A Purple Architecture by
A Purple Architecture is an edited collection of essays and projects investigating Purpleness, as a quality independent from the virtual and physical, the material and immaterial, and mundane and exotic. Purpleness thus serves as a theoretical framework to investigate the impacts of technological mediation in developing possible spatial scenarios through storytelling. The book aims to advance the discourse around new technological spatial mediums to blend different modes of reality through various scales and with degrees of physicality and virtuality.
Less Is More (Difficult) by
A celebration of twenty years of design, philosophy, and inspiration from the renowned American furniture brand Blu Dot. Blu Dot is an American pioneer of democratic design, and winner of the 2018 National Design Award for Product Design from the Cooper Hewitt, Smithsonian Design Museum. Founded and run by its principal designers, the company is celebrated for its minimal and innovative design, and its mission to make modern design accessible to a wider audience. Published to coincide with the brand's twentieth anniversary, this carefully produced book collects two decades' worth of ideas, inspiration, designs, and products that chronicle the evolution of one of the most iconic names in contemporary American design. Illustrated with stunning photography of Blu Dot's best-known pieces, the book includes everything the brand has ever produced, from the very earliest designs like the Chicago 8 box shelving system to the ubiquitous and iconic Real Good Chair. Supplemented by sketches, notes, and other inspirational materials drawn from the archives of Blu Dot's founders -- John Christakos, Maurice Blanks, and Charlie Lazor -- this book also includes revealing interviews and written contributions from leading names in contemporary design, including an essay by design curator Andrew Blauvelt. The book is a celebration not just of the pioneering work of one American company, but of good design.
Atlas of Novel Tectonics by
Architects Jesse Reiser and Nanako Umemoto have been generating some of the most provocative thinking in the field for nearly twenty years. With Atlas of Novel Tectonics, Reiser+Umemoto hone in on the many facets of architecture and illuminate their theories with great thought and simplicity. The Atlas is organized as an accumulation of short chapters that address the workings of matter and force, material science, the lessons of art and architectural history, and the influence of architecture on culture (and vice versa). Reiser+Umemoto see architectural design as a series of problem situations, and each chapter is an argument devoted to a specific condition or case. Influenced by a wide range of fields and phenomenaBrillat-Savarin's classic The Physiology of Taste is one of their primary modelsthe authors provide a cross-section of thinking and inspiration. The result is both an elucidation of the concepts that guide Reiser+Umemoto through their own design process and a series of meditations on topics that have formed their own sense as architects. Atlas of Novel Tectonics offers an entirely fresh perspective on subjects that are generally taken for granted, and does so with a welcome punch and energy.
Liquid Borders by
Liquid Borders provides a timely and critical analysis of the large-scale migration of people across borders, which has sent shockwaves through the global world order in recent years. In this book, internationally recognized scholars and activists from a variety of fields analyze key issues related to diasporic movements, displacements, exiles, "illegal" migrants, border crossings, deportations, maritime ventures, and the militarization of borders from political, economic, and cultural perspectives. Ambitious in scope, with cases stretching from the Mediterranean to Australia, the US/Mexico border, Venezuela, and deterritorialized sectors in Colombia and Central America, the various contributions are unified around the notion of freedom of movement, and the recognition of the need to think differently about ideas of citizenship and sovereignty around the world. Liquid Borders will be of interest to policy makers, and to researchers across the humanities, sociology, area studies, politics, international relations, geography, and of course migration and border studies.
Empathic Design by
How do you experience a public space? Do you feel safe? Seen? Represented? The response to these questions may differ based on factors including your race, age, ethnicity, or gender identity. In the architecture and design professions, decisions about the articulation of public spaces and who may be honored in them have often been made by white men. How do designers rethink design processes to produce works that hold space for the diversity of people using them? In Empathic Design, designer and architecture professor Elgin Cleckley brings together leaders and visionary practitioners in architecture, urban design, planning, and design activism to help explore these questions. Cleckley explains that empathic designers need to approach design as iterative, changing, and shifting to say, "we see you", "we hear you". Part of an emerging design framework, empathic designers work with and in the communities affected. They acknowledge the full history of a place and approach the lived experience and memories of those in the community with respect. Early chapters explore broader conceptual approaches, proposing definitions of empathy in the context of design, disrupting colonial narratives, and making space for grief. Other chapters highlight specific design projects, including the Harriet Tubman Memorial in Newark, The Camp Barker Memorial in Washington, D.C., the Freedom Center in Oklahoma City, and the Charlottesville Memorial for Peace and Justice. Empathic Design provides essential approaches and methods from multiple perspectives, meeting the needs of our time and holding space for readers to find themselves.
The Monster Leviathan by
Visionary proposals for a mythic and strange architecture-or anarchitecture-through which we can imagine other and better worlds. Lurking under the surface of our modern world lies an unseen architecture-or anarchitecture. It is a possible architecture, an analogous architecture, an architecture of anarchy, which haunts in the form of monsters that are humans and machines and cities all at once; or takes the form of explosions, veils, queer, playful spaces, or visions from artwork and video games. In The Monster Leviathan, Aaron Betsky traces anarchitecture through texts, design, and art of the twentieth and early twenty-first century, and suggests that these ephemeral evocations are concrete proposals in and of themselves. Neither working models nor suggestions for new forms, they are scenes just believable enough to convince us they exist, or just fantastical enough to open our eyes. The Monster Leviathan gives students and lovers of architecture, as well as those hoping to construct a better, more sustainable, and socially just future, a set of tools through which they can imagine that such other worlds are possible. As Betsky eloquently articulates, anarchitecture already exists and does not exist at all. It is the myth of building, and all we have to do is find it.
MAD Rhapsody by
Conceived and designed by Ma Yansong, founder of MAD Architects, MAD Rhapsody documents the buildings of this avant-garde architecture firm and traces the development of their ideas through associated practice including art, research, and exhibition projects. With photographs, drawings, and models, the book highlights 23 projects from the past six years, both built and in process. Known for their 'organic and dreamlike architecture' that creates a dialogue with nature, earth, and sky, MAD projects reach all over the globe. At age 46, Ma Yansong is one of China's best-known architects. His curvilinear, free-form, and futuristic designs are often compared to those of his mentor, Zaha Hadid. Ma's greatest inspiration is nature; his opera house in the northern Chinese city of Harbin resembles a snow-capped mountain, while his master plan for the city of Nanjing calls for sloping buildings covered with vertical louvers that resemble waterfalls. Other projects include the Ordos Museum in the wilderness of Inner Mongolia, the Absolute Towers in Canada, and the Lucas Museum of Narrative Art in Los Angeles.
How to Land in the Metaverse by 
Protest Architecture by
An encyclopedia of protest movements of 190 years and their architectural manifestations. Protest movements shape public space not only through their messages but in many cases also through their mostly temporary buildings. Frankfurt's Deutsches Architekturmuseum DAM and Vienna's MAK--Museum of Applied Arts explore this thesis in a joint exhibition project. The exhibition and this coinciding book examine the topic further using examples spanning from 1830 to 2022. Protest Architecture is the first international survey of the architecture of protest and presents it in all its manifold forms and, in some cases, ambivalence. It is conceived as an encyclopedia with 176 entries, supplemented by 16 expansive case studies. A preceding chronology portrays 68 protest movements and their architectural manifestations through concise texts and one image each, including examples from all over the world.
