LibGuides: Translation Studies Resources: Arabic Resources

Welcome!

Welcome to the Arabic language portion of our translation studies resources guide! Here you will find resources that specifically target the Arabic language.

Photo by Darcey Beau on Unsplash

Arabic Language Resources

Advanced English-Arabic Translation by El Mustapha Lahlali; Wafa Abu Hatab
ISBN: 0748677968

Publication Date: 2014-01-01

Learn all the skills you need to translate from English to Arabic in this clearly structured guide. The extracts from a variety of authentic, contemporary texts have been carefully selected to introduce you to important stylistic features so that you can develop your skills across a range of genres: media, legal, scientific & technical, literary, religious and administrative.
Arabic-English-Arabic translation: Issues and Strategies by Ronak Husni; Daniel L. Newman
ISBN: 9780415478847

Publication Date: 2015

Arabic-English-ArabicTranslation: Issues and Strategies is an accessible coursebook for students and practitioners of Arabic-English-Arabic translation. Focusing on the key issues and topics affecting the field, it offers informed guidance on the most effective methods to deal with such problems, enabling users to develop deeper insights and enhance their translation skills.
Thinking Arabic Translation by James Dickins; Sándor Hervey; Ian Higgins; Sándor Hervey
ISBN: 9780415705639

Publication Date: 2016

Thinking Arabic Translation is an indispensable book for linguists who want to develop their Arabic-to-English translation skills. Clear explanations, discussions, examples and exercises enable students to acquire the skills necessary for tackling a broad range of translation problems. Thinking Arabic Translation is key reading for advanced students wishing to perfect their language skills or considering a career in translation.

The New Library of Alexandria
The site consists of numerous digital collections of Arabic-language primary-source materials.
MENAdoc Open Access Collection
Offers worldwide free access to a large number of digital sources and publications relating to the MENA region and Islam.

Factiva
Factiva is a good source for international business and company news. It includes full text news reports from more than 10,000 sources from 159 countries and available in 22 languages. Includes over one hundred full text news sources in Arabic.

Arabikey
ArabiKey features a free Arabic keyboard which emulates the Windows Arabic keyboard. It is specifically intended for computer users possessing a QWERTY keyboard without Arabic letters displayed in it. The virtual keyboard has every key mapped to the physical keyboard which allow you to write in the Arabic language while viewing the letters you press.

Dictionary Resources

Listed below you will find several dictionaries. However, these are only a select few of the dictionaries that you have access to through the Kent State University Library and online. You are encouraged to search Kent State's LIBRARYsearch tool yourself to locate more dictionary resources, books and ebooks, if none of those listed below meet your needs.

Elsevier's Dictionary of Environment in English, French, Spanish and Arabic by M. Bakr
ISBN: 9780444829665

Publication Date: 1998

This dictionary contains terms covering the following fields and subfields: air pollution, biological diversity, biomass energy, biosafety, biotechnology, climate change, coastal environment, deforestation, desertification, endangered species, energy conservation, environmental economics, environmental impact assessment, forest conservation, freshwater pollution, global warming, greenhouse gases, human settlements, living marine resources, marine environment, mountain ecosystems, ozone layer, resources management, soil degradation, sustainable development, tropical ecosystem, wetland ecosystem.
Arabic Military Dictionary: English-Arabic, Arabic-English by Ernest Kay (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315512563

Publication Date: 2017

With some 7000 entries in each language, this dictionary, first published in 1986, gives clear and comprehensive coverage of all vocabulary areas connected with defence, for military personnel and for anyone who is directly or indirectly involved in military technology.
Oxford Arabic Dictionary by Oxford Dictionaries Staff (Editor)
ISBN: 9780199580330

Publication Date: 2014

Endorsed by academics worldwide, the Oxford Arabic Dictionary is the most authoritative English-Arabic / Arabic-English dictionary ever published.

Arabic/English Bilingual Dictionaries
These are the Arabic/English dictionaries available through Kent State's LIBRARYsearch
The Arabic Lexicon
This Arabic Lexicon contains over 50 dictionaries and references. The lexicon contains both early classical dictionaries as well as contemporary ones.
Arabterm: Technical Dictionary
This online dictionary is useful for translating technical and political terms.

Translation Collection - 8th Floor University Library

Print Bilingual and Multilingual Subject Dictionaries: Main Library – 8th Floor Translation Collection

There are bilingual and multilingual subject specific dictionaries on the 8th floor of the main library for your reference use. They are organized by language and the collection grows each year. Items in this collection do not circulate.

There are other editions of bilingual dictionaries available in the circulating collection.

Arabic Translation Associations

Arab Professional Translators Society (APTS)
Arab Professional Translators Society (APTS), based in Beirut, Lebanon, is a not-for-profit association founded in the year 2000. They facilitate interaction between Arab translators and interpreters, translation agencies and their clients.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Translation Studies Resources

Librarian for Arabic Resources

Welcome!

Arabic Language Resources

Dictionary Resources

Translation Collection - 8th Floor University Library

Arabic Translation Associations

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information