Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

CAED Lecture Series - Resource Lists

This guide features selected resources on featured lecturers appearing at the Kent State College of Architecture and Environmental Design.

 

Selected Resources for:

Burcu Akinci, PhD.

Paul Christiano Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering; Director, Engineering Research Accelerator; Associate Dean for Research, College of Engineering at Carnegie Mellon University.

For lecture dates and times visit the Kent State CAED Lecture Series page.

Articles

Selected Recent Publications Location / Availability
Wei Y., Akinci B. (2021) Construction Scene Parsing (CSP): Structured Annotations of Image Segmentation for Construction Semantic Understanding. In: Toledo Santos E., Scheer S. (eds) Proceedings of the 18th International Conference on Computing in Civil and Building Engineering. ICCCBE 2020. Lecture Notes in Civil Engineering, vol 98. Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-51295-8_80 Available Online
Lei, X., Chen, Y., Bergés, M., & Akinci, B. (2021). Formalized control logic fault definition with ontological reasoning for air handling units. Automation in Construction, 129. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.autcon.2021.103781 PDF Full Text
Cho C.Y., Liu X., Akinci B. (2019) Automated Building Information Models Reconstruction Using 2D Mechanical Drawings. In: Mutis I., Hartmann T. (eds) Advances in Informatics and Computing in Civil and Construction Engineering. Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-030-00220-6_60 Available Online
Vindel, E., Berges, M., & Akinci, B. (2019). Energy sharing through shared storage in net zero energy communities. Journal of Physics: Conference Series, 1343(1). https://doi.org/10.1088/1742-6596/1343/1/012107 Available Online
Wei, Y., & Akinci, B. (2019). A vision and learning-based indoor localization and semantic mapping framework for facility operations and management. Automation in Construction, 107. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.autcon.2019.102915 Available Online
Wei Y., Kasireddy V., Akinci B. (2018) 3D Imaging in Construction and Infrastructure Management: Technological Assessment and Future Research Directions. In: Smith I., Domer B. (eds) Advanced Computing Strategies for Engineering. EG-ICE 2018. Lecture Notes in Computer Science, vol 10863. Springer, Cham. https://doi.org/10.1007/978-3-319-91635-4_3 Available Online
Puente, I., Akinci, B., González-Jorge, H., Díaz-Vilariño, L., & Arias, P. (2016). A semi-automated method for extracting vertical clearance and cross sections in tunnels using mobile LiDAR data. Tunneling & Underground Space Technology, 59, 48–54. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tust.2016.06.010 PDF Full Text
Anil, E. B., Akinci, B., Garrett, J. H., & Kurc, O. (2016). Information requirements for earthquake damage assessment of structural walls. Advanced Engineering Informatics, 30(1), 54–64. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.aei.2015.12.002 PDF Full Text
Taneja, S., Akinci, B., Garrett, J. J. H., & Soibelman, L. (2016). Algorithms for automated generation of navigation models from building information models to support indoor map-matching. Automation in Construction, 61, 24–41. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.autcon.2015.09.010 PDF Full Text
Kasireddy, V., Ergan, S., Akinci, B., & Gulgec, N. (2015). Visualization requirements of engineers for risk assessment of embankment dams. Visualization in Engineering, 3(1), 1–12. PDF Full Text
Gao, T., Akinci, B., Ergan, S., & Garrett, J. (2015). An approach to combine progressively captured point clouds for BIM update. Advanced Engineering Informatics, 29(4), 1001–1012. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.aei.2015.08.005 PDF Full Text
Ergen, E., Guven, G., Kurc, O., Erberik, M. A., Ergin, T., Birgonul, M. T., & Akinci, B. (2015). Blockage assessment of buildings during emergency using multiple types of sensors. Automation in Construction, 49(Part A), 71–82. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.autcon.2014.10.001 PDF Full Text
Ding, L., Zhou, Y., & Akinci, B. (2014). Building Information Modeling (BIM) application framework: The process of expanding from 3D to computable nD. Automation in Construction, 46, 82–93. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.autcon.2014.04.009 PDF Full Text
Shahi, A., Haas, C. T., West, J. S., & Akinci, B. (2014). Workflow-Based Construction Research Data Management and Dissemination. Journal of Computing in Civil Engineering, 28(2), 244–252. PDF Full Text

Books

Additional Resources

This guide was created with resources available through Kent State University Libraries or freely online.  Visit Dr. Akinci's Google Scholar site for additional resources.  These resources were compiled by the Joseph F Morbito Architectural Library in October 2021.