This is the "Introduction" page of the "Creating Annotated Bibliographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
*To search for student contact information, login to FlashLine and choose the "Directory" icon in the FlashLine masthead (blue bar).

Creating Annotated Bibliographies  

This libguide will provide you with information on how to create an annotated bibliography.
Last Updated: Oct 22, 2012 URL: http://libguides.library.kent.edu/annotatedbib Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is an annotated bibliography?

Annotated bibliographies are descriptive and evaluative lists of resources. They may include citations to books, journal/magazine articles, web sites, or other materials. Annotated bibliographies start with a citation which is followed by a brief paragraph (the annotation, normally around 150 words) that describes and also evaluated the information.

Annotations are different than abstracts! Abstracts are only descriptive summaries of resources. Annotations are descriptive as well as critical; they look at the point of view of the author, clarity, authority, and usefulness of the source. 

 

Dos and don'ts of writing annotated bibliographies!

Dos:

  • Summarize the central theme/scope of the article
  • Explain how this resource ties into the purpose or idea of your project
  • Do include information on the author

Don'ts:

  • Do not write a "thumbs-up/thumbs-down review
  • Do not skim the article, read it carefully before writing
  • Do not plagiarize
  • Do not copy and paste the abstract

Librarian for EHHS

Profile Image
Vanessa Earp
Contact Info
Room 161 University Libraries
330-672-1657
vearp@kent.edu
I work with students, faculty, and staff in the College of Education, Health, & Human Services.
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip