Research databases are tools that help you search for scientific literature (journal articles, book chapters, and conference presentations/ papers), on a particular topic.
Librarians review them to see if they have quality information from reliable sources. You should check each individual source based on the requirements of your instructor. For more information about refereed or peer reviewed journal articles see the Peer Review tab.
If you need help searching the databases, use the tools to help you set up your search.
For tips on limiting to Peer Reviewed or Refereed literature, check the Peer Review tab.
Environment Complete is the electronic version of Environment Index, and covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. It contains citations for articles from domestic and international journals, monographs and conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education
Contains literature of Geology and related topics 1785–Present by the American Geosciences Institute. The database contains over 3.3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses.
Zoological Record is the online version of the print publication detailing animal biology, acting as a taxonomic record and unofficial register of animal names. The database lists references for articles where notes about species appear. The print edition goes back to 1864 and is a good companion to this online source for years before 2004.