Barkow Leibinger : bricoleur bricolage
Barkow Leibinger : revolutions of choice / managing editor, Tim Berge ; editing, Leah Whitman-Salkin
Borderwall As Architecture by
"A protest against the wall and a forecast about its future."--Allison Arieff, The New York Times "Rael's courageous mixture of subversion and compromise is not going to hide the affront that the border represents to those who live south of it."--London Review of Books "Borderwall as Architecture explores how architects can undermine the wall not just structurally, but conceptually. Today, the wall symbolizes xenophobia and fear. Designs that promote social, economic, and ecological development on both sides of the border could rewrite that narrative. In the past, groups have gathered on both sides of the wall to hold yoga meetups and stage horse races. Rael draws inspiration from these and other examples to highlight opportunities for subversion and change."--Wired "Part historical account, part theoretical appraisal, and part design manifesto, Borderwall as Architecture is reminiscent of Rem Koolhaas' Delirious New York in its sweeping assessment of both the sociocultural peculiarities and outlandish possibilities represented by a prominent structural element."--Architect Magazine "Borderwall As Architecture goes into keen scholarly detail on the walls at the US-Mexico border...Rael offers many such concepts in the book, which often have a whimsy about them that reminds me of Italo Calvino's Invisible Cities." --New Scientist "[Rael's] imagination is audacious, and he smartly frames his "grand tour" of the border as a procession of vignettes that shift easily between history, architectural what-ifs and what you might call postcards from the front."-- San Francisco Chronicle "...in raising questions that not many others are asking about the relationship between two countries that share 2,000 miles of border, his book serves an important purpose."--The Daily Beast Borderwall as Architecture is an artistic and intellectual hand grenade of a book, and a timely re-examination of what the physical barrier that divides the United States of America from the United Mexican States is and could be. It is both a protest against the wall and a projection about its future. Through a series of propositions suggesting that the nearly seven hundred miles of wall is an opportunity for economic and social development along the border that encourages its conceptual and physical dismantling, the book takes readers on a journey along a wall that cuts through a "third nation"--the Divided States of America. On the way the transformative effects of the wall on people, animals, and the natural and built landscape are exposed and interrogated through the story of people who, on both sides of the border, transform the wall, challenging its existence in remarkably creative ways. Coupled with these real-life accounts are counterproposals for the wall, created by Rael's studio, that reimagine, hyperbolize, or question the wall and its construction, cost, performance, and meaning. Rael proposes that despite the intended use of the wall, which is to keep people out and away, the wall is instead an attractor, engaging both sides in a common dialogue. Included is a collection of reflections on the wall and its consequences by leading experts Michael Dear, Norma Iglesias-Prieto, Marcello Di Cintio, and Teddy Cruz.
Gardens : the Cleveland Museum of Art by
The Cleveland Museum of Art is located in a parklike setting with other cultural and educational institutions. Built on land given by one of the museum's major donors, the museum opened to the public in 1916. The foreground of this majestic white marble structure, however, was a long-neglected parcel of land with a small lake owned by the City of Cleveland. In the 1920s the Garden Club of Cleveland took on the job of transforming this blighted plot into a garden everyone could enjoy. Mary Hoerner presents the history of the Fine Arts Garden, and Jeffrey Strean discusses the development of the museum's grounds since the 1930s as well as plans for the future. This lavishly illustrated and beautifully designed book presents a new aspect of the history of a distinguished institution.
The Cleveland Museum of Art by
Fully illustrated book presenting the new redesign of the Cleveland Museum of Art, by Rafael Vilñoy. ,
The Industrious City by
How can industrial production be reintegrated into the urban fabric in a post-digital world Research from Harvard's Graduate School of Design addresses the issues Cities have always been places where commerce and production, working and living, are physically and functionally integrated. Only with the rise of industry have zoning regulations been introduced to separate these functions. But what role do these regulations play when industry is digitized, increasingly emission-free and shifting away from mass production What will the ideal mix of working and living be in the future In a world characterized by digital disruption, migration and demographic shifts, how do we build cities based on social equity and resilience Based on interdisciplinary urban design research undertaken at Harvard University's Graduate School of Design, the Zurich-based architecture studio Hosoya Schaefer presents The Industrious City: Urban Industry in the Digital Age. Investigating how production can be reintroduced into the urban fabric, this book explores how production, services, leisure and living might come together in a future integrated city.
A companion to late antique and medieval Islamic Cordoba : capital of Roman Baetica and Caliphate of al-Andalus by 
The Art of Architectural Daylighting by
During the past decade there has been a tremendous growth in daylighting analysis methods, allowing designers to meet ever higher standards. But in relying too heavily on these methods, there is a risk of reducing daylighting design to a quantitative exercise, overlooking the qualitative, aesthetic, and experiential aspects of design. This book reveals how architects have bridged the poetic and practical potential of daylighting to create exquisitely illuminated spaces. In the book, 12 buildings are examined, using photographs, drawings, and plans. Each case study also includes technical analysis diagrams, specially created using specialist software. Featured architects include Renzo Piano, David Chipperfield, and Steven Holl. The Art of Architectural Daylighting will be invaluable for professionals and students alike.
Architecture, Film, and the Inbetween by
How films imagine and represent in-between spaces and how cinematic production becomes a site to project spatial fantasies. Architecture, Film, and the Inbetween: Spatio-Cinematic Betwixt looks at the cinematic representation of architectural in-betweenness, as well as the in-between spaces within the architectural structure of films. As films seek to depict architecture in evolving, original ways, they can also expand betwixt areas, imbuing them with horror or fantasy. Spies can escape inside unconvincingly stable ducts and children can slide through pipes with no discernible function. And just as subway routes and airplanes can stitch together two destinations, loopholes and magic architectural features can connect distinct realms via interstitial spaces. Contributors discuss a range of architects and filmmakers, including John Lautner, David Lynch, Christopher Nolan, Agnès Varda, and Mies van der Rohe, and take diverse approaches to the liminal space between architecture and film, touching on existential experience, post-phenomenological thinking, sociopolitical cinearchitecture, fictive ecologies, and more. Collecting essays by well-respected architects, thinkers, and philosophers--such as Juhani Pallasmaa, Beatriz Colomina, and Graham Harman--the book includes imagery and infographics that map filmic spaces, diagram narratives, and visualize the hidden spatial dimensions of movies.
Architecture in the age of artificial intelligence : an introduction to AI for architects by 
Architecture: Form, Space, and Order by
ARCHITECTURE THE GOLD STANDARD IN INTRODUCTORY ARCHITECTURE TEXTS, FULLY UPDATED TO REFLECT THE LATEST DEVELOPMENTS IN THE FIELD For more than forty years, the beautifully illustrated Architecture: Form, Space, and Order has served as the classic introduction to the basic vocabulary of architectural design. In this fifth edition, more recent additions to the architectural panoply illustrate how contemporary digital and building technologies have influenced the development of architectural forms and spaces and how architectural siting and design have responded to the call for more environmentally responsible buildings. It is designed to encourage critical thought and to promote a more evocative understanding of architecture. The fifth edition is updated with many new urban design and building precedents from a diverse range of cultural and geographic areas New content focuses on the latest technology and trends in structure, construction, materials, and sustainability Includes more than 800 illustrations, many hand-drawn, which demonstrate the foundations and concepts every architect must master Architecture: Form, Space, and Order distills complex concepts of design into a clear focus and brings difficult abstractions to life. It explains form and space in relation to light, view, openings, and enclosures and explores the organization of space, and the elements and relationships of circulation, as well as proportion and scale. In addition, the text's detailed illustrations demonstrate the concepts presented and reveal the relationships between fundamental elements of architecture through the ages and across cultures.
Geoffrey Bawa: Drawing from the Archives by
Beautifully executed architectural drawings from the great Sri Lankan architect The Sri Lankan architect Geoffrey Bawa fused sensitivity for local context with the technological discoveries and design principles of modernism. Accordingly, Bawa often incorporated materials (local stone and timber) and layouts (high roofs, cross-ventilation, vast overhangs) specific to Sri Lanka's monsoon climate and storied architectural history--from the cave monasteries of the Anuradhapura period to the feudal Walauwa style of manor houses--into his modernist designs. Gathering together essays by scholars and writers across a multitude of disciplines--including architecture, photography, geography, urban design and art history--this volume spotlights Bawa's exceptionally beautiful architectural drawings, delving into the central, multipronged role of the medium in his practice, from ideation to instruction to post-construction review. The anthology also explores the identity of post-independence Sri Lanka, which Bawa helped to shape--aesthetically and, less overtly, ideologically. Featuring over 200 lush drawings and photographs, many of which have never been published before, the book promises to engage both general and scholarly audiences with interests in architecture, drawing and archives. Geoffrey Bawa (1919-2003) was a Sri Lankan architect who designed the country's new Parliament building at Kotte, completed in 1982. While Bawa mostly worked within Sri Lanka, he also completed projects in several other countries, including India, Indonesia, Mauritius, Japan, Pakistan, Fiji, Egypt and Singapore. His works include houses, hotels, schools, clubs, offices and government buildings.
