michael Maltzan

Principal, Michael Maltzan Architecture

“Social Transparency”

For lecture dates and times visit the Kent State CAED Lecture Series page.

Books

Articles

Online Articles Location Article / Record Permalink
“146 [Pittman Dowell Residence].” 2010. Architectural Review 227 (1362): 054–057. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=52767924&site=ehost-live. Full Text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=52767924&site=ehost-live
“Kidspace Children’s Museum: Michael Maltzan Architecture.” 2004. Architecture 93 (1): 36–39. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=505049406&site=ehost-live. Available at US Modernist Library https://usmodernist.org/AJ/A-2004-01.pdf
“Michael Maltzan Architecture: Pittman Dowell Residence.” 2007. Architect 96 (7): 64–69. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=505215341&site=ehost-live. Full Text

https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=505215341&site=ehost-live

“Michael Maltzan Architecture: Scotville-Turgel Residence [Los Angeles].” 2003. Architecture 92 (1): 66–69. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=468084&site=ehost-live. Available at US Modernist Library https://usmodernist.org/AJ/A-2003-01.PDF
Chang, Jade. 2012. “Michael Maltzan: His Work for the Homeless in Los Angeles Is a New Paradigm for Social Housing.” Metropolis 31 (6): 46–51. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=684892&site=ehost-live. Full Text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=684892&site=ehost-live
Genovese, Paolo Vincenzo. 2003. “Michael Maltzan: Kidspace Museum, Pasadena.” Architettura 49 (568): 116–17. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=472529&site=ehost-live. Full Text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=472529&site=ehost-live
Goldin, Greg. 2005. “Playing For Keeps.” Los Angeles Magazine 50 (3): 146–50. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=16203308&site=ehost-live. Full Text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=16203308&site=ehost-live
Idenburg, Florian. 2015. “Learning from Los Angeles.” Architectural Review 238 (1422): 86–95. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=743633&site=ehost-live. Full Text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=743633&site=ehost-live
Kliment, Stephen A. 1996. “Arts Oasis.” Architectural Record 184 (2): 78. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=9602251855&site=ehost-live. Available at US Modernist Library https://usmodernist.org/AR/AR-1996-02.pdf
MCLAUGHLIN, NIALL. 2013. “Street Life.” Architectural Review 234 (1399): 42–51. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=90151414&site=ehost-live. Full Text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=90151414&site=ehost-live
Pearson, Clifford A, and Christopher Hawthorne. 2009. “Michael Maltzan Designs a Place of Hope and Creativity for Inner-City-Arts in Los Angeles.” Architectural Record 197 (2). http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=630574&site=ehost-live. Available at US Modernist Library https://usmodernist.org/AR/AR-2009-02.pdf
Pearson, Clifford A. 2002. “Michael Maltzan and Cooper, Robertson Turn an Old Staple Factory into MoMA QNS by Bringing the Industrial Landscape Inside.” Architectural Record 190 (8). http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=461377&site=ehost-live. Available at US Modernist Library https://usmodernist.org/AR/AR-2002-08.pdf
Pearson, Clifford A. 2010. “Breaking Conventions [Pittman Dowell House].” Architectural Record 198 (4): 72–75. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=647180&site=ehost-live. Available at US Modernist Library https://usmodernist.org/AR/AR-2010-04-RH.pdf
Webb, Michael. 2010. “137  [Pittman dowell residence].” Architectural Review 227 (1360): 066–071. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=53739437&site=ehost-live. Full Text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=53739437&site=ehost-live
Zeiger, Mimi. 2010. “New Carver Apartments, Los Angeles.” Architect (Washington, D.C.) 99 (5): 53–59. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=651021&site=ehost-live. Full Text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=651021&site=ehost-live
Print Only Articles Location Record Permalink
“Los Angeles, One Santa Fe, [2015 : Michael Maltzan Architecture].” 2019. Lotus International, no. 168 (January): 72–75. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=800032&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=800032&site=ehost-live
“Los Angeles, Star Apartments, [2008-2013 : Michael Maltzan Architecture].” 2019. Lotus International, no. 168 (January): 108–11. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=800040&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=800040&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan Architecture: Fresno Metropolitan Museum, Fresno, California, 2002-.” 2004. Lotus International, no. 123 (January): 120–23. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=570455&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=570455&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan Architecture: Kidspace Children’s Museum, Pasadena, California, 2000-2005.” 2004. Lotus International, no. 121 (January). http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=563369&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=563369&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan Architecture: MoMA QNS, Long Island City, Queens, New York, 2002.” 2004. Lotus International, no. 122 (January): 66–71. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=570308&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=570308&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan Architecture: New Carver Apartments, Los Angeles, 2008-2009.” 2011. Lotus International, no. 145 (March): 70–73. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=661062&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=661062&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan, Rice University Moody Center for Arts, Houston, Texas, U.S.A., Design: 2012-14 / Construction: 2015-16.” 