LibGuides: Translation Studies Resources: Chinese Resources

Welcome!

Welcome to the Chinese language portion of our translation studies resources guide! Here you will find resources that specifically target the Chinese language.

Photo by Cherry Lin on Unsplash.

Chinese Language Resources

Chinese Proverbs and Popular Sayings by Qin Xue Herzberg; Larry Herzberg
ISBN: 9781933330990
Publication Date: 2012
This treasury of Chinese wisdom presents over five hundred proverbs while offering keys to culture and language.
Mastering advanced modern Chinese through the classics : an advanced language and culture course by Wu, Shu-Ling
ISBN: 9781315208978
Publication Date: 2019
Mastering Advanced Modern Chinese through the Classics is a textbook to teach those who wish to achieve an advanced or native proficiency and cultural competence in modern Chinese, as well as to experience the beauty of classical Chinese literature. Collecting representative works containing vibrant views of Chinese culture from different dynasties, this book is focused on how the grammatical patterns, vocabulary, and idioms that are found in classical Chinese are relevant in the modern adaptation of the language, and how the accumulated traditional values and beliefs found there still shape the thinking and lifestyle of modern society.
Thinking Chinese Translation by Valerie Pellatt; Eric Liu; Liu Tin-Kun; Pellatt Valerie; Liu Tin-Kun
ISBN: 9780203849316
Publication Date: 2010
Thinking Chinese Translationis a practical and comprehensive course for advanced undergraduates and postgraduate students of Chinese. Thinking Chinese Translation explores the ways in which memory, general knowledge, and creativity (summed up as 'schema') contribute to the linguistic ability necessary to create a good translation. The course develops the reader's ability to think deeply about the texts and to produce natural and accurate translations from Chinese into English.

Government Terms Translated
This site assists people in translating various types of government terms (such as law, budget, and political terms) from English to Chinese or vice versa.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a good source for international business and company news. It includes full text news reports from more than 10,000 sources from 159 countries and available in 22 languages. Includes hundreds of full text news sources in Chinese.

Project Gutenberg Chinese Language Books
Gain access to ebooks and audio books in Chinese as you browse by author. You may also read other language translations of the work.

Dictionary Resources

Listed below you will find several dictionaries. However, these are only a select few of the dictionaries that you have access to through the Kent State University Library and online. You are encouraged to search KentLINK yourself to locate more dictionary resources, books and ebooks if none of those listed below meet your needs.

Oxford Chinese Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff
ISBN: 9780199207619
Publication Date: 2010
By far the largest and most up-to-date single-volume English-Chinese and Chinese-English dictionary available and endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Chinese Dictionary has been designed both for English speakers learning Mandarin Chinese and Mandarin Chinese speakers learning English.
Dictionary of 1000 Chinese Idioms by Marjorie Lin; Schalk Leonard
ISBN: 9780781812788
Publication Date: 2012
Four-character idioms, also known as chengyu, are key components of the Chinese language and culture, many conveying important lessons and social values that stretch back over 3,000 years of Chinese history.

Chinese/English Bilingual Dictionaries
These are Chinese/English bilingual dictionaries that are available through KentLINK.
Carl Gene Fordham's Glossary Archive
A collection of English/Chinese glossaries developed by a professional translator. The glossary subjects include criminal law terms, diseases and disabilities, modern weaponry, illicit drugs, medical symptoms, English emotions, and others.
Chinese Characters Dictionary Web
This site interlinks numerous Chinese dictionaries on a character-to-character level. This site allows users to check character entries against other dictionaries without having to look up the character again.
Etymological Chinese-English Dictionary
A dictionary which uses a series of charts to to illustrate the relationships between Chinese characters.

Translation Collection - 8th Floor University Library

Print Bilingual and Multilingual Subject Dictionaries: Main Library – 8th Floor Translation Collection

There are bilingual and multilingual subject specific dictionaries on the 8th floor of the main library for your reference use. They are organized by language and the collection grows each year. Items in this collection do not circulate.

There are other editions of bilingual dictionaries available in the circulating collection. Go to KentLINK online catalog to search for other titles or follow this link for a search result for Chinese/English Bilingual Dictionaries.

Chinese Translation Associations

Translators Association of China (TAC)
TAC aims to protect the rights and interests of translators and interpreters as well as people engaged in the language service industry, uphold the quality of translation and interpreting, and facilitate understanding and cooperation among all stakeholders of the language industry.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Translation Studies Resources

Librarian for Chinese language

Welcome!

Chinese Language Resources

Dictionary Resources

Translation Collection - 8th Floor University Library

Chinese Translation Associations

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information