Decolonizing Design by
A guidebook to the institutional transformation of design theory and practice by restoring the long-excluded cultures of Indigenous, Black, and People of Color communities. From the excesses of world expositions to myths of better living through technology, modernist design, in its European-based guises, has excluded and oppressed the very people whose lands and lives it reshaped. Decolonizing Design first asks how modernist design has encompassed and advanced the harmful project of colonization-then shows how design might address these harms by recentering its theory and practice in global Indigenous cultures and histories. A leading figure in the movement to decolonize design, Dori Tunstall uses hard-hitting real-life examples and case studies drawn from over fifteen years of working to transform institutions to better reflect the lived experiences of Indigenous, Black, and People of Color communities. Her book is at once enlightening, inspiring, and practical, interweaving her lived experiences with extensive research to show what decolonizing design means, how it heals, and how to practice it in our institutions today. For leaders and practitioners in design institutions and communities, Tunstall's work demonstrates how we can transform the way we imagine and remake the world, replacing pain and repression with equity, inclusion, and diversity-in short, she shows us how to realize the infinite possibilities that decolonized design represents.
The Caring City by
This book invites us to rethink architectural and urban models, prioritizing not so much the technical, formal and abstract knowledge sought by urban planners, as the public and civic dimension of citizens' experience when they try to care for themselves, for each other or for the environment. After decades of industrialization, our cities, in their physical and governmental dimensions, are productivity-oriented places. Cities are, nonetheless, a more hostile environment for non-productive activities: being able to choose where to sit and rest, use a public toilet, drink clean water without paying or breathe unpolluted air. The privilege that productive activities have enjoyed and those who exercise them has led to the denial of the various biological and subjective characteristics of its inhabitants and the multidimensional character of the city, becoming a cultural principle and a political practice.The Caring City opens up an extensive field of alternatives that can present a uniting vision of the economy, the environment and the health of a diverse community.
Women in Design by
A history of women designers and consumers from 1900 to the present day. The work of women designers has not traditionally been the focus of mainstream histories of design. By revealing the untold story of female design pioneers, this comprehensive introduction celebrates their crucial role in the history of modern processes of making. Arranged chronologically, this guide considers the structural barriers to professional success and how women overcame these hurdles, charting the success of designers including Anni Albers at the Bauhaus, the architect Eileen Grey, interior decorator Elsie de Wolfe and fashion icon Mary Quant, focusing on the key subjects of architecture, craft, fashion, furniture, graphics, interior, product and textile design. The link between early twentieth-century revolutionary design and lifestyle is explored, as well the ideas of shopping and consumerism as a liberating activity. The important contribution of designers during and after the Second World War is also discussed, along with design activism, design collectives and the current success of women working transnationally in architecture and design.
Manual of Multistorey Timber Construction by
The new form of timber construction is hybrid! Timber construction is booming, not only because it is environmentally friendly: building in timber is gaining increasing importance particularly in an urban and multistorey setting. Material-optimized hybrid construction makes it possible to leave stereotyped thinking behind, while opening up completely new opportunities for timber architecture. The completely revised and extended edition of this manual conveys essential knowledge about the system and methodology of timber construction - from design and prefabrication to assembly on site. It creates a mutual understanding of all parties involved in the project required for collaboration in the integral planning and building process. It furthermore provides the technical competence needed for a convincing representation of modern timber construction.
Inclusive Transportation by
Transportation planners, engineers, and policymakers in the US face the monumental task of righting the wrongs of their predecessors while charting the course for the next generation. This task requires empathy while pushing against forces in the industry that are resistant to change. How do you change a system that was never designed to be equitable? How do you change a system that continues to divide communities and cede to the automobile? In Inclusive Transportation: A Manifesto for Repairing Divided Communities, transportation expert Veronica O. Davis shines a light on the inequitable and often destructive practice of transportation planning and engineering. She calls for new thinking and more diverse leadership to create transportation networks that connect people to jobs, education, opportunities, and to each other. Inclusive Transportation is a vision for change and a new era of transportation planning. Davis explains why centering people in transportation decisions requires a great shift in how transportation planners and engineers are trained, how they communicate, the kind of data they collect, and how they work as professional teams. She examines what "equity" means for a transportation project, which is central to changing how we approach and solve problems to create something safer, better, and more useful for all people. Davis aims to disrupt the status quo of the transportation industry. She urges transportation professionals to reflect on past injustices and elevate current practice to do the hard work that results in more than an idea and a catchphrase. Inclusive Transportation is a call to action and a practical approach to reconnecting and shaping communities based on principles of justice and equity.
Holzbauten S, M, l / Timber Buildings S, M, L by
In Zeiten der Klimakrise und der Suche nach umweltschonenden Ressourcen kommt dem Material Holz für die Architektur eine besondere Bedeutung zu. In diesem Buch werden die gestalterischen und konstruktiven Möglichkeiten des Baustoffs Holz anhand von 30 Bauwerken unterschiedlichster Größenordnungen und Nutzungen vorgestellt. Von der kleinen Berghütte über mittelgroße Wohn- oder Schulbauten bis hin zu großen Bürogebäuden und Einrichtungen für Kultur und Freizeit reicht das Spektrum. Die jeweilige Bauweise, etwa Holzmassivbau, Modulbau, Rahmen-, Skelett- oder Hybridbau wird anhand von Plänen und detaillierten Konstruktionszeichnungen dargelegt. Mit ihren ganzheitlichen Lösungsansätzen zeigen die 30 Architekturen das Potenzial von Holz als nachhaltigem Baustoff für eine klimafreundliche Zukunft auf
Building with Hardwood by
The worldwide booming timber construction sector and its rapid development beyond the limits of high-rise buildings demands high-performance materials, which are made possible by hardwood. Innovative production methods and manufacturing processes create economically competitive products that open up completely new possibilities for the construction sector - thanks to an almost forgotten building material. For it was not without reason that construction sector used predominantly hardwood until the 18th century. "Building with hardwood" focuses on its use in the supporting structure. The publication provides specialist knowledge for the safe handling of hardwood in building construction and shows successful examples of architecture from practice for practice.
Engineering Nature by
Thanks to high-performance composite structures made of wood and steel or concrete, wooden buildings are now being erected far beyond the high-rise boundaries. An end to the increase in altitude is hardly in sight. Wooden constructions are also on the uptrend in residential and office construction, sports halls, industrial buildings and bridges. They are the epitome of sustainable building and, thanks to new prefabrication processes, are also competitive in terms of construction costs. The book shows the current development of structural planning with wood on the basis of around 20 outstanding engineering structures. The engineers involved in the planning describe the conception of the supporting structures as well as individual solutions for their implementation.
Robust Architecture. Low Tech Design by
Robust architecture is designed to meet needs; its structures are sufficient, resilient and suited to the location. It embraces the potential of simplicity, traditional building methods and alternative ways of building sustainable architecture, with an emphasis on local building materials, solid craftsmanship, proven construction methods and user participation. Its design strategies, combined with state-of-the-art planning tools and research findings, look ahead to a climate-positive future. The book gives detailed information on the concepts behind Robust Architecture and Low-Tech Design. It illuminates various strategies and demonstrates how they can be easily implemented. Examples of realised projects with very different demands and requirement profiles show how straightforward robust building can be.
An Anthology of Blackness by
An adventurous collection that examines how the design field has consistently failed to attract and support Black professionals-and how to create an anti-racist, pro-Black design industry instead. An Anthology of Blackness examines the intersection of Black identity and practice, probing why the design field has failed to attract Black professionals, how Eurocentric hegemony impacts Black professionals, and how Black designers can create an anti-racist design industry. Contributing authors and creators demonstrate how to develop a pro-Black design practice of inclusivity, including Black representation in designed media, anti-racist pedagogy, and radical self-care. Through autoethnography, lived experience, scholarship, and applied research, these contributors share proven methods for creating an anti-racist and inclusive design practice. The contributions in An Anthology of Blackness include essays, opinion pieces, case studies, and visual narratives. Many contributors write from an intersectional perspective on race, gender, sexuality, ethnicity, and ability. Each section of the book expands on community-driven concerns about the state of the design industry, design pedagogy, and design activism. Ultimately, this articulated intersection of Black identity and Black design practice reveals the power of resistance, community, and solidarity-and the hope for a more equitable future. With a foreword written by design luminary Elizabeth (Dori) Tunstall, An Anthology of Blackness is a pioneering contribution to the literature of social justice.
