The Architect's Studio Companion by Edward Allen; Joseph IanoThe architect's favorite handbook-now in an up-to-date, new edition! The Architect's Studio Companion is the labor-saving design resource that architects, engineers, and builders have relied on for years. Now in its Fifth Edition, this industry standard maintains its reputation as a reliable tool for the preliminary selecting, configuring, and sizing of the structural, environmental, and life safety systems of a building. Bestselling authors Edward Allen and Joseph Iano reduce complex engineering and building code information to simple approximations that enable designers to lay out the fundamental systems of a building in a matter of minutes-without getting hung up on complicated technical concepts. Complete with a convenient flex binding that lies flat for easy use, The Architect's Studio Companion, Fifth Edition gives you quick access to reliable rules of thumb that offer vital help for the preliminary design of: structural systems; heating, cooling, and electrical systems; building code height and area limits; exit stairways and other egress provisions; accessibility regulations; surface parking and structured parking garages; and daylight provisions. Additionally, this new edition gives you: The most current building codes in the United States and Canada New coverage of passive heating and cooling systems Guidelines for designing for natural ventilation Extensively updated structural design guidelines Packed with useful information, The Architect's Studio Companion, Fifth Edition is the definitive resource that no architect should be without.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2012-01-05
The Architecture Reference and Specification Book by Julia McMorrough; Dan WheelerMost architectural standards references contain thousands of pages of details-overwhelmingly more than architects need to know to know on any given day. "The Architecture Reference & Specification Book "contains vital information that's essential to planning and executing architectural projects of all shapes and sizes, in a format that is small enough to carry anywhere. It distills the data provided in standard architectural volumes and is an easy-to-use reference for the most indispensable-and most requested-types of architectural information.
Call Number: Electronic resource
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
The Architect's Studio Companion by Edward Allen; Joseph IanoThe time-saving resource every architect needs The Architect's Studio Companion is a robust, user-friendly resource that keeps important information at your fingertips throughout the design process. It includes guidelines for the design of structure, environmental systems, parking, accessibility, and more. This new sixth edition has been fully updated with the latest model building codes for the U.S. and Canada, extensive new information on heating and cooling systems for buildings, and new structural systems, all in a form that facilitates rapid preliminary design. More than just a reference, this book is a true companion that no practicing architect or student should be without. This book provides quick access to guidelines for systems that affect the form and spatial organization of buildings and allows this information to be incorporated into the earliest stages of building design. With it you can: Select, configure, and size structural systems Plan for building heating and cooling Incorporate passive systems and daylighting into your design Design for parking and meet code-related life-safety and accessibility requirements Relying on straightforward diagrams and clear written explanations, the designer can lay out the fundamental systems of a building in a matter of minutes--without getting hung up on complicated technical concepts. By introducing building systems into the early stages of design, the need for later revisions or redesign is reduced, and projects stay on time and on budget. The Architect's Studio Companion is the time-saving tool that helps you bring it all together from the beginning.
Call Number: ARCH REF NA2750 .A556 2017
Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Architectural Graphic Standards by American Institute of Architects Staff; Dennis J. Hall; Nina M. GiglioThe 'Architect's Bible' since 1932, updated with the latest codes and standards Architectural Graphic Standards is the written authority for architects, designers, and building contractors. It provides comprehensive guidance on the visual representation of materials, products, systems, and assemblies. Updated to reflect the most current codes and standards, this new 12th edition features over 300 new drawings, tables, and designs and twenty-five percent new content. In response to architects' feedback and overwhelming demand for a more graphics-heavy format, this edition employs shorter, more accessible texts and more images of the standards and evolution of design and construction. New coverage includes building resiliency and the building envelope, expert discussion on the fundamentals of design and construction documentation, and new examination of environmental factors and material properties and performance. Sustainable Design is no longer separated, but incorporated throughout, and extensive appendices keep useful data right at your fingertips. Graphic standards are essential to building design. They cover everything from door frames and roof designs to air ducts and outdoor sports facilities. This meticulous resource provides a compendium of planning standards, optimum dimensions, and normative construction details. The book is organized into three core sections covering: design and documentation, materials, and building elements. Architectural Graphic Standards features: Key architectural design and production processes--functional planning, environmental assessment, building resiliency, and architectural construction documentation Thorough coverage of materials: concrete, masonry, metals, wood, plastics, composites, and glass An exhaustive survey of building elements--substructures, shells, services, equipment, furnishings, special structures, and siteworks Comprehensive appendixes filled with pertinent data such as: classic architectural elements, mathematical data, and structural calculations Endorsed by the American Institute of Architects, this book has an enduring and unsurpassed reputation for high-quality illustration, text, and graphic design. For crucial information in a user-friendly format, Architectural Graphic Standards is the go-to reference on building design and construction.
