LibGuides: Chemistry and Biochemistry: Handbooks and Encyclopedias

Handbooks and Encyclopedias

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (100th Edition) by John Rumble (Editor)
Call Number: Main Library Reference
ISBN: 9781138367296
Publication Date: 2019-06-07
In a world with access to unlimited amounts of data, how can users who need to make critical scientific and technical decisions find high quality, reliable data? Today, more than ever, the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics remains a hallmark of quality. For over 100 years, the Handbook has provided property data on chemical compounds and all physical particles that have been reported in the literature, carefully reviewed by subject experts. Every year older collections are updated with the latest values and new areas will be added as science progresses.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry by Robert A. Scott (Editor)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781119951438
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
The Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry has merged with the Handbook of Metalloproteins to form the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry (EIBC). EIBC incorporates all existing articles from both the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins, and will be updated.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry by William J. Lennarz (Editor-In-Chief); M. Daniel Lane (Editor-In-Chief); Wolfgang Baumeister (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780123786319
Publication Date: 2013-01-08
The 4-volume Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry, Second Edition, represents the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study. The Encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry, with content experts carefully chosen by the Editorial Board to assure both breadth and depth in its coverage. Each article in the work provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, written by experts, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researcher wishing to go into greater depth.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis by Leo A. Paquette (Editor-In-Chief); David Crich (Editor-In-Chief); Philip L. Fuchs (Editor-In-Chief); Gary A. Molander (Editor-In-Chief)
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780470017548
Contains a database of approximately 70,000 reactions and 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents. Fully searchable by structure and sub-structure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions, and keyword. Also includes a searchable interface: Acronym finder (an interface for Scientific and technical acronyms, symbols, and abbreviations).
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology is a comprehensive source for protocols and reviews covering essential and advanced experimental design, methods and analyses in all areas of molecular biology including the preparation and analysis of DNA, RNA and proteins, sequencing, genome editing, gene regulation and expression, chromatin assembly, and more.
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2020
Current Protocols in Nucleic Acid Chemistry is the comprehensive resource for detailed protocols related to the synthesis, modification, and analysis of modified and unmodified nucleosides, nucleotides, oligonucleotides, and nucleic acids.
The Merck Index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Call Number: RS51 .M4 2013
ISBN: 9781849736701
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9780841235830
Publication Date: 2020
The ACS Guide to Scholarly Communication provides students, researchers, educators, and librarians with the instruction and advice they need to master the art of scholarly communication. This Guide covers everything from classic journal authoring topics (now completely modernized) such as Organization of Your Article and Peer Review, to styling conventions needed for all scholarly communication, such as Chemical Nomenclature and Effective Writing and Word Usage, to emerging areas of interest in scholarly communication, including Open Access & Open Science, Sharing Data, Communicating Safety Information, and Preprints.” (Publisher’s description) Updated twice a year.