Michele Saee Projects 1985-2017 by
This book is Michele Saee's life's work. A collection of projects, built, unbuilt, conceptual, and experimental which expands over more than three decades. There are over 50 projects in different cities, countries, and continents, all with different programs, scales, and sizes on sites varying from the hillsides of Tempio, Sardinia in Italy to the Champs Elysees, Paris in France to the ocean front of the Pacific in California, USA to an apartment condo in newly developed towers in Beijing, and a new aquarium in Shanghai, China. This book is about an architect's journey of discovery--a fluid emotional exercise in life, love, work, and architecture. The book is designed by the creative Chinese designer Xingyu Wei (Weestar) and his team in Beijing. There are hand and computer sketch, drawings, and model studies of different stages of their development--from the conception of the projects in their early stages through the process of their creation. The introduction is by the iconic French architect Claude Parent. In addition, there are two essays written by American architect Eric Owen Moss, responsible for some of the most iconic LA architecture, and by architect Nick Gillock, theoretical writer and co-founder of lookinglass studio.
My House Is Better Than Your House by
The house is commonly used as a vehicle to get at larger architectural debates. Such is the case in this book, with a dialogue between Nader Tehrani and Preston Scott Cohen whose collaboration in academia has often resulted in two very different approaches to pedagogy. In this discussion, Tehrani draws from central themes within Cohen's pedagogy to design a house as a response to the preoccupations that drive many of these debates. Adopting Villa Varoise as the main protagonist, the book draws on many architectures to situate the predicaments behind geometry, typology, and the architectural anomaly, among other things, as productive instruments for a broader cultural discussion on architecture.
Art and History in the Ohio Judicial Center by
"Nearly 100 years after its construction, the Thomas J. Moyer Ohio Judicial Center in Columbus, Ohio, is finally receiving the artistic recognition it deserves in this richly illustrated book. In the early 1920s, when plans for the Ohio Judicial Center building were initially conceived, American culture and politics were in a period of transition and turbulence. The country emerged from World War I, moved through the Roaring Twenties, and then sank into the Great Depression. To counter the effects of this economic crisis, public art was often commissioned for government buildings, including the Ohio Judicial Center, which was completed in 1933 and showcases work from 12 artists. Featuring more than 100 photographs taken by Richard W. Burry, Art and History in the Ohio Judicial Center is the first book to celebrate the buildings impressive architectural detail and highlight its 200 Art Deco- and Beaux Arts-style murals, reliefs, and mosaics. Burry tells the story of the public art in the Ohio Judicial Center and provides illuminating historical context, helping the present-day reader to understand the buildings art not only from a contemporary perspective but also through the eyes of those living almost a century ago"--
Young Projects : figure--cast--frame by
This first monograph from New York-based Young Projects explores a new approach to spatial design that combines digital and analog methods at the intersection of exploration and architecture. This monograph introduces the cutting-edge research and work of Young Projects, founded by Bryan Young, where materiality, structure, and form intersect to generate new architectural typologies. The book presents a selection of the practice's most relevant projects: five innovative houses completed between 2015 and 2020 as well as less in-depth looks at other projects that define the practice. Each house serves as a chapter through which Young Projects' broader body of work is explored across scales, illustrated through a rich landscape of drawings, diagrams, renderings, mock-ups, prototypes, and photography. The through-line connecting all chapters is the studio's interest in using ambiguity and anomaly to create novel and accessible spaces, whether for high profile clients like Heidi Klum or a new resort in St Kitts. Young Projects seeks to draw users into immersive spatial experiences that unfold over time, in a manner that is familiar but subtly foreign. This quality of "allure" is a result of a unique and experimental approach to materiality and spatial legibility. These are the threads that tie the work together and have set Young Projects apart as an emerging practice, as well as inform the larger-scale projects the studio undertakes as it enters its second decade. Young Projects' process often begins with simple exercises in making: form-finding experiments they undertake within their Brooklyn studio. Material research has included hand-pulling plaster with an irregular knife, using furniture foam as a casting bed, and forming concrete with palm stems. These experiments, among many others, mine characteristics that are not typically associated with conventional architectural materials and break traditional methodology, allowing for qualities of randomness and spontaneity to enter the process of making. The studio finds that letting go of control (at the right moments) produces results that are often surprising, entirely bespoke, and resist replication.
Manual of Biogenic House Sections by
Recognizing that buildings are a major contributor to global warming and the critical role of embodied versus operational carbon, the book focuses on houses built from materials that either sequester carbon (plants), use materials with very low embodied carbon (earth and stone) or reuse substantial amounts of existing materials. Organized by those materials (wood, bamboo, straw, hemp, cork, earth, brick, stone and re-use), and incorporating life cycle diagrams demonstrating how the raw material is processed into building components, the book shows how the unique properties of each material can transform the ways architects conceive the sections of houses. The house was selected as the vehicle for these investigations due to its scale, its role as a site of architectural experimentation, and its ubiquity. Building on the techniques of the Manual of Section, the book is comprised of newly generated cross-sectional drawings of fifty-five recent, modestly sized houses from around the world, making legible the tectonics and materials used in their construction. Each house is also shown through exploded axonometric, construction photographs and color photographs of the exterior and interior. Introductory essays set up the importance of embodied carbon, the role of vernacular plant-based construction and the problems of contemporary house construction. Drawing connections between the architecture of the house, environmental systems and material economies, the book seeks to change how we build now and for the future.
From Crisis to Crisis by
From Crisis to Crisis examines how reading, writing and criticism can address the urgent issues faced by architecture today, including: the role of the architect in the era of specialization; the function of criticism in diverse political, economic and cultural contexts; and, the possibility of architectural education to take on history, theory, civic engagement and political participation. Drawn from an international public symposium organized in the spring of 2017 by the University of Hong Kong (HKU) Department of Architecture, the book is comprised in equal parts of focused essays and transcripts of the wide-ranging discussions. From Crisis to Crisis reflects Hong Kong's ongoing transformation from a gateway between China and the world, to a regional hub opening up a new milieu for the cultural, economic, and intellectual resources of Asia. The HKU Department of Architecture is part of this ongoing transformation, attracting thinkers from Asia, North America, Australia and Europe to engage in critical, relevant dialogues. The publication reflects this diversity and is characterized by its flexibility, contingency, vitality, and open-endedness. From Crisis to Crisis includes contributions from architects, writers and critics from around the world:Anthony Acciavati (USA), Founder & editor of Manifest; Columbia UniversityChris Brisbin (Australia), University of South AustraliaFrançoise Fromonot (France), Chief editor of Criticat; ENSA Paris-BellevilleSeng Kuan (USA), Harvard University Graduate School of DesignJonathan Massey (USA), University of MichiganGraham Mckay (UAE), University of SharjahKamran Afshar Naderi (Iran), Founder & editor of Memar Angelika Schnell (Austria), The Academy of Fine Arts-ViennaZhi Wenjun (China), Founder & editor of Time + Architecture; Tongji University
Spatial Practice by
The book Spatial Practice is a collection of projects and essays on Axi:Ome llc of St. Louis, a young architectural design studio. Like most young designers they employ digital tools as design process. The difference between their and other young digital practices is the final output of the design resolution. Axi:Ome llc fully develops their work within the digital and physical realm. Each model and prototype is crafted with the same care as the building itself, and represents the practice's desire for more sophisticated spatial form in the current built environment. Spatial Practice is a manual for students and young architects looking to question and challenge the current architectural profession. The book is an inspirational collection of work developed from 2000 through 2004. It documents the process and detailed research for each project, giving intellectual definition to architectural production. This book outlines the multi-disciplinary process of Axi:Ome from graphics and engineering to computational, spatial, and experimental attitudes toward architecture. ILLUSTRATIONS: 200 colour & 50 b/w photographs 150 illustrations
3 stages of architectural education by 
Architecture and Micropolitics by
The interaction of architecture and society, demonstrated through important buildings by Farshid Moussavi Architecture. This timely book seeks to dispel two widely held misconceptions: first, that architects are no longer central to the making of buildings and, second, that design is a linear process which begins with a fully formed architectural vision. Architect Farshid Moussavi argues that the temporality of architecture provides day-to-day practice with the potential to generate change. She proposes that we abandon determinism and embrace chance events and the subjective factors that influence practice in order to ground buildings in the micropolitics of everyday life. Using four buildings designed by FMA, Moussavi's London-based practice, Architecture & Micropolitics shows how the rhizomatic nature of their design process is combined with diligent research and an openness to elements of chance to fuel creativity and bend rules that would generate a merely functional building. A substantial essay by Farshid Moussavi and an afterword by the philosopher Jacques Rancière are followed by detailed analyses of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Cleveland; Lot 19, the first new residential block to be built in the La Défense district of Paris in thirty years; the Folie Divine apartment building in Montpellier; and the Ismaili Center Houston, the first new building in the US which is dedicated to use by the Ismaili community. The book also features contributions by Iñaki Ábalos, Hans Ulrich Obrist, and Irénée Scalbert. Architecture & Micropolitics is recommended for any professional and academic library. It is a surprising book which will be of value to anyone who is interested in the relationship between architecture and society.