Call Number: ARCH REF TH2031 .A84257 2016
Publication Date: 2016-03-21
Interior Graphic Standards by Corky Binggeli; Patricia GreichenThe new student edition of the definitive reference onarchitectural interiors Interior Graphic Standards, Student Edition is acarefully edited treatment of the authoritative Interior GraphicStandards Professional Edition. Designed and organized to give students the specific information they require, this is an essential reference for anyone studying architectural interiors. New topics include accessible design basics, computing technologies, fire-resistive construction, fire protection systems, security and communications systems, interior equipment, evidence-based design, and climate considerations. In addition,this second Student Edition offers more material on residential design, is packed with more than 1,300 informative illustrations, and includes the latest coverage for students to find real help understanding the critical material they need for the core classes required by all curriculums. Additional revisions to this edition include: Updated coverage of sustainable design and materials and ADA Standards for Accessible Design Companion website featuring online resources for students Expert advice and details for designing interior project types including commercial, residential, healthcare, retail, hospitality, educational, performance, and museum spaces, as well as existing building interiors Like Interior Graphic Standards Professional Edition, this student edition's Second Edition provides essential specification and detailing information for working inside the structural shell, covering interior partitions and floor systems, updated lighting practices, furnishings, equipment, and wall, floor, and ceiling finishes.
Call Number: ARCH REF TH2031 .I55 2012
Publication Date: 2011-11-29
Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design by Michael J. Crosbie; Donald WatsonPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. BUILDING A NEW TRADITION Bundled CD-ROM with additional, still-current chapters from the Seventh Edition More graphic illustrations, figures, tables and summaries Latest on building envelope design and diagnostics Updated data on universal design, stairs, and parking Environmental and "green architecture" principles and details New standards of building commissioning, performance measurement, and quality control in construction RENAISSANCE OF AN ARCHITECTURAL CLASSIC For today's hands-on, visual generation Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design has reinvented itself! A treasured reference of architects and construction professionals for nearly 60 years, the eighth edition of this classic gives you a fresh, new visual approach to information. Now it's even easier to find the facts, figures, references, and summaries of "lessons learned." Featuring new contributions from world authorities and specialists, Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design brings you expert insight into the fundamentals of architecture and design practices. You also get a wealth of data on all aspects of architectural design and building construction, including substructure, superstructure, building shell, interiors, and services, formatted according to the Uniformat II classification system. Let this comprehensive overview of the fundamental knowledge and technologies required for exemplary architectural practice augment and enhance your practice--starting today. AUTHORITATIVE REFERENCE DATA FOR DESIGNING A BUILDING FROM THE GROUND UP Part A. Substructure: Foundations and Basement Construction. Part B. Shell: Superstructure, Exterior Closure, Roofing Part C. Interiors: Interior Constructions, Staircases, Interior Finishes, Materials and Specifications, Dimensioning Part D. Services: Conveying Systems, Plumbing, HVAC, Fire Protection, Electrical Part E. Appendices: Classic Tables and Data, including metric system conversion and references
Call Number: ARCH REF TH151 .T55 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-06
Time-Saver Standards for Architectural Design Data by John H. Callender; Michael Crosbie; Donald WatsonA reference on the technical knowledge required for architectural practice. Since the most recent edition was published in 1982, the scope and nature of architectural practice have expanded considerably to include new topics: energy conservation; environmental quality; accessibility; new project delivery mechanisms; and technological improvements in existing areas such as construction, materials, building enclosures and mechanical systems. This edition has been revised and the contents assessed and recreated to meet current and future needs of the profession. Information has been added on remodelling of existing buildings and on integration with allied engineering disciplines.
Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, Second Edition by Joseph DeChiara; Julius Panero; Martin ZelnikPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The "Silver Bible" -- thoroughly revised, updated and redesigned Interior designers, architects, and other design professionals can still turn to the field's beloved "Silver Bible" for a wealth of information related to the design and planning of residential and commercial interiors. But now, Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning, Second Edition goes even further to truly make the classic interior design reference the standard in its field. From standard furniture dimensions to architectural woodwork details, you'll find a vast array of time-saving data and details. Editors Joseph DeChiara, Julius Panero, and Martin Zelnik have brought together contributions from well-known architectural and interior design firms to give you details derived from actual designs and working drawings, showing various solutions for typical design problems encountered in interior architecture. You get a wide range of typical layouts and residential spaces, offices, conference rooms, and reception areas, in addition to details of bars, restaurants, and public toilets. This exciting new edition includes new international examples and metrification - and provides you with full coverage of healthcare spaces, educational spaces; home offices; videoconferencing spaces; green design; project forms and schedules. Two outstanding sections cover historic styles and woodworking.
Call Number: ARCH REF NK2110 .T48 2001
Publication Date: 2001-07-04
Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture by Nicholas T. Dines; Charles W. HarrisPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Hundreds of landscape architecture standards--at your fingertips! Newly designed and containing a full 40 percent completely new content, Time-Saver Standards for Landscape Architecture, Second Edition, continues to be the most complete source of site design and construction standards and data. It is fully metric, to meet Federal and International requirements. It features increased coverage of: Site storm water "best management" practices · New urban tree planting and xeriscape concepts · Earth retaining structures and pavement design · Land reclamation, including soil and vegetation restoration · Metric site layout practices, including recreation facilities · Energy and resource conservation · Natural processes and site construction procedures · New expanded construction details · Simplified construction materials data. Over 50 sections provide concise tables, checklists, "Key Point" text summaries, and illustrations to provide an invaluable information resource for offices and classrooms throughout the world.
Call Number: ARCH REF SB475.9.S72 T55 1998
Publication Date: 1997-11-22
Time-Saver Standards for Urban Design by Donald WatsonPublisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. MAGNIFICENTLY ILLUSTRATED AND INTERNATIONAL IN SCOPE, HERE IS THE DEFINITIVE REFERENCE ON URBAN DESIGN This important addition to the McGraw-Hill Time Saver Standards series is an entirely new, comprehensive, meticulously researched compendium of every aspect of the physical design of cities and other urban places including communities and civic and public places. Featuring articles by authoritative urban design scholars and practitioners, Time-Saver Standards for Urban Design provides a visual and detailed archival record of: * Context of global cities * Classic texts of urban design * Urban design history and design theory * Preservation, renewal, and extension of existing cities * Methods of urban design from regional to pedestrian scale * Sustainable communities * Details and case studies of urban design practice Time-Saver Standards for Urban Design covers the full-spectrum of allied disciplines such as transportation planning, bioregionalism, storm water management, parking, universal design, urban acoustics, and graphics. It provides a single-source for the key reference articles on urban design and physical planning of cities, including social, environmental and economic data. This inaugural volume on the topic of urban design in the Time-Saver Standard series is written for easy reference by urban planners and designers, architects, landscape professionals, environmental engineers, civil and transportation engineers, as well as municipal government and planning officials. This "soon to be a classic" provides a one-volume reference that is indispensable for urban design policy and practice. It is equally valuable for the urban studies educators and students of architecture, urban design and planning.