2015. GA Document, no. 132 (May): 182–87. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=737689&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=737689&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan.” 2013. GA Document, no. 124 (June): 92–99. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=89393960&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=89393960&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: Amalfi Drive Residence, Pacific Palisades, California, U.S.A.” 2008. GA Houses, no. 103 (March): 40–43. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=618208&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=618208&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: Beach Residence, Malibu, California, U.S.A.” 2005. GA Houses, no. 86 (March). http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=569020&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=569020&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: Hergott Shepard Residence, Beverly Hills, California, U.S.A.” 2000. GA Houses, no. 64 (January): 132–41. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=2235&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=2235&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: Los Angeles Residence, Los Angeles, California, U.S.A.” GA Houses, no. 74 (March 1, 2003): 145–47. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=492795&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=492795&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: Mashouf Performing Arts Center, San Francisco State University, San Francisco, California, U.S.A.” 2011. GA Document, no. 117 (January): 50–55. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=662679&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=662679&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: MoMA QNS, Long Island City, Queens, New York, 2002.” 2002. Lotus International, no. 113 (January): 52–57. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=461534&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=461534&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: Pittman Dowell Residence, La Crescenta, California, U.S.A.” 2010. GA Houses, no. 116 (May): 100–111. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=651310&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=651310&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: Pittman-Dowell Residence, La Crescenta, California, U.S.A.” 2006. GA Houses, no. 92 (March): 88–90. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=592465&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=592465&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: Scoville/Turgel Residence, Mt. Washington, California, U.S.A.” 2001. GA Houses, no. 66 (January): 124–27. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=449414&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=449414&site=ehost-live
“Michael Maltzan: St. Petersburg Pier, St. Petersburg, Florida, U.S.A., Design, 2011 (Competition)- ; Construction, 2013-15.” 2012. GA Document, no. 121 (May): 146–51. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=680980&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=680980&site=ehost-live
“Rice University Moody Center for the Arts, Houston, [2017 : Michael Maltzan Architecture].” 2018. Lotus International, no. 165 (April): 46–51. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=787908&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=787908&site=ehost-live
“Uno Spazio Di Esperienze Parallele. (Italian).” 2013. Lotus International, no. 152 (January): 26–31. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=87084089&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=aft&AN=87084089&site=ehost-live
Amelar, Sarah. 2015. “Stacking the Deck: An Architect and Nonprofit Client Work Together for the Third Time to Create Housing for the Formerly Homeless, This Time Using Prefabricated Modules.” Architectural Record, Architecture and communities: design for social engagement, 203 (6): 88–93. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=735269&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only / HTML Full text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=735269&site=ehost-live
AMELAR, SARAH. 2017. “Speaking Volumes.” Architectural Record 205 (10): 96–101. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=125517600&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only / HTML Full text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=125517600&site=ehost-live
Fortmeyer, Russell. 2015. “TRAINSPOTTING.” Architectural Record 203 (10): 120–27. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=110075179&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only / HTML Full text https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=vth&AN=110075179&site=ehost-live
Koush, Ben. 2017. “Moody Blues: The Moody Center for the Arts at Rice Is Part of a Trend toward Multidisciplinary Arts-Focused Buildings Designed by Prestigious Architects at Universities around the Country. The Building’s Siting, Form, and Materiality Set It Apart from the Rest of the Campus.” Texas Architect 67 (3): 62–69. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=768402&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=768402&site=ehost-live
Wessely, Heide. 2015. “Apartments in Los Angeles : Michael Maltzan Architecture, Los Angeles.” Detail, no. 9 (September): 842–44. http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=740496&site=ehost-live. Arch Library - Print Only https://proxy.library.kent.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bvh&AN=740496&site=ehost-live

Additional Resources

Additional information can be found through other library resources such as Discovery @ Kent State or from this search.

These resources were compiled by the Joseph F Morbito Architectural Library in October 2020.