The Architecture of Modern American Synagogues, 1950s-1960s by
In the aftermath of World War II, the United States experienced a rapid expansion of church and synagogue construction as part of a larger "religious boom." The synagogues built in that era illustrate how their designs pushed the envelope in aesthetics and construction. The design of the synagogues departed from traditional concepts, embraced modernism and innovations in building technology, and evolved beyond the formal/rational style of early 1950s modern architecture to more of an expressionistic design. The latter resulted in abstraction of architectural forms and details, and the inclusion of Jewish art in the new synagogues. The Architecture of Modern American Synagogues, 1950s-1960s introduces an architectural analysis of selected modern American synagogues and reveals how they express American Jewry's resilience in continuing their physical and spiritual identity, while embracing modernism, American values, and landscape. In addition, the book contributes to the discourse on preserving the recent past (e.g., mid 20th century architecture). While most of the investigations on that topic deal with the "brick & mortar" challenges, this book introduces preservation issues as a function of changes in demographics, in faith rituals, in building codes, and in energy conservation. As an introduction or a reexamination, The Architecture of Modern American Synagogues, 1950s-1960s offers a fresh perspective on an important moment in American Jewish society and culture as reflected in their houses of worship and adds to the literature on modern American sacred architecture. The book may appeal to Jewish congregations, architects, preservationists, scholars, and students in fields of studies such as architectural design, sacred architecture, American modern architecture and building technology, Post WWII religious and Jewish studies, and preservation and conservation.
Missing Middle Housing by
Today, there is a tremendous mismatch between the available housing stock in the US and the housing options that people want and need. The post-WWII, auto-centric, single-family-development model no longer meets the needs of residents. Urban areas in the US are experiencing dramatically shifting household and cultural demographics and a growing demand for walkable urban living. Missing Middle Housing, a term coined by Daniel Parolek, describes the walkable, desirable, yet attainable housing that many people across the country are struggling to find. Missing Middle Housing types--such as duplexes, fourplexes, and bungalow courts--can provide options along a spectrum of affordability. In Missing Middle Housing, Parolek, an architect and urban designer, illustrates the power of these housing types to meet today's diverse housing needs. With the benefit of beautiful full-color graphics, Parolek goes into depth about the benefits and qualities of Missing Middle Housing. The book demonstrates why more developers should be building Missing Middle Housing and defines the barriers cities need to remove to enable it to be built. Case studies of built projects show what is possible, from the Prairie Queen Neighborhood in Omaha, Nebraska to the Sonoma Wildfire Cottages, in California. A chapter from urban scholar Arthur C. Nelson uses data analysis to highlight the urgency to deliver Missing Middle Housing. Parolek proves that density is too blunt of an instrument to effectively regulate for twenty-first-century housing needs. Complete industries and systems will have to be rethought to help deliver the broad range of Missing Middle Housing needed to meet the demand, as this book shows. Whether you are a planner, architect, builder, or city leader, Missing Middle Housing will help you think differently about how to address housing needs for today's communities.
Reading Kenneth Frampton by
Gevork Hartoonian presents a retrospective reading of the first edition of Kenneth Frampton's Modern Architecture: A Critical History, published in 1980. He provides novel insights into the significance of Frampton's historiography of modern architecture and beyond. In exploring selected themes from Frampton's ongoing criticism of contemporary architecture, this book leads us to a critical understanding of the past, the modernity of architecture's contemporaneity. It unpacks classificatory modes governing the three-part organization of Frampton's book, the constellation of which allowed him to hold on to an anteroom view of history amidst the flood of temporalities spanning the period 1980-2020. Contemplating Frampton's book as an artifact stripped of temporality, this original work reads Frampton's historiography in the intersection of selected epigraphs and three images illuminating the book's classificatory mode. Hartoonian presents a valuable companion to Frampton's A Critical History for readers interested in the successes and failures of contemporary architecture's philosophical and theoretical aspirations.
Architecture's Theory by
A collection of illuminating essays exploring what theory makes of architecture and what architecture makes of theory in philosophical and materialized contexts. From poststructuralism and deconstruction to current theories of technology and nature, critical theory has long been closely aligned with architecture. In turn, architecture as a thinking profession materializes theory in the form of built work that always carries symbolic loads. In this collection of essays, Catherine Ingraham studies the complex connectivity between architecture's discipline and practice and theories of philosophy, art, literature, history, and politics. She argues that there can be no architecture without theory. Whether considering architecture's relationship to biomodernity or exploring the ways in which contemporary artists and designers engage in figural play, Ingraham offers provocative interpretations that enhance our understanding of both critical theory and architectural practice today. Along the way, she engages with a wide range of contemporary theorists, including Giorgio Agamben, Judith Butler, Jacques Derrida, Graham Harman, and Timothy Morton, considering buildings around the world, including the Palace of Culture in Warsaw, the Viceroy's House complex in New Delhi, Mack Scogin and Merrill Elam's Wolfsburg Science Center project in Germany, and the Superdome in New Orleans. Approaching its subject matter from multiple angles, Architecture's Theory shows how architecture's theoretical and artifactual practices have a unique power to alter culture.
Beyond Digital by
Recasting computational design- a new modern agenda for a post-industrial, post-pandemic world. Mass production was the core technical logic of industrial modernity- for the last hundred years, architects and designers have tried to industrialize construction and standardize building materials and processes in the pursuit of economies of scale. But this epochal march of modernity is now over. In Beyond Digital, Mario Carpo reviews the long history of the computational mode of production, showing how the merger of robotic automation and artificial intelligence will stop and reverse the modernist quest for scale. Today's technologies already allow us to use nonstandard building materials as found, or as made, and assemble them in as many nonstandard, intelligent, adaptive ways as needed- the microfactories of our imminent future will be automated artisan shops. The post-industrial logic of computational manufacturing has been known and theorized for some time. By tracing its theoretical and technical sources, and reviewing the design theories that accompanied its rise, Carpo shows how the computational project, long under the sway of powerful antimodern ideologies, is now being recast by the urgency of the climate crisis, which has vindicated its premises-and by the global pandemic, which has tragically proven its viability. Looking at the work of a new generation of designers, technologists, and producers, Beyond Digital offers a new modern agenda for our post-industrial future.
Blank by
This book advances a much-needed and transformational agenda for making architecture today through a close reading of cross-laminated timber (CLT) and its material unit, the CLT blank. Both matter-of-fact and multivalent, economical and excessive, the blank has untapped potential for experimentation, innovation, and research in architecture at various scales. Blank brings together texts and work from a wide range of theorists and practitioners who make CLT central to their inquiry and, in turn, suggest design approaches that broaden the material's cultural, spatial, and technological significance for architecture, education, engineering, and industry. The book claims new conceptual territory for a material with extensive appeal whose theorization has been stuck in narratives of its sustainability. Slippages between art, architecture, and science help position Blank as an antidote to current conversations about CLT, which are fixated on its mass production and carbon footprint, portraying it as a bland product rather than an enabler of design. The book argues for the material's aesthetic and spatial potential, conjuring the kind of world that CLT can create. Striking visuals contribute to repositioning CLT architecture though new forms of representation and design responses that continue to stay in touch with pragmatics. Contributions by Jennifer Bonner, Nelson Byun, Victoria Camblin, Sean Canty, Courtney Coffman, Sam Jacob, Hanif Kara, Christopher C. M. Lee, Erin Putalik, Nader Tehrani, and Yasmin Vobis.
African Modernism by
Back-in-print, the most comprehensive survey of modern architecture in Africa to date. When African Modernism was first published in 2015, it was received with international praise and has been sought after constantly ever since it went out of print in 2018. Marking Park Books' 10th anniversary, this landmark book becomes available again. In the 1950s and 1960s, most African countries gained independence from their respective colonial power. Architecture became one of the principal means by which the newly formed countries expressed their national identity. African Modernism investigates the close relationship between architecture and nation-building in Ghana, Senegal, Côte d'Ivoire, Kenya, and Zambia. It features one hundred buildings with brief descriptive texts, images, site plans, and selected floor plans and sections. The vast majority of images were newly taken by Iwan Baan and Alexia Webster for the book's first edition. Their photographs document the buildings in their present state. Each country is portrayed in an introductory text and a timeline of historic events. Further essays on postcolonial Africa and specific aspects and topics, also illustrated with images and documents, round out this outstanding volume.
