Earth Science Writing: Writing Guides

The two-way oceanic exchanges that connect the Arctic and Atlantic oceans through subarctic seas are of fundamental importance to climate. Change may certainly be imposed on the Arctic Ocean from subarctic seas, including a changing poleward ocean heat flux that is central to determining the present state and future fate of the perennial sea-ice. And the signal of Arctic change is expected to have its major climatic impact by reaching south through subarctic seas, either side of Greenland, to modulate the Atlantic thermohaline 'conveyor'. Developing the predictive skills of climate models is seen to be the most direct way of extending the ability of society to mitigate for or adapt to 'global change' and is the main justification for continuing an intense observational effort in these waters. As records have lengthened, they have shown that important aspects of oceanic exchange through subarctic seas are currently at a long-term extreme state, providing further motivation for their study.

This is the most authoritative and wide-ranging dictionary of earth sciences available in a single volume.Compiled with the help of a team of specialist contributors, it has been substantially revised and updated for this new edition. It is essential reference for all students of the subject, especially those on interdisciplinary courses.The 6,000 entries provide broad coverage of climatology, economic geology, geochemistry, oceanography, petrology, and volcanology. There are entries on planetary science, remote sensing, statistics, and sequence stratigraphy, and substantial updating in palaeontology, mineralogy, and geophysics.A useful section of appendices includes wind strengths and time scales.

This textbook provides a mathematical introduction to the theory of large-scale ocean circulation. It is accessible for readers with an elementary knowledge of mathematics and physics, including continuum mechanics and solution methods for ordinary differential equations.At the end of each chapter several exercises are formulated. Many of these are aimed to further develop methodological skills and to get familiar with the physical concepts. New material is introduced in only a few of these exercises. Fully worked out answers to all exercises can be downloaded from the book’s web site.

Maurice Schwartz, Editor of the much acclaimed Encyclopedia of Beaches and Coastal Environments (Hutchinson Ross, 1982) has now brought forth a new volume with a fresh interdisciplinary approach that includes geomorphology, ecology, engineering, technology, oceanography, and human activities as they relate to coasts. Within its covers the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science includes many aspects of the coastal sciences that are only to be found scattered among scientific literature. Being broadly interdisciplinary in its treatment of coasts, the Encyclopedia of Coastal Science features contributions by 245 well known international specialists in their respective fields and is abundantly illustrated with line-drawings and photographs. Not only does this volume offer an extensive number of entries, it also includes various appendices, an illustrated glossary of coastal geomorphology and extensive bibliographic listings. This Encyclopedia thus provides a comprehensive reference work for students, professionals as well as informed lay readers. Please note that this publication is available as print only OR online only OR print + online bundle. Save 75% of the online list price when purchasing the bundle

Mapping the relationship between human society and the Earth, theEncyclopedia of Global Changeis the first general reference guide to the impact of politics, population, economics, and technology on the planet. Containing over 300 original, signed articles by distinguished scholars, it is the comprehensive work for this multi-discipline, high-profile field.
TheEncyclopediasynethsizes current knowledge on natural and human-made changes in the Earth's physical , chemical, and biological systems and the effects of these changes on society. Areas such as altered ecosystems, climate change, food supply, water production and consumption, population, and the political impact of global change are covered in detail. And the clearly written articles also include responses to global modification, agreements and associations, institutions, policies, biographies, and case studies.
Enhanced by 1,500 illustrations, extensive cross-references, bibliographies, and an index, theEncyclopedia of Global Changelinks essential knowledge across many fields-geography, geology, geophysics, atmospheric science, political science, economics, technology, and others-in a resource that is both accessible and authoritative. The jargon-free language makes it an excellent work for the professional scholar as well as the interested general reader.

This self-help guide is intended for scientific and medical professionals and students who wish to improve their scientific writing skills. Exercises invite the reader to practice the most important aspects of scientific writing. Although the book addresses certain issues more troublesome to scientific communicators of a non-English language origin, the guide will be of equal benefit to those whose first language is English. If you do not only want to write but want to write well, this book is for you.

This book is designed to enable non-native English speakers to write science research for publication in English. it is a practical, user-friendly book intended as a fast, do-it-yourself guide for those whose English language proficiency is above intermediate.

The book is organized around a basic guide to English grammar that is specifically tailored to the needs of scientists, science writers, science educators, and science students. The authors explain the goals of scientific writing, the role of style, and the various kinds of writing in the sciences, then provide a basic guide to the fundamentals of English and address problem areas such as redundancies, abbreviations and acronyms, jargon, and foreign terms. Email, online publishing, blogs, and writing for the Web are covered as well.

Organized topically with information on the structural elements and the style of scientific communications, each chapter draws on models of past successes and failures to show students and practitioners how best to negotiate the world of print, online publication, and oral presentation.