Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Online Reference Shelf: Newspapers

The REFERENCE Plus LibGuide provides access to many fulltext online resources including subject specific dictionaries, encyclopedias, research databases, and e-books.

African American Newspapers

African American Newspapers (1827-1998)

Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from African American newspaper archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.

Akron Beacon Journal

Beacon Journal

Home page for Akron's newspaper, the Beacon Journal.

Akron Beacon Journal - Archives

Beacon Journal Archives (1984 - Current)

A keyword search for Beacon Journal articles back to 1984. Citations are free; full articles can be purchased or accessed through Kent State via our microfilm collection.

American Periodicals Online

American Periodicals Online

American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. Updated quarterly.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspaper

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers 

This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages published between 1836 and 1922; some newspapers from Ohio are available. The site also includes directory information, including a link to library holdings, about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present.

Cleveland Plain Dealer

Cleveland Plain Dealer

Online version of the Cleveland Plain Dealer, with many features, such as news, weather, school closings, sports, entertainment, community, classifieds, and more.

Daily Kent Stater

Digital Kent Stater

Full-text access to the online version of the KSU campus newspaper, The Daily Kent Stater. Contains additional information not included in the print edition, as well as searchable archives from Fall 2000-present.

Daily Kent Stater Digital Archive

Daily Kent Stater Digital Archive

Keyword searchable archives of the printed Daily Kent Stater and Summer Stater. At present, the collection includes issues dating from fall 1959 through fall 1969. Also included are KSU Summer News issues from this time period.

Factiva

Factiva

Factiva specializes in business news but also includes news from numerous general-interest newspapers and other sources. It includes full-text news reports from more than 10,000 sources from over 150 countries and more than 20 languages. Most of the major US and UK newspapers are available, including the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and USA Today.

Foreign Language News and Newspapers

Foreign Language News and Newspapers

Electronic journals, newspapers, and magazines are available in Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

LexisNexis Academic

Contains the full-text of newspapers for the past 20 years, federal and state case law and legislative materials, law reviews, company news and financial information, medical and health information, general information sources and much more. Updates and coverage vary by section.

NewspaperCat

NewspaperCat

NewspaperCat is an online database providing links to over 1000 full-text digital newspapers in the United States and Caribbean. The project's current coverage, which began with the Southeastern United States, is growing rapidly and will soon cover all fifty states.

Newspaper Source

Newspaper Source

Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. This database is updated daily.

New York Times - Historical (1851-2006)

Search for New York Times articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format.

NOTE: if you are looking for current New York Times content, please consult either LexisNexis Academic or the New York Times online.

Record Courier

Record Courier of Kent and Ravenna

Includes an archive of news stories back to mid-1997. Also links to other local papers.  Many articles can be purchased online or are available to copy from our microfilm collection. 

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
Tom Warren