Adjaye · Africa · Architecture by
The African continent contains some of the world's most vibrant culture and creativity, and yet its buildings - vernacular, colonial or contemporary - have rarely engaged the interest of Western architects. David Adjaye, the first black architect to establish a truly global reputation in his field, has found endless sources of inspiration for his designs in the rich - and chequered - heritage of Africa's teeming metropolises. His life dream was to return to the continent as an architect to document Africa's built environment. Over a long decade, he tirelessly documented these dynamic, colourful cities, photographing thousands of buildings, sites and places, and letting each building speak for itself in telling contrast to a design world obsessed with photorealistic slickness. The result was a stunning seven-volume work that has become an essential resource for all those interested in the burgeoning continent. This compact edition will make the fruits of this once-in-a-generation record available to a much wider audience. The result is one of the most original, ambitious and important architectural publications of our time, now available to everyone wishing to gain an understanding of a unique architectural heritage overlooked for too long.
The Architectural Legacy of Wallace A. Rayfield by
A priceless material legacy documenting Wallace Rayfield's life and work on two continents In the early 1990s, while cleaning out the barn on his property in Bessemer, Alabama, Allen Durough discovered the remnants of the lifework of African American architect Wallace A. Rayfield, including several hundred of Rayfield's drawings, floor plans, business advertisements, family portraits, and graphic art pieces. This book gathers that priceless material legacy into a cohesive whole, reproducing 159 illustrations that document Rayfield's life and work on two continents. Born in Macon, Georgia, in 1873, Rayfield apprenticed as a young man with the noted architectural firm A. B. Mullet and Company in Washington, DC, before attending HowardUniversity, Pratt Polytechnic Institute, and ultimately graduating with a bachelor of architecture degree from ColumbiaUniversity. He returned south to teach at the Tuskegee Institute and then to establish W. A. Rayfield & Co., Architects, in Birmingham, Alabama. From there he designed buildings for construction across the south (many by mail order) and even in Africa. Rayfield specialized in church architecture, and many of his designs were for black congregations within the state, most notably the SixteenthStreetBaptistChurch in Birmingham. But he also designed schools, office buildings, and private homes. After falling into bankruptcy during the Great Depression, he died in obscurity. Durough includes catalog-style descriptive entries and illustrations of Rayfield's designs for six types of structures: residences, churches, schools, commercial buildings, fraternal buildings, and barns. These entries contain location, commissioning data, and brief structural notes, providing a useful resource for architectural historians and preservationists. A listing of the 359 known Rayfield structures detail their locations in 19 states, plan date, building type, and name. Also included is a biographical sketch of Rayfield, an overview of his publications, and a survey of his professional artwork and advertisements.
Construction Project Scheduling and Control by
Ensure successful construction projects through effective project scheduling and control The success of a construction project is dependent on a schedule that is well-defined yet flexible to allow for inevitable delays or changes. Without an effective schedule, projects often run over budget and deadlines are missed which can jeopardize the success of the project. The updated Construction Project Scheduling and Control, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive guide that examines the analytical methods used to devise an efficient and successful schedule for construction projects of all sizes. This Fourth Edition describes the tools and methods that make projects run smoothly, with invaluable information from a noted career construction professional. Construction Project Scheduling and Control, Fourth Edition offers construction professionals a redefined Critical Path Method (CPM) and updated information on Building Information Modeling (BIM) and how it impacts project control. This Fourth Edition includes worked problems and scheduling software exercises that help students and practicing professionals apply critical thinking to issues in construction scheduling. This updated edition of Construction Project Scheduling and Control: Includes a revised chapter on the Critical Path Method (CPM) and an all-new chapter on project scheduling and control as viewed through the owner's perspective Provides numerous worked problems and construction scheduling exercises Includes an expanded glossary and list of acronyms Offers updated instructor materials including PowerPoint lecture slides and an instructor's manual Written for undergraduate and graduate students in construction management, civil engineering, and architecture, as well as practicing construction management professionals, Construction Project Scheduling and Control, Fourth Edition is updated to reflect the latest practices in the field.
Foundations of Urban Design by
The book is structured into twenty-nine essays, each dedicated to a pair of urbanistic concepts. Discussing historical and contemporary, interpretive and designerly approaches to urbanity, the notions composing the 29 pairs relate dialectically, as theses-and-antitheses. Still, we are warned, 'the presented antagonisms are not a priori in opposition, but rather complementary.
Living + Dying INbetween the Real + the Virtual by 
Robotic Landscapes by 
Young Architects 22 by 
Environmental Activism by Design by 
Architectures of spatial justice by
A field-defining work that demonstrates how architects are breaking with professional conventions to advance spatial justice and design more equitable buildings and cities. As state violence, the pandemic, and environmental collapse have exposed systemic inequities, architects and urbanists have been pushed to confront how their actions contribute to racism and climate crisis--and how they can effect change. Establishing an ethics of spatial justice to lead architecture forward, Dana Cuff shows why the discipline requires critical examination--in relation to not only buildings and the capital required to realize them but privilege, power, aesthetics, and sociality. That is, it requires a reevaluation of architecture's fundamental tenets. Organized around projects and topics, Architectures of Spatial Justice is a compelling blend of theory, history, and applied practice that focuses on two foundational conditions of architecture: its relation to the public and its dependence on capital. The book draws on studies of architectural projects from around the world, with instructive case studies from Chile, Mexico, Japan, and the United States that focus in particular on urban centers, where architecture is most directly engaged with social justice issues. Emerging from more than two decades of the author's own project-based research, Architectures of Spatial Justice examines ethically driven practices that break with professional conventions to correct long-standing inequities in the built environment, uncovering architecture's limits--and its potential.
Transform by
'Beautifully presented and accompanied by abundant photographs and plan diagrams, the entry masterfully explores Berke's modernist inclinations, her minimalist style, and her firm's savvy handling of spaces and materials. Architectural students and practitioners will find much to appreciate.' - Publishers Weekly TenBerke publishes Transform with Monacelli, an argument for the regenerative reuse of old buildings. Adaptive Reuse is how architecture helps us grow into a changing world. It combines the best of old and new--through renovation, restoration, regeneration, reimagination, and repair. A practice of sensitive stewardship and creative conservation, it is what turns the obsolete into the germane. With TenBerke's most recent publication with Monacelli, Transform: Promising Places, Second Chances, and the Architecture of Transformational Change, the studio shows that creatively and visibly repurposed places are also where people feel especially empowered to make new beginnings in their own lives. Transform illustrates how TenBerke, in all its transformative designs, reveals the signs and signatures of adaptation, composes a continuity in which the after doesn't erase the before, and designs places where people are able to leave new traces--and make their mark. The adaptive reuse in Transform goes beyond the usual before and after of renovation and conversion, into the long and lively places of buildings, which are always being remade by the people who use them. Transform includes Against Historic Preservation, an argument for the creative reuse of old buildings by Deborah Berke, founder of TenBerke and dean of the Yale School of Architecture; along with Promise, a critical narrative essay by award-winning design writer Thomas de Monchaux. It also includes The Environmental Case for Adapting Buildings at Scale, a report by urban scientist Karen C. Seto who looks to building reuse as a means to manage the untenable rate of urbanization of our natural environments. Transform includes, in the words of artist Titus Kaphar, "Time Is That Collaborator. . ." a conversation between himself and Berke inspired by TenBerke's design for NXTHVN, a community arts center that he founded in New Haven Connecticut, bringing former industrial buildings to new life. With editorial and creative direction from TenBerke Senior Principal Arthi Krishnamoorthy, Transform presents accessible and actionable case studies of adaptive reuse projects, revealing the thinking that guides each one: from NXTHVN, where an arts incubator and community center was born out of disused factories; to the Yale School of Art, where an old swimming pool became a gallery and classroom; to the pioneering 122 Community Arts Center in downtown Manhattan, where an old public school became a new performance space and civic crossroads, to the 21c hotel in Oklahoma City, where one of the Ford Motor Company's first assembly plants became a hotel and event space, catalyzing the revitalization of a new livable neighborhood. In Transform, we see that the architecture of adaptation offers a new approach to old places that is at once sensitive and bold, at once conscious of histories and legacies, yet optimistically forward-looking to new possibilities. This is the architecture of second chances, of promising places, and of transformational change.
