Online Resources:
Print Resources:
International Residential Code 2000 for One and Two Family Dwellings by
The 2000 International Residential Code brings uniformity to the construction of one- and two-family dwellings and townhouses. A comprehensive code for building design, this book brings together all building, plumbing, mechanical, and fuel gas provisions. It establishes minimum regulations using prescriptive provisions, and is founded on broad-based principles that make possible the use of materials and building designs.
Online Resources:
Applying the Building Code by
No other resource--not even the building code--presents the exact code information you need, when you need it at design stage The International Building Code (IBC) is a model building code developed by the International Code Council (ICC). The IBC and its complementary codes provide design and construction professionals with a complete set of comprehensive, coordinated building safety and fire prevention regulations in order to safeguard the public health and general welfare of the occupants of new and existing buildings and structures. Adopted throughout most of the United States and its territories, it is referenced by federal agencies, such as the General Services Administration, National Park Service, Department of State, U.S. Forest Service, and the Department of Defense. For architects and other design and construction professionals, it is particularly important that they understand how to apply the IBC and how code officials view buildings, so that they integrate code-required provisions in the earliest design stages of any project. Applying the IBC, as well as its companion codes, to building design is a process that is uniquely different to that of applying the building code during a planning review. Whereas other guide books explain the IBC in sequential order, from cover to cover, chapter by chapter, and section by section, Applying the Building Code explains the requirements of the IBC as they would apply during the common phases of design: from schematic design through to the preparation of construction documents. This effectively highlights applicable requirements of the building code at the appropriate stage of design based on available information. The book provides a 28-step process that is organized according to the three phases of architectural design: schematic design, design development, and construction documents Each step explains the application of the IBC, as well as other codes and standards referenced by the IBC (i.e. International Fire Code, International Energy Conservation Code, and ANSI A117.1) based on available project information Illustrations and examples are provided throughout that explain the code fundamentals associated with each step A single example project is used throughout the step-by-step process to illustrate how each step is applied and builds upon code and project information obtained through previous steps Guidance is also provided on the International Existing Building Code and how the step-by-step process is applied to projects involving existing buildings The role of the building department and its staff in regard to plan reviews and code enforcement is discussed A detailed code data information template is provided that can help organize code-related information for construction documents
The Codes Guidebook for Interiors by
THE INTERIOR CODES AND STANDARDS REFERENCE OF CHOICE FOR DESIGNERS AND ARCHITECTS--UPDATED FOR THE 2018 AND 2021 CODES If you are involved with the design or management of buildings and spaces, it is important to remain up-to-date on the ever-evolving codes and standards that keep communities safe. With over 80,000 copies sold, The Codes Guidebook for Interiors continues to provide comprehensive explanations of the major codes and standards applicable to commercial and residential interior projects. The easily navigable format gives clear perspective to how these often confusing concepts and requirements are integrated into real world practice, helping designers incorporate the relevant standards into their projects. Updated with the most recent changes and insights to the codes and standards of the ICC, NFPA, ANSI, ADA, and other standards, the Eighth Edition provides unparalleled and integrated guidance on building safety, accessibility, sustainability, energy efficiency, and more. Updates to the Eighth Edition include: Explanations of code requirements, highlighting the latest changes in the 2018 and 2021 ICC codes, including the International Building Code and the NFPA's Life Safety Code Clarifications to how and when the ADA, ABA and the ICC/ANSI accessibility requirements will apply to a project Introduction to the codes and standards that address sustainability in typical projects In-depth examinations of fire and smoke resistant assemblies, fire protection systems, and plumbing and mechanical requirements A companion website with printable study flashcards, instructor's manual, and PowerPoint slides for use in academic settings Digital and printable code checklists that can guide code research for professional projects and use in a design studio Current, practical, and relevant to nearly any interior or architectural project, The Codes Guidebook for Interiors provides invaluable insight and reference for both student and professional interior designers and architects.