Call Number: ARCH REF HT166 .T47 2003
Publication Date: 2003-03-14
Building Systems for Interior Designers by Corky BinggeliBuilding Systems for interior designers Second Edition Corky Binggeli, asid The updated guide to technical building systems for interior designers As integral members of the building design team, interior designers share an increasingly complex and crucial role. Now revised in its second edition, Building Systems for Interior Designers remains the one go-to resource that addresses the special concerns of the interior designer within the broader context of the rest of the building design team. Building Systems for Interior Designers, Second Edition explains technical building systems and engineering issues in a clear and accessible way to interior designers. Covering systems from HVAC to water and waste to lighting, transportation, and safety, author Corky Binggeli enables interior designers to communicate more effectively with architects, engineers, and contractors; collaborate effectively on projects; and contribute to more accurate solutions for a broad range of building considerations. Among the many improvements in the Second Edition are: A deeper engagement with sustainable building design, giving the interior designer the resources needed to participate as part of a sustainable design team A reshaped structure that enhances the reader's understanding of the material Many more illustrations and explanatory captions With a host of features to make the book more up to date, easier to use, and more effective as an instructive guide, Building Systems for Interior Designers, Second Edition is a valuable book for students as well as a practical desktop reference for professionals.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2011-10-11
Construction Specifications Writing by Mark Kalin; Robert S. Weygant; Harold J. Rosen; John R. RegenerUpdated edition of the comprehensive rulebook to the specifier's craft With this latest update, Construction Specifications Writing, Sixth Edition continues to claim distinction as the foremost text on construction specifications. This mainstay in the field offers comprehensive, practical, and professional guidance to understanding the purposes and processes for preparation of construction specifications. This new edition uses real-world document examples that reflect current writing practices shaped by the well-established principles and requirements of major professional associations, including the American Institute of Architects (AIA), the Engineers Joint Contract Documents Committee (EJCDC), and the Construction Specifications Institute (CSI). Also included are guidelines for correct terminology, product selection, organization of specifications according to recognized CSI formats, and practical techniques for document production. Fully revised throughout, this Sixth Edition includes: Updates to MasterFormat 2004, as well as SectionFormat/PageFormat 2007 and Uniformat End-of-chapter questions and specification-writing exercises Samples of the newly updated construction documents from the AIA New chapter on sustainable design and specifications for LEED projects Updated information on the role of specifications in Building Information Modeling (BIM)
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2011-09-13
Handbook of Green Building Design and Construction by Sam KubbaHandbook of Green Building Design and Construction: LEED, BREEAM, and Green Globes, Second Edition directly addresses the needs of building professionals interested in the evolving principles, strategies, and concepts of green/sustainable design. Written in an easy to understand style, the book is updated to reflect new standards to LEED. In addition, readers will find sections that cover the new standards to BREEAM that involve new construction Infrastructure, data centers, warehouses, and existing buildings. Provides vital information and penetrating insights into three of the top Green Building Codes and Standards applied Internationally Includes the latest updates for complying with LEED v4 Practices and BREEAM Presents case studies that draws on over 35 years of personal experience from across the world
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2016-10-15
Residential Interior Design by Maureen Mitton; Courtney NystuenThe completely revised room-by-room guide to home interior design Residential Interior Design, Second Edition teaches the fundamental skills that are needed to plan interior spaces for all types of homes, regardless of decorative styles, from remodeling to new construction. Taking a step-by-step approach, this valuable primer reviews all aspects of interior architecture as it relates to human factors and daily use. Authors Maureen Mitton and Courtney Nystuen explore the minimal amount of space that is necessary for rooms to function usefully, from the kitchen to the bathroom, the bedroom to the hallway, and every room in between. Packed with hundreds of drawings and photographs, this valuable tool is brimming with useful information regarding codes, mechanical and electrical systems, keys to creating wheelchair accessible spaces, and a variety of additional factors that impact each type of room and its corresponding space. Now featuring a companion website with instructor resources, this new edition is: Revised and updated with new building codes information and expanded information on sustainability, building construction, doors, windows, home offices, and outdoor spaces Illustrated throughout with line drawings and photographs to clearly explain the concepts covered The perfect study aid for the NCIDQ exam With a focus on quality of design over quantity of space, Residential Interior Design, Second Edition is the first stop to designing equally efficient and attractive rooms.
Call Number: Electronic Resource
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
Architectural Building Codes by James G. ScottAll architects must have a solid working knowledge of building codes: noncompliance means cost overruns at best and lawsuits at worst. This resource has been written in the graphic language of design. Areas covered include: codes and standards; special occupancy; building limitations; type of construction; use or occupancy; fire-resistant materials and construction; interior finishes; fire protection systems; means of egress; accessibility; interior environment; exterior wall coverings; roofing; structural loads and inspections; foundations and retaining walls; building materials; plumbing and electricity; elevators; and construction issues. This book should be of interest to architects, designers, builders and building owners.
