LibGuides: Translation Studies Resources: Japanese Resources

Welcome!

Welcome to the Japanese language portion of our translation studies resources guide! Here you will find resources that specifically target the Japanese language.

Photo by Falco Negenman on Unsplash.

Japanese Language Resources

The Routledge Course in Japanese Translation by Yoko Hasegawa
ISBN: 9780415607520
Publication Date: 2011
The Routledge Course in Japanese Translation brings together for the first time material dedicated to the theory and practice of translation to and from Japanese. This one semester advanced course in Japanese translation is designed to raise awareness of the many considerations that must be taken into account when translating a text.

Kokuritsu Kokugo Kenkyujo (National Language Research Institute)
Website which provides access to data on the linguistic research done on Japanese. It also provides access to other online resources such as dictionaries and corpera.
National Diet Library Digital Collections
Link to the Japanese National Diet Library's Digital Collections where both modern and historical Japanese publications can be found (in Japanese).
Premodern Japanese Texts and Translations
This online bibliography contains information on Japanese texts that were written before 1600.
Web Archiving Project of the National Diet Library of Japan (WARP)
Here you may search through archived Japanese electronic journals.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a good source for international business and company news. It includes full text news reports from more than 10,000 sources from 159 countries and available in 22 languages. Includes over a hundred full text news sources in Japanese.

Project Gutenberg Japanese Language Books
Gain access to ebooks and audio books in Japanese as you browse by author. You may also read other language translations of the work.

Dictionary Resources

Listed below you will find several dictionaries. However, these are only a select few of the dictionaries that you have access to through the Kent State University Library and online. You are encouraged to search KentLINK yourself to locate more dictionary resources, books and ebooks if none of those listed below meet your needs.

A Dictionary of Advanced Japanese Grammar by Seiichi Makino; Michio Tsutsui
ISBN: 9784789012959
Publication Date: 2008
A dictionary of advanced Japanese grammar which includes bibliographic references.
Kodansha's Furigana Japanese Dictionary by Masatoshi Yoshida; Yoshikatsu Nakamura
ISBN: 9781568364575
Publication Date: 2012
A comprehensive, communicative, and practical guide to using Japanese, Kodansha's Furigana Japanese Dictionary is an invaluable tool for anyone with an interest in the Japanese language.

Japanese/English Bilingual Dictionaries
These are the Japanese/English bilingual dictionaries that are available through KentLINK.
Jim Breen's WWWJDIC
An online dictionary which has word search and also allows you to lookup kanji in multiple ways.
Jisho.org
Jisho.org is a Japanese-English dictionary which allows you to find words and kanji by typing in either English or Japanese. It can help you understand Japanese text, grammar and even provide you with example sentences.
Weblio
An online dictionary and encyclopedia that will perform a bulk search across numerous encyclopedias, dictionaries and glossaries.

Translation Collection - 8th Floor University Library

Print Bilingual and Multilingual Subject Dictionaries: Main Library – 8th Floor Translation Collection

There are bilingual and multilingual subject specific dictionaries on the 8th floor of the main library for your reference use. They are organized by language and the collection grows each year. Items in this collection do not circulate.

There are other editions of bilingual dictionaries available in the circulating collection. Go to KentLINK online catalog to search for other titles or follow this link for a search result for Japanese/English Bilingual Dictionaries.

Japanese Translation Associations

Japan Association of Translators (JAT)
JAT was founded in 1985 to facilitate the exchange of information and ideas among translators working between Japanese and English, and to establish and maintain professional standards in the industry.
Japan Translation Association (JTA)
JTA was founded with the goal of researching and developing translation skills, training translators, and conducting examinations and certifications related to translation.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Translation Studies Resources

Welcome!

Japanese Language Resources

Dictionary Resources

Translation Collection - 8th Floor University Library

Japanese Translation Associations

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information