LibGuides: Architecture, Interior Design, & Urban Design [Architecture Library Resources]: Finding Books

Finding Books

Library Catalogs

The Kentlink catalog searches descriptions of books, ebooks, films, music, and other items owned by Kent State University. The Ohiolink catalog searches college and university libraries across Ohio as well as the OhioLINK Electronic Book Center. Individual journal articles generally cannot be found using these catalogs (See the Database page or Discovery @ Kent State for more on finding journal articles).

Discovery@Kent State

Discovery@Kent State

Discovery@Kent State simultaneously searches KentLINK, OhioLINK, and several databases for books, ebook, journal articles, and other items. Discovery may uncover cross-disciplinary research due to its broad data set. However, sometimes utilizing more narrowly focused tools, such as the catalogs and individual databases, is more effective and efficient in locating relevant results.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Browse millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
You must log in to have full access to the collection. Do so by selecting Kent State University from the drop-down menu and entering your FlashLine username and password.

HathiTrust contains millions of digitized books with full text search capabilities. Public domain titles can be downloaded in their entirety. Log in with your Flashline credentials to gain the full benefits of HathiTrust.

Recent Additions

New Books at the Morbito Architecture Library

Need Help?

Consult your subject librarian for additional search suggestions or view these library tutorials.

Additional eBook Sources

Open Access & Additional eBook Sources.

High-quality ebooks can be found in various repositories across the internet. Some ebooks and articles are published under Open Access or Creative Commons licenses that permit free distribution. When encountering an online ebook or publication, it is essential to evaluate the source, authority, and content before incorporating it into a project. Check other pages for Open Access journals and publication databases. Some sources for online ebooks include:

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
View full-text and full-page images for over 5,700 scholarly books covering most humanities disciplines and area studies.

Public Domain eBooks

Copyright eventually expires and works enter the public domain where they can be freely used and distributed. Copyright is complicated. If the work was published over 75 years ago, it may be in the public domain and may have been digitized. Additional information on copyright is available through this guide. In addition to HathiTrust mentioned above, some tools for locating public domain materials include: