LibGuides: GIS & Health: Ohio & Local

Ohio County Data on DVD

Ohio County GIS DVD-ROMS can be found in the Map Library.

Use the links to find the call number and location.

Geauga County GIS by Geauga County, Ohio : GIS Services
Call Number: G4083.G4 A4 2005 .G4
Publication Date: 2005
Discs 1-2. Orthophotos, 2 ft., December 2004 -- Disc 3a. GIS files. 2 ft-contours A-H ; Boundaries -- Disc 3b. GIS files. 2 ft-contours M-T ; Hydrography ; Parcels -- Disc 4. Images : county and township -- Disc 5. DXF's ; DWG's -- Disc 6. GIS files. Planimetrics ; Planning ; Roads ; Soils.
Lake County GIS by Lake County GIS Dept.
Call Number: G4083.L2A3 2000 .L28
Publication Date: 2000
Portage County GIS by Portage County GIS
Call Number: G4083.P7A4 2008 .P6
Publication Date: 2008
Digital orthophotos of Portage County, Ohio. Also contains a map in PDF form serving as an index to each specific section of the county photographed. Also contains shapefiles of watersheds, rivers, soil surveys, railroads, various boundaries and other features.
Stark County GIS by Stark County GIS Services
Call Number: G4083.S7 A4 2005 .S7
Publication Date: 2005
Disc 1. Annotation (Acreage, lot dimensions, lot numbers, outlot numbers, roadnames) ; Infrastructure layers (Addresses, benchmarks, PLSS benchmarks, railroads, road centerlines/streets, Geodetic Referencing System) ; County layers (Cities, villages & townships, quartersections, road right-of-way, Geodetic Referencing System, section lines) ; Ownership layers (Parcels, property lines, property lines-dashed, tax parcel line) ; Additional linework layers (leader lines, routing hook, hydrolines) -- Disc 2. City/Village/Township DXF drawings (Alliance, Jackson Township, Hartville Village, Lake Township, Louisville, North Canton, Perry Township, Plain Township).
Summit County GIS Data by Summit County Fiscal Office
Call Number: G4083.S8A4 2010 .G57
Publication Date: 2010
GIS data sets of Summit County, Ohio. Includes digital orthophotos of bridges, railroads and signals; and shapefiles indicating various political and geographic features, as well as various physical structures.
Tuscarawas County, Ohio GIS data sets by Tuscarawas County Engineer
Call Number: G4083.T8 2008 .T8
Publication Date: 2008
GIS data sets of Tuscarawas County, Ohio. Includes digital orthophotos, tax maps in shapefile format, digital elevations, infrared data, hydrology data, and maps and documents indicating various political features. Historical and contemporary maps of, and documents relating to, Tuscarawas County dating from the 1890s to 1980s are included in pdf format
Wayne County GIS Data by Wayne County Auditor's Office
Call Number: G4083.W4 2006 .W3
Publication Date: 2006
Includes GIS data in shapefile format of Wayne County, Ohio. Featuring political boundaries, addresses, locations of landmarks and road signs. Old aerial photos of various cities and regions of the county also included.

Ohio & Local GIS Data Sources

These links have a variety of uses, socioeconomic and health data as well as some infrastructure resources.

Cleveland Plus Data Library
Regional data from this development agency is available for mapping or download. County level data can be merged with geographic files.
NEO CANDO
Northeast Ohio Community and Neighborhood Data for Organizing. Data is available by county down to the block group level. Crime data, juvenile delinquency, child maltreatment, births and deaths are available at different geographic levels. Free registration is required for data access.
more...less...
Data provided by Case Western University Center for Urban Poverty and Community Development.
ODH Health Care Providers and Suppliers
Search for detailed health care provider locations and map them. Data can be extrapolated for use in a GIS.
Ohio Department of Health Data & Statistics
From Vital Statistics to Environmental Licensing.
Ohio EPA GIS Data
GIS ready data from the Ohio EPA about streams, water quality, watersheds and land use.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Sanborn Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps are used by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns a
US Board of Geographic Names
The Board of Geographic Names provides a search for domestic and international names of places. It references previous names with identifying and geographic information.

Other County Data

Some counties have data downloads on their websites that are continually updated. These links are listed here.

Ashtabula County GIS
Parcel information, flood maps, soil information, watersheds, school districts and demographic information is displayed in an online GIS for the county.
Cuyahoga County GIS
Contains ArcGIS shapefiles for many county layers.
Erie County
Erie County GIS data downloads in Shapefile formats. Includes parcels, county basemap, road centerlines, addresses landmarks, school districts, as well as aerial photographs from 2001-2013.
Gallia County
Gallia tax and ownership parcel information on a dynamic GIS viewer.
Guernsey County
Guernsey County online tax and ownership parcel information in a dynamic online GIS system.
Mahoning County GIS
FTP downloads are available for the county for topography, LIDAR, taxmaps, etc. Shapefiles are also listed.
Noble County
Noble County parcel data information, tax and ownership details are provided in a dynamic GIS viewer.
Summit County
GIS data download for Summit County including utilities, transportation, scanned maps, parcels, environmental and aerial photography. Many older maps have been scanned and are available as raster files.
Tuscarawas County GIS Downloads
Parcel maps, shapefiles for townships, AUTOCAD dwg files, along with other data is available for download.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

GIS & Health: Ohio & Local

Ohio County Data on DVD

Ohio & Local GIS Data Sources

Other County Data

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information