LibGuides: GIS & Health: GIS & Health Resources

Geospatial Health

Current Issue

International Journal of Health Geographics

Current Issue

Related Books

A Companion to Health and Medical Geography by Tim Brown; Sara McLafferty; Graham Moon
Call Number: RA792 .C65 2010
ISBN: 1405170034
Publication Date: 2009-12-21
This Companion provides a comprehensive account of health and medical geography and approaches the major themes and key topics from a variety of angles. Offers a unique breadth of topics relating to both health and medical geography Includes contributions from a range of scholars from rising stars to established, internationally renowned authors Provides an up-to-date review of the state of the sub-discipline Thematically organized sections offer detailed accounts of specific issues and combine general overviews of the current literature with case study material Chapters cover topics at the cutting edge of the sub-discipline, including emerging and re-emerging diseases, the politics of disease, mental and emotional health, landscapes of despair, and the geography of care.
An Introduction to the Geography of Health by Peter Anthamatten; Helen Hazen
Call Number: RA792 .A58 2011
ISBN: 9780415498050
Publication Date: 2011-07-26
Health issues such as the emergence of infectious diseases, the potential influence of global warming on human health, and the escalating strain of increasing longevity and chronic conditions on healthcare systems are of growing importance in an increasingly peopled and interconnected world.
GIS and Public Health, Second Edition by Ellen K. Cromley; Sara L. McLafferty
Call Number: RA566 .C764 2012
ISBN: 9781609187507
Publication Date: 2011-09-20
Authoritative and comprehensive, this is the leading text and professional resource on using geographic information systems (GIS) to analyze and address public health problems. Basic GIS concepts and tools are explained, including ways to access and manage spatial databases. The book presents state-of-the-art methods for mapping and analyzing data on population, health events, risk factors, and health services, and for incorporating geographical knowledge into planning and policy. Numerous maps, diagrams, and real-world applications are featured.
GIS Tutorial for Health by Kristen S. Kurland; Wilpen L. Gorr
Call Number: RA792 .G67 2012
ISBN: 1589483138
Publication Date: 2012-08-24
In its fourth edition, GIS Tutorial for Health is fully revised and updated for ArcGIS Desktop 10 software. To better support skill building and GIS analysis, this workbook features extended introductions to eleven tutorials addressing significant issues of health care and policy planning.
Innovative Approaches to Researching Landscape and Health by Catharine Ward Thompson; Peter Aspinall; Simon Bell
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780203853252
Publication Date: 2010-06-18
This book addresses the growing interest in salutogenic environments - landscapes that support healthy lifestyles and promote well-being; and the need for innovative methods to research them. Drawing on multidisciplinary approaches from environmental psychology, health sciences, urban design, landscape architecture and horticulture, it questions how future research can be better targeted to inform policy and practice in health promotion.
Locating Health by Erika Dyck (Editor); Christopher Fletcher (Editor)
Call Number: RA427 .L63 2011
ISBN: 9781848931497
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
The essays in this collection focus on the dynamic relationship between health and place. Historical and anthropological perspectives are presented - each discipline having a long tradition of engaging with these concepts. The resulting dialogue should produce a new layer of methodology, enhancing both fields.
Medical Geography by Melinda Meade
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781606236925
Publication Date: 2010-01-01

Other GIS & Health Websites

Finding Health Statistics Tutorial
This is a tutorial from the National Library of Medicine detailing ways to locate health statistics.
Stanford GIS and Health Data Links
This site contains links for other sources of GIS data related to health, provided by Stanford University Libraries.
WHO Atlas of Health & Climate
This full text atlas details Infections, Emergencies and Environmental challenges (ch. 1-3) in pdf. A publication of the World Health Organization, it includes data from many of the statistical gathering programs.
WHO Data & Statistics
These data come from the Global Health Observatory and can be downloaded in CSV or Excel formats with data and variables.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

GIS & Health: GIS & Health Resources

Geospatial Health

International Journal of Health Geographics

Related Books

Other GIS & Health Websites

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information