The New Designer by
How to develop an ethical design practice and build a better world. The choices made by designers have a significant effect on the world. Yet so much of the discourse on design focuses on aesthetics rather than ethics. In The New Designer, acclaimed author Manuel Lima aims to change this by challenging common myths and preconceptions about what comprises good design. He argues that designers must take responsibility for the personal, societal, cultural, and environmental impact of their work, rather than simply following a standard template. As he covers fields ranging from graphic design to industrial design to user-experience design, Lima identifies the major steps that designers must take to be a force for good in the world. Rather than sticking to outmoded ideas about perfectionism and individual genius, designers must work together to tackle some of the most challenging questions of the twenty-first century. How do you make room for humanity, with all its wondrous variations, in a society increasingly driven by metrics, algorithms, and profit? How can ecologically responsible designers consider a product's entire life cycle and look well into the future? And how can designers better respond to a community's local needs while taking advantage of global networks? Blending approaches derived from ethics, psychology, economics, and ecology, The New Designer is a vital, field-changing treatise that will appeal to any reader who seeks to understand design's massive influence on the contemporary world.
Atlas of Another America by
Owning a home is the pinnacle of the American Dream, the ultimate status symbol of the middle class. But is the dream in crisis? As the suburban single-family home has been endlessly multiplied and mass-marketed, it has become entwined with environmental catastrophe and economic crisis. Never before have we been so badly in need of a reconsideration of our cultural values and consumption from an architectural perspective. With An Atlas of Another America, Keith Krumwiede has written a bold and highly original work of speculative architectural fiction that calls on Americans--and, increasingly, the rest of the world--to seriously reconsider the concept of the single-family home. Krumwiede's "Freedomland" is a fictional utopia of communal superhomes constructed from the remains of the suburban metropolis. Eschewing formal innovation for its own sake, Freedomland's radical architects rely on artful appropriation and the reorganization of found forms. Krumwiede produces the complete plans for Freedomland in the style of a historical architectural treatise, supplemented with more than two hundred plans and drawings and five essays that draw on a long lineage of architectural thought--from Piranesi to Ledoux, Branzi, and Koolhaas. Among the essays, "Atypical Plans" is a redaction of Koolhaas's landmark text "Typical Plan," "Supermodel Homes" looks at the mad genius of developer David Weekley," and "New Homes for America" is a short story in which a young architect produces new forms of communal living.
Making Healthy Places, Second Edition by
The first edition of Making Healthy Places offered a visionary and thoroughly researched treatment of the connections between constructed environments and human health. Since its publication over 10 years ago, the field of healthy community design has evolved significantly to address major societal problems, including health disparities, obesity, and climate change. Most recently, the COVID-19 pandemic has upended how we live, work, learn, play, and travel. In Making Healthy Places, Second Edition: Designing and Building for Well-Being, Equity, and Sustainability, planning and public health experts Nisha D. Botchwey, Andrew L. Dannenberg, and Howard Frumkin bring together scholars and practitioners from across the globe in fields ranging from public health, planning, and urban design, to sustainability, social work, and public policy. This updated and expanded edition explains how to design and build places that are beneficial to the physical, mental, and emotional health of humans, while also considering the health of the planet. This edition expands the treatment of some topics that received less attention a decade ago, such as the relationship of the built environment to equity and health disparities, climate change, resilience, new technology developments, and the evolving impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic. Drawing on the latest research, Making Healthy Places, Second Edition imparts a wealth of practical information on the role of the built environment in advancing major societal goals, such as health and well-being, equity, sustainability, and resilience. This update of a classic is a must-read for students and practicing professionals in public health, planning, architecture, civil engineering, transportation, and related fields.
Julia Morgan : the road to San Simeon, visionary architect of the California renaissance by 
Architecture in the Age of Artificial Intelligence by
Artificial intelligence is everywhere - from the apps on our phones to the algorithms of search engines. Without us noticing, the AI revolution has arrived. But what does this mean for the world of design? The first volume in a two-book series, Architecture in the Age of Artificial Intelligence introduces AI for designers and considers its positive potential for the future of architecture and design.Explaining what AI is and how it works, the book examines how different manifestations of AI will impact the discipline and profession of architecture. Highlighting current case-studies as well as near-future applications, it shows how AI is already being used as a powerful design tool, and how AI-driven information systems will soon transform the design of buildings and cities.Far-sighted, provocative and challenging, yet rooted in careful research and cautious speculation, this book, written by architect and theorist Neil Leach, is a must-read for all architects and designers - including students of architecture and all design professionals interested in keeping their practice at the cutting edge of technology.
Grundkurs : what is architecture about? by
"In this collection of idiosyncratic lessons, architect and teacher Pier Paolo Tamburelli engages with the very foundations of architecture, proposing a series of new and open-ended perspectives on how we build the world. Developed for the 'Grundkurs', or 'basic course', at Vienna Technical University, Tamburelli's lessons are presented through the annotated sketches that form the basis of his lectures - variously rough and precise, sarcastic and sincere, and always uniquely expressive. This volume is a rich visual sourcebook of architectural ideas that form an accessible and discursive introduction to the discipline - one which pauses on the road to grand theories to learn from the intuitive processes of notetaking, drawing, and association. Tamburelli's lessons are based around a series of dialectic couples, including Roof/Wall, Shelter/Memory, and Language/Action. The pairs are experimental and often provocative, offering a framework to be used to climb in the direction of architecture. Tamburelli trusts in the capacity of images to suspend the restraints of more rigorous theoretical approaches, embraces the flexible wisdom of the note, and relishes the intrigue of the cryptic messages we leave for ourselves. Reproduced here in their entirety, these eight lessons offer countless routes towards, through, and around architecture, providing newcomers and experts alike with an intimate and refreshing encounter with a millennia-old discipline" Publisher's website (viewed June, 15, 2023)
Perspecta 55 : futures index by
A collection that explores how architecture ought to negotiate the future, when the future is anything but certain. Architecture is fundamentally a practice of predicting the future. In designing spaces that will endure for decades, architects must reconcile their visions of future living with predicted economic, political, and environmental futures. Thus, whereas utopian architects of the past each sought to impose a singular future through visionary architectural form, architects of today must reconcile between the multiple futures projected by hired specialists, live modeling software, climate change prognoses, and financial markets. Perspecta 55 aims to undertake this much-needed analysis of contrasting techniques of prediction, investigating architecture's relationship to these conflicting visions of the future. Perspecta gathers together contributions from the fields of finance, climate, security, and computation to unearth the particular disciplinary histories and social values that underlie future projection. They identify eight futurological modes with direct impact on architectural practice- the hypothetical speculation of scenario planning, the training drills of disaster preparation, the logic of resisting a certain future evident within resiliency, the imaginings of science fiction, the risks and profits of the financial futures market, techniques of building information modeling and simulation, the algorithmic prediction involved in data mining, and the future-reversing logic of repair. In investigating and testing practices of future prediction, Perspecta 55 hopes to empower architecture to address its uncertain, contested futures so that it may successfully reconcile and articulate its own future. Designers- Kyla Arsadjaja and Julia Sch fer are graduates of the Yale School of Art. Contributors- Orit Halpern, Matthew Soules, William Deringer, Gary Zhexi Zhang, Jack Hanly, Zeynep elik Alexander, G k e G nel, Davy Knittle, Adam Bobbette, Savannah Cox, Stephen Collier, Andrew Lakoff, Lindsay Thomas, Ross Exo Adams, Amelyn Ng, Justin Joque, Peter Polack, and Daniela Fabricius
Exhibit A: exhibitions that transformed architecture, 1948-2000 by
The first book to explore the world's most significant architectural exhibitions of the 20th century How do you exhibit a building, a locality, a city? Exhibit A reveals how architecture has pushed the boundaries of exhibition as a medium and how, in turn, exhibitions have shaped the discipline of architecture. Focusing on 80 landmark architecture exhibitions mounted in countries around the world between 1948 and 2000, and featuring 300 images, this groundbreaking overview is both a vital reference and a visually compelling study of the way we look at built work.