Call Number: KF5701 .S38 1997
Publication Date: 1997-06-01
Building Systems for Interior Designers by Corky BinggeliThe ultimate interior designer's guide to building systems and safety Building Systems for Interior Designers, Third Edition is the single-source technical reference that every designer needs, and an ideal solution for NCIDQ exam preparation. Now in its third edition, this invaluable guide has been updated to better address the special concerns of the interior designer within the context of the entire design team. New coverage includes the latest information on sustainable design and energy conservation, expanded coverage of security and building control systems, and a new and expanded art program with over 250 new illustrations. Covering systems from HVAC to water to waste to lighting, this book explains technical building systems and engineering issues in a clear and accessible way to help interior designers communicate more effectively with architects, engineers, and contractors. Professional interior design is about much more than aesthetics and decorating, and technical knowledge is critical. Before the space is planned, the designer must consider the mechanical and electrical equipment, structural system, and building components, and how they impact the space. This book shows you how to evaluate these complex factors, and how each affects your work throughout the building. Consider how site conditions and structural systems affect interior design Design functionally for human health and safety Factor water, electrical, and thermal systems into your design plans Examine the ways in which lighting and acoustics affect the space The comfort, safety, and ultimate success of a project depend upon your knowledge of building system and your coordination with architects and engineers. Building Systems for Interior Designers, Third Edition provides the comprehensive yet focused information you need to excel at what you do best.
Call Number: arref TH6014 .B56 2016
Publication Date: 2016-01-19
Code Check HVAC by Redwood Kardon; Michael Casey; Douglas E. HansenThe Code Check series provides answers to all types of building code questions. The books are filled with essential information, yet are handy enough to take to the job site. Provides information on the requirements for heating, ventilation and air conditioning systems. It is cross-referenced to both the Uniform Mechanical Code and the International Residential Code.
Call Number: TH7687 .K37 2002
Publication Date: 2002-05-10
The Lighting Handbook, 10th Edition by David DiLaura (Editor); Kevin Houser (Editor); Richard Mistrick (Editor); Gary Steffy (Editor)The IES Lighting Handbook is an indispensable reference for anyone involved in lighting, including practitioners, designers, architects, and engineers. It is a compendium of what is known that directly relates to lighting and lighting design. This new edition provides a new illuminance determination procedure consisting of visual age-based illuminance ranges and mesopic adaptation. Much information is conveniently summarized in tablular format and exemplied with numerous four-color photographs and illustrations. There is in-depth coverage of sustainability practices: new chapters on daylighting, controls, sustainability, commissioning and energy management
Call Number: TK4161 .L53 2011
Publication Date: 2011-02-25
Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings by Walter T. Grondzik; Alison G. KwokThe definitive guide to the design of environmental control systems for buildings--now updated in its 13th Edition Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings is the most widely used text on the design of environmental control systems for buildings--helping students of architecture, architectural engineering, and construction understand what they need to know about building systems and controlling a building's environment. With over 2,200 drawings and photographs, this 13th Edition covers basic theory, preliminary building design guidelines, and detailed design procedure for buildings of all sizes. It also provides information on the latest technologies, emerging design trends, and updated codes. Presented in nine parts, Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings, Thirteenth Edition offers readers comprehensive coverage of: environmental resources; air quality; thermal, visual, and acoustic comfort; passive heating and cooling; water design and supply; daylighting and electric lighting; liquid and solid waste; and building noise control. This book also presents the latest information on fire protection, electrical systems; and elevator and escalator systems. This Thirteenth Edition features: Over 2,200 illustrations, with 200 new photographs and illustrations All-new coverage of high-performance building design Thoroughly revised references to codes and standards: ASHRAE, IES, USGBC (LEED), Living Building Challenge, WELL Building Standard, and more Updated offering of best-in-class ancillary materials for students and instructors available via the book's companion website Architect Registration Examination® (ARE®) style study questions available in the instructor's manual and student guide Mechanical and Electrical Equipment for Buildings, has been the industry standard reference that comprehensively covers all aspects of building systems for over 80 years. This Thirteenth Edition has evolved to reflect the ever-growing complexities of building design, and has maintained its relevance by allowing for the conversation to include "why" as well as "how to."