Print Resources:
2015 International Building Code Illustrated Handbook by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. An easy-to-use visual guide to the 2015 International Building Code® Thoroughly revised to reflect the International Code Council's 2015 International Building Code®, this full-color guide makes it easy to understand and apply complex IBC® provisions and achieve compliance. With an emphasis on structural and fire- and life-safety requirements, this practical resource has been designed to save time and money. The 2015 International Building Code® Illustrated Handbook provides all the information you need to get construction jobs done right, on time, and up to the requirements of the 2015 IBC®. A suite of online bonus features accompanies the book, including publications related to earthquake safety and seismic design, articles by expert engineers on the latest structural material standards, articles from ICC's Building Safety Journal, and more. Achieve Full Compliance with the 2015 IBC®: Scope and Administration Definitions Use and Occupancy Classification Special Detailed Requirements Based on Use and Occupancy General Building Heights and Areas Types of Construction Fire and Smoke Protection Features Interior Finishes Fire Protection Systems Means of Egress Accessibility Interior Environment Exterior Walls Roof Assemblies and Rooftop Structures Structural Design Structural Tests and Special Inspections Soils and Foundations Concrete Masonry Steel Wood Glass and Glazing Gypsum Board and Plaster Plastic Plumbing Elevators and Conveying Systems Special Construction Encroachments in the Public Right-of-Way Safeguards During Construction Appendices
Building Codes Illustrated by
Dive into the history and application of the IBC Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to the 2015 International Building Code, Fifth Edition is a bestselling complement to the International Building Code, or IBC. Designed to give you an insider's look at the origins of the IBC, how it can be interpreted, and how it applies to design and construction, this updated text offers new information regarding hazmat occupancies, hospitals, and nursing homes, major changes to how building heights and areas are presented, as well as means of egress, and the latest information on building materials, interior environments, and structural provisions. Francis D.K. Ching's distinctive illustrations and the code expertise of Steven Winkel, FAIA, give students and professionals in architecture, interior design, construction, and engineering industries a user-friendly, easy-to-use guide to fundamentally understanding the 2015 IBC. Building codes and standards serve to establish minimum regulations that emphasize performance while prioritizing public health and safety. Updated every three years, the IBC is the most important reference that you can leverage throughout your career in architecture, design, or engineering. The IBC is a national 'model building code' which is adopted in some form by most building permit jurisdictions across the nation and in several foreign countries. Access the updated regulations reflected in the 2015 IBC Explore how the IBC was developed, and why it is an important component of so many industries Identify the areas of the IBC that have undergone the most change, such as the presentation of building heights and areas, along with changes to means of egress provisions Easily navigate and digest the information with full illustrations Building Codes Illustrated: A Guide to the 2015 International Building Code, Fifth Edition is a practical, fully illustrated reference that guides you through the latest in building code regulations.
The Codes Guidebook for Interiors by
The Interactive Resource Center is an online learning environment where instructors and students can access the tools they need to make efficient use of their time, while reinforcing and assessing their understanding of key concepts for successful understanding of the course. An access card with redemption code for the online Interactive Resource Center is included with all new, print copies or can be purchased separately. (***If you rent or purchase a used book with an access code, the access code may have been redeemed previously and you may have to purchase a new access code (ISBN: 9781118990179). The online Interactive Resource Center contains resources tied to the book, such as: Interactive Forms and Checklists Downloadable Bibliography Flashcards by chapter for focused learning Get up to speed on the latest codes with the complete reference for interiors. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors, Sixth Edition is the standards reference of choice for designers and architects, and the only guide devoted exclusively to codes applicable to interiors. With jargon-free explanations of all standards and regulations of concern to designers and architects, the book takes readers step-by-step through the codes relevant to each stage in the design process. The updated sixth edition features the latest information on fire codes, performance codes, building and finish standards, energy codes, and accessibility regulations, plus enhanced illustrations that clearly demonstrate how codes apply in real-life scenarios. Interior designers, architects, and facility managers need a basic understanding of the various codes involved with building interiors. These codes are updated on a continuous basis, and professionals must stay on top of new requirements and upcoming codes processes. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors is a complete reference, organized by stage for easy navigation, and comprehensive enough for use as a review for the NCIDQ and ARE exams. The sixth edition contains the most recent developments in interior codes and regulations, including: 2012 ICC codes, including the IBC, and ICC International Green Construction Code Coverage of changes to ADA standards and ICC/ASI accessibility requirements New standards, terminology, and federal regulations Updated information on sustainability as it relates to codes and regulations Having all applicable codes in a single resource saves hours of research time, and can dramatically reduce the potential for costly planning oversights. Whether renovation or new construction, small or large, codes apply to every project. The Codes Guidebook for Interiors provides designers with the comprehensive information they need to stay up-to-date.
2018 International Plumbing Code by
The IPC provides minimum regulations for plumbing facilities in terms of both performance and prescriptive objectives, and provides for the acceptance of new and innovative products, materials, and systems. Important changes include: Updated table for the Minimum Number of Required Plumbing Fixtures. Single-user toilet facilities (a room having a single water closet and a single lavatory) are not required to be labeled for use by only a male or female (separated use designations). Solar thermal water heating systems need to conform to the ICC 900/SRCC 300 standard. Well systems are required to comply with standard NGWA-01 where local requirements do not cover subject matter or are lacking in detail on others.
NFPA 70 : National Electrical Code 2020 by
Based on the 2020 National Electrical Code (NEC), the NATIONAL ELECTRICAL CODE 2020 softbound edition includes the most current requirements and emerging topics, such as renewable energy and energy storage, to help protect and build a safer world.
National electrical code handbook by
Adopted in all 50 states, the NEC is the benchmark for safe electrical design, installation, and inspection to protect people and property from electrical hazards.
The NEC addresses the installation of electrical conductors, equipment, and raceways; signaling and communications conductors, equipment, and raceways; and optical fiber cables and raceways in commercial, residential, and industrial occupancies.
ACI 318-14 Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete and Commentary
Wood Design Package 2005 by
The Wood Design Package 2005 contains the following publications: NDS for Wood Construction, Supplement: Design Values for Wood Construction, Special Design Provisions for Wind and Seismic (SDPWS) Standard with Commentary, ASD/LRFD Manual for Engineered Wood Construction, 2005 Edition The 2005 Edition of the National Design Specification for Wood Construction was approved as an American National Standard on January 6, 2005. The 2005 NDS was developed as a dual format specification incorporating design provisions for both allowable stress design (ASD) and load and resistance factor design (LRFD). The NDS is adopted in all model building codes in the U.S. and is used to design wood structures worldwide.
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account