Unidentified Flying Object for Contemporary Architecture by
The first monographic publication focused on the Florentine UFO group (1968-1978), that conducts a historical analysis of its work, reveals its close relationship with the contemporary artistic, literary and architectural avant-garde and, finally, investigates its legacy for the contemporary project. The contemporary context is defined by a unique conjuncture. On one hand, we witness the revival of the Radical Architecture that from the avant-garde experiments of the origins recovers creative processes and iconographic fragments while nullifying the original ideological and political values. On the other hand, we see social protests in defense of fundamental rights of democracy, as in 1968. With these premises, Architecture is now reinvestigating those ephemeral experiments that have endured half a century as new "stone monuments" capable of indicating new perspectives for both research and design. Placing UFO group, one of the authors of those still poorly known "monuments", at the core of the contemporary debate means investigating their formal and seductive aspects, but also the ideological, political and social values with which objects, installations and happenings have been innervated, transforming them into devices of an architecture nourished by literature, art and political commitment for the foundation of an eloquent and activist project even more radical than the well-known Superstudio and Archizoom.The collaboration between Beatrice Lampariello, an architecture historian specialized in the 1960s and 1970s, and False Mirror Office, a group of historians and designers engaged in the rediscovery of UFO group, lead to a monograph focused on the UFO's work and an evaluation of their legacy relative to contemporary architecture. This monograph is composed of three sections: 1) History, a first-ever study of UFO by False Mirror Office via analysis of all archival and bibliographic sources, as well as a series of interviews with UFO members and a collection of its writings (published and unpublished), for the first time translated into English; 2) Context, composed of essays by historians and architectural theorists (Beatrice Lampariello, Simon Sadler, Anna Rosellini, Giovanni Galli, Jacopo Galimberti) intended to place UFO's work in the context of the avant-garde that influenced its work, from the experience of Florentine Radical Architecture to Umberto Eco's theories on semiotics and the American experiences between Pop Art, Video Art and Happening; 3) Legacy, articulated through graphic contribution and essays by young designers, as False Mirror Office, Parasite 2.0, Point Supreme, Jimenez Lai, Andrew Kovacs, Adam Nathaniel Furman, Traumnovelle, (ab)Normal and Peter Behrbohm, to investigate UFO's legacy relative to the contemporary revival of the most distinguishing creative processes and obsessions that shaped the so-called Radical Architecture. Contributions by: Beatrice Lampariello, Boris Hamzeian and Andrea Anselmo (False Mirror Office), Gloria Castellini (False Mirror Office), Simon Sadler, Anna Rosellini, Giovanni Galli, Jacopo Galimberti, Filippo Fanciotti and Giovanni Glorialanza (False Mirror Office), Parasite 2.0, Point Supreme, Jimenez Lai (Bureau Spectacular), Andrew Kovacs, Adam Nathaniel Furman, Traumnovelle, (ab)Normal, Peter Behrbohm
New geographies. 11, Extraterrestrial by
New Geographies 11: Extraterrestrial explores the historical and contemporary consequence of our planetary relationship with space. It interprets this duality through the conceptual lens of "extraterrestrial," which engages an entangled zone of expanding practices in geography, landscape, and architecture, stretching Earth to space, and conversely, space to Earth. This issue questions the means through which space is forged as a condition extra to our own terra. Complicit within this imagination resides a deep political and economic logic that serves to territorialize outer space as an exception to, and extension of, Earth. These critical processes are revealed as not extra at all, but rather distinctly of terra. Through a series of written, photographic, and representational investigations, this edition of New Geographies builds on earlier studies of outer space from science, technology and society, as well as from the design disciplines, history, and critical geography. It reinforces the need for humanity's changing relationship with outer space to be recorded, critiqued, and theorized from a breadth of academic traditions and projected within design discourse. This issue brings together experts contributing to the social, political, and cultural imaginary implicit in extraterrestrial. Three primary thematic territorial devices structure these explorations: a technologically constructed space between, a material culture constructed and discharged, and a space politically and economically reflective, all revealed through historical and contemporary society.New Geographies is a journal of design, agency, and territory founded, edited, and produced by Doctor of Design candidates at the Harvard University Graduate School of Design. New Geographies presents the geographic as a design paradigm that links physical, representational, and political attributes of space and articulates a synthetic scalar practice. Through critical essays and projects, the journal seeks to position design's agency amid concerns about infrastructure, technology, ecology, and globalization. With Contributions of Rachel Armstrong, Katarzyna Balug, Nicholas de Monchaux, Daniel Daou, Rajji Sanjay Desai, Edward Eigen, Rania Ghosn and El Hadi Jazairy, Mariano Gomez-Luque, Gretchen Heefner, Elizabeth A. Kessler, Scott Kirsch, Julie Michelle Klinger, Neil Leach, Michael Light, Lisa Messeri, Roland Miller, Alessandra Ponte, an interview with Kim Stanley Robinson, David Salomon, Felicity D. Scott, Fred Scharmen, Neyran Turan, edited by Jeffrey S. Nesbit and Guy Trangos.
San Francisco : la grille sur les collines = the grid meets the hills by 
Superdesign : Italian radical design 1965-75 by
SuperDesign charts the Italian Radicals' bold experimentation in modern design from its birth through its continued influence on design today. Radical Design was launched by art, architecture, and design students in Italy in the mid-1960s. What started as a youthful rally against the establishment and a rejection of design norms became a movement that brought together some of the most dynamic and avant-garde thinkers and makers across the country. Through enigmatic, confrontational, and clever furniture and objects--such as the iconic lip-shaped Bocca sofa, or the Cactus coat-rack in green foam--as well as more public innovations including discotheque interiors and subversive performances, the Radicals projected design's new era as equal parts Pop Art, play, Surrealism, and futurism. Told through exclusive interviews, unreleased photographs, original drawings and artwork unearthed from personal archives, and newly commissioned photography of rarely seen works, SuperDesign explores this fervent period of design that played out against the era's social and political turmoil. Featured designers include Archizoom Associati, Lapo Binazzi (UFO), Pietro Derossi (Gruppo Strum), Piero Gilardi, Ugo La Pietra, Gaetano Pesce, Gianni Pettena, Studio65, and Superstudio. The culmination of a decade of collecting and researching original examples of some of the most important and iconic works of the period, SuperDesign offers a unique new introduction to the legacy of the Italian Radicals.
Superstudio : opere : 1966-1978 by
Published on the occasion of an exhibition held at the MAXXI, Rome, Italy, April 21-September 4, 2016
Includes bibliographical references (pages 641-661) and index
"Four Sketchbooks" by
Founder of Superstudio and initiator of the so-called 'Radical Architecture' movement (one of the most important avant-garde movements of the sixties and seventies), Adolfo Natalini describes years of designed and constructed architectural projects through his preferred media: drawings and sketches shown in his Black notebooks (Quaderni Neri). This book contains many of his numerous designs and constructed projects, witness to almost fifty years of his career, collected in four new Notebooks. The first section describes the experiences shaping Natalini's education, including his studies and work at Superstudio and the 'Pistioia school'. The other chapters present his designs and completed projects, divided by geographic area and then in chronological order. The Italian, German and Dutch sketchbooks show the work he considers the best representations of his career, told through images, technical drawings and original sketches from his famed sketchbooks. Many excerpts from interviews with the Natalini are interspersed throughout, complementing and tying everything together. This significant book helps us understand a key player in Italian architecture, his career, how his ideas evolved, and how he sees and understands his work and designs. After his experience as a painter, Adolfo Natalini graduated in architecture in Florence in 1966 and founded Superstudio (with Cristiano Toraldo di Francia, Gian Piero Frassinelli, Roberto and Alessandro Magris and Alessandro Poli). The group was the initiator of the so-called Radical Architecture, one of the most important avant-garde movements of the 1960s and 1970s. He was full professor of architectural design at the Florence Faculty of Architecture. 153 colour, 89 b/w images
The Arts of Intimacy by
Named a Book of the Year by the Times Literary Supplement, this lavishly illustrated work explores the vibrant interaction among different and sometimes opposing cultures, and how their contacts with one another transformed them all. It chronicles the tumultuous history of Castile in the wake of the Christian capture of the Islamic city of Tulaytula, now Toledo, in the eleventh century and traces the development of Castilian culture as it was forged in the new intimacy of Christians with the Muslims and Jews they had overcome. The authors paint a portrait of the culture through its arts, architecture, poetry and prose, uniquely combining literary and visual arts. Concentrating on the eleventh and twelfth centuries, the book reveals the extent to which Castilian identity is deeply rooted in the experience of confrontation, interaction, and at times union with Hebrew and Arabic cultures during the first centuries of its creation. Abundantly illustrated, the volume serves as a splendid souvenir of southern Spain; beautifully written, it illuminates a culture deeply enriched by others.
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account
