The writing commons is located on the 4th Floor in the Library. Here, students can get help with any writing related questions. Sessions typically last 30-45 minutes depending on the goals the student has for the session; these may include editing your paper for clarity and language related issues such as spelling and grammar. Students can schedule an in-person appointment, online writing lab appointment or an online Google Chat appointment. Please visit the link above for more information and resources at the Writing Commons.
The following links provide information on annotated bibliographies- definitions, components as well as samples. They are taken from Kent State University Libraries website as well other credible sources such as other writing centers from other Universities and Colleges.
Caution: Do not use a commercial website that offers to write your annotated bibliography for a fee.
Kent State University- https://libguides.library.kent.edu/annotatedbib
Purdue University- https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/614/03/
Cornell University- http://guides.library.cornell.edu/annotatedbibliography
Skidmore University- http://lib.skidmore.edu/library/index.php/li371-annotated-bib
Ashford University- https://awc.ashford.edu/tocw-sample-annotated-bibliography.html
University of Southern California- http://libguides.usc.edu/writingguide/annotatedbibliography
University of Wisconsin- https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/assignments/annotatedbibliography/
Easy Bib
http://www.easybib.com/guides/annotated-bibliographies/
Samples:
University of North Carolina- http://writingcenter.unc.edu/handouts/annotated-bibliographies/mla-examples/
Utah Valley University- https://www.uvu.edu/writingcenter/docs/handouts/common_assignments/annotatedbibliography.pdf
On Google advanced search: https://www.google.com/advanced_search
Click on images on your result screen
Useful links on how to write research papers:
Cornell University
https://gradschool.cornell.edu/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/WritingAB_WEB.pdf
Purdue University
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/658/1/
University of Wisconsin
http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/PlanResearchPaper.html
Ten simple rules for writing research papers by Weixiong Zhang
https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3907284/
SUNY Empire State College
https://www.esc.edu/online-writing-center/resources/research/research-paper-steps/
A Research Guide for Students
Writing Research Papers by
The definitive research paper guide, Writing Research Papers combines a traditional and practical approach to the research process with the latest information on electronic research and presentation.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
A little more than seventy-five years ago, Kate L. Turabian drafted a set of guidelines to help students understand how to write, cite, and formally submit research writing. Seven editions and more than nine million copies later, the name Turabian has become synonymous with best practices in research writing and style. Her Manual for Writers continues to be the gold standard for generations of college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines. Now in its eighth edition, A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today’s writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations. Style and citation recommendations have been revised throughout to reflect the sixteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style. With an appendix on paper format and submission that has been vetted by dissertation officials from across the country and a bibliography with the most up-to-date listing of critical resources available, A Manual for Writers remains the essential resource for students and their teachers.
University of Southern California
http://libguides.usc.edu/writingguide/researchproposal
The University of Wisconsin
http://writing.wisc.edu/Handbook/PlanResearchPaper.html
Study Guides and Strategies
http://www.studygs.net/proposal.htm
MIT
Developing a Mixed Methods Proposal by 
Writing a Proposal for Your Dissertation by Tips on How to write a Dissertation
Columbia University
http://www.columbia.edu/cu/tat/pdfs/dissertation.pdf
Purdue University
https://www.cs.purdue.edu/homes/dec/essay.dissertation.html
University of North Carolina
http://writingcenter.unc.edu/handouts/dissertations/
University of California
:http://ppfp.ucop.edu/info/documents/bibliography-docs/overcoming-writers-block.pdf
This link opens in a new window
Enjoy Writing Your Science Thesis or Dissertation! by 
Developing Quality Dissertations in the Social Sciences by 
Writing Successful Reports and Dissertations by 
Writing the Successful Thesis and Dissertation by Citation Tools / Resources
Kent State University- Citation Tools LibGuide
http://libguides.library.kent.edu/citationtools
Purdue University- Research & Citation
https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/section/2/
Easy Bib
APA Style Resources
http://libguides.library.kent.edu/citationtools/apa
APA Cheat Sheet- http://www.library.kent.edu/files/APACheatSheet.pdf
APA Style Tutorials- Kent State Library
http://www.lib.usm.edu/help/tutorials/apa_tutorial/
APA Style- FAQs-http://www.apastyle.org/learn/faqs/index.aspx
Citation Management Resources
Kent State University
Columbia University
University of Washington
University of Wisconsin
MIT
University of Toronto
Refer to the Kent State University Libguide- How to do a Literature Review:
This guide explains and shows a range of resources and steps for developing, managing, and completing literature reviews. Different kinds of literature reviews are completed for a variety of projects including class papers, articles, grants, theses, and dissertations.
The following topics are covered:
More Resources on how to write a literature Review:
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account