LibGuides: Hospitality Tools & Resources: Research Tools

Industry Information

Begin: Identify a NAICS code for your industry. Several tools will take advantage of NAICS.

https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Access is available for Kent campus only.
Search a comprehensive industry-market research database which covers every US industry with a 5-digit NAICS code. IBISWorld offers also similarly detailed research on selected industries in China and worldwide.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Dates of coverage: 1886 to present.

Explore Markets

Mintel Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides research reports covering European, U.K., and U.S. consumer markets. The reports analyze market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.

ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window
Find information on 59 million U.S. businesses, searchable by company name, location, and detailed industry category. Lists size of company, top personnel, year established, type of business, credit rating, yearly sales ranges, and more.

Looking for Management?

The KSU Business & Entrepreneurship Outreach Librarian has a guide just for Managerial Science. Please see the link to this guide (guide opens in new tab)

Image of hand and people, human resources. Open source: CC-0 1.0

Research Trends and News

Do you need help starting to search in a research database? Learn more at:

Link: Kent State Library modules are video or interactive tutorials on many library topics
Link: EBSCO provides tutorials for this particular interface. To begin searching help, use link to Introduction to EBSCO

Hospitality and Tourism Complete This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and industry reports on all areas of hospitality and tourism.
Topics covered include: culinary arts, food and beverage management, hospitality law, hotel management, leisure and business travel, market trends, and more.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, international business. Dates of coverage: 1886 to present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.

Company Details

Company profiles are included in, but not limited to:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Search for company/business profiles by specific location (e.g. Marriot in Ohio) here:

ReferenceUSA This link opens in a new window

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Hospitality Tools & Resources

What the Icons Mean

Industry Information

Explore Markets

Looking for Management?

Research Trends and News

Company Details

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information