LibGuides: Translation Studies Resources: General Translation Studies Resources

Welcome!

Welcome to our guide to translation studies resources. On this page you will find resources which address the art of translation in a general sense.

Translation materials for specific languages can be found on the other pages of this guide and can be accessed using the navigation taskbar located on the left of this page.

Scholarship of Translation Studies

Use these databases to locate scholarship of Translation Studies including books, articles, conference papers and more.

Translation Studies Bibliography This link opens in a new window
An annotated bibliography of more than 40,000 citations to resources in the field of Translation and Interpreting Studies. Includes journal articles, monographs, (articles from) collective volumes, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts.
The bibliography does not index translations or dictionaries, unless relevant to research in Translation & Interpreting (T/I).
BITRA: Bibliography of Interpreting and Translation This link opens in a new window
Free index of scholarship in the fields of Translation and Interpreting.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of scholarly materials for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric and composition, folklore, and film. Provides citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, series, translations, scholarly editions, websites, and dissertations with links to full text in JSTOR, Project MUSE, and other resources. Coverage: Early 20th century to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Databases of Translations

Use these tools to discover existing translations of a work.

Index Translationum
The INDEX TRANSLATIONUM data base contains bibliographical information on books translated and published in about a hundred of UNESCO's Member States since 1979 and totalizing some 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines. Produced by UNESCO.
Translation Database
The database tracks original publications of fiction and poetry to determine which contemporary voices are being made available in English. This database can assist students and researchers in identifying what books are available, from which countries and in what languages.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Contains records to over 100 million items in most (if not all) subject areas. The database can be searched for the original (uniform) title of the work and you may limit your search by the language that you are interested in to discover any translations.

Multilingual Dictionary Resources

Listed below you will find several multilingual dictionaries. However, these are only a select few of the dictionaries that you have access to through the Kent State University Library and online. You are encouraged to search KentLINK yourself to locate more dictionary resources, books and ebooks if none of those listed below meet your needs.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials that are helpful when learning a new language.
Languages included: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for both current and historical definitions of a word. Provides quotations and the ability to search for the occurrence of a word in any definition.

Translators Home Companion
This site includes a list of Online Glossaries.
Word Reference
An online dictionary for multiple languages.
Language Realm
A resource for language reference which includes the Chinese, English, French, German, Japanese, Latin, and Spanish languages. The site provides information about slang and colloquialisms as well as idioms and expressions.

Translation Collection - 8th floor University Library

Print Bilingual and Multilingual Subject Dictionaries: Main Library – 8th Floor Translation Collection

There are bilingual and multilingual subject specific dictionaries on the 8th floor of the main library for your reference use. They are organized by language and the collection grows each year. Items in this collection do not circulate.

There are other editions of bilingual dictionaries available in the circulating collection. Go to KentLINK online catalog to search for other titles.

8th floor Translation Collection

Translation Handbooks and Encyclopedias

A Companion to Translation Studies by Sandra Bermann (Editor); Catherine Porter (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470671894
Publication Date: 2014
This companion offers a wide-ranging introduction to the rapidly expanding field of translation studies, bringing together some of the best recent scholarship to present its most important current themes Features new work from well-known scholars Includes a broad range of geo-linguistic and theoretical perspectives.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies by Mona Baker (Editor); Gabriela Saldanha (Editor)
ISBN: 9780415369305
Publication Date: 2008
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Translation Studies has been the standard reference in the field since it first appeared in 1998. Part One (General) covers the conceptual framework and core concerns of the discipline. Part Two (History and Traditions) covers the history of translation in major linguistic and cultural communities.
The Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation by R. Kelly Washbourne; Ben Van Wyke
ISBN: 1138699292
Publication Date: 2018
The Routledge Handbook of Literary Translation provides an accessible, diverse and extensive overview of literary translation today. This next-generation volume brings together principles, case studies, precepts, histories and process knowledge from practitioners in sixteen different countries.

Finding Parallel Texts

Locating parallel texts during your translation studies can sometimes be difficult. However, a good way to begin your search is by exploring the different library databases that are available through the Kent State University Library's website.

To locate parallel texts in scientific translation consider looking at the Biological Sciences Resource Guide, the Physics databases, or browse through any of the other scientific-related databases available.

Databases by Subject
This link will take you directly to the list of databases available through the KSU Libraries. These databases are listed alphabetically by subject.
Commercial Translation
To locate parallel texts in commercial translation consider looking at the business databases that are available.
Legal Translation
To locate parallel texts in legal translation consider looking at the law databases that are available.
Medical Translation
To locate parallel texts in medical translation consider looking at the health databases that are available.

The resources BELOW can be utilized for locating literary and cultural parallel texts, but they are only a few of the databases that are available. Feel free to explore the rest!

Modern and Classical Language Studies Databases
These are the databases that addresses modern and classical language studies.
English Studies Databases
These are the databases that address English studies.

Associations

American Association for Applied Linguistics (AAAL)
A professional society which addresses language related-issues and has members worldwide.
American Translators Association (ATA)
A professional association of translators and interpreters which fosters professional development of individuals within the field.
ATISA: American Translation and Interpreting Studies Association
An association which encourages and supports translation and interpreting studies.
Lexicool's List of Translator and Interpreter Associations around the World
A list of international associations and also associations by country is provided.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Translation Studies Resources

Welcome

Librarian for Translation Studies

Welcome!

Scholarship of Translation Studies

Databases of Translations

Multilingual Dictionary Resources

Translation Collection - 8th floor University Library

Translation Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Finding Parallel Texts

Associations

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information