LibGuides: Community Health Nursing: International Resources

Demographic and General Country Information

US Census Bureau International Database
This database from the US Census Bureau includes the ability to generate tables that include data like demographic overview (includes fertility, mortality, population, migration status), maps visualizing this data, and country dashboards showing statistics and trends by location.
Global Health Data Exchange
Includes links to sites from multiple countries who publish their health data online. Google Translate may be needed as many sites are published in the language most widely spoken in that country.
Worldbank Health Data Portal
Explore data on many health indicators by world and by individual countries.
WorldBank
Below the search box, browse by country or by indicator. Browsing by country will provide general country information including Social, Economic, Environment, Institutions, Finance, Climate Change, and more.
Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation
Originally founded with a grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, IMHE provides country profiles and many city-specific profiles.
The World Factbook
Provided by the US CIA. Includes information on 266 countries on topics like Geography, People & Society, Environment, Economy, and more.
WorldBank Poverty Inequality Platform
Find country profiles based on economic and poverty indicators that can impact health outcomes. From this page, click "Data" (upper right of the page), select "Country Profiles," and enter your country name. On the page that displays your country's profile, there will also be information labeled "Poverty & Equity Brief" that provides even more information and statistics.

Health Expenditure Information

World Health Organization (WHO) Global Health Expenditure Database
Find data including government expenditure records and official statistics. Includes links to individual country profiles and primary health care country profiles.

Mortality Statistics

World Health Organization (WHO) Mortality Database
Explore data on all causes, communicable, maternal, perinatal, and nutritional conditions, noncommunicable diseases, injuries, and ill-defined diseases by country and year

Disparity Information

Data from the WHO Health Inequality Monitor
This data may be explored by topic, for example: reproductive, maternal, newborn and child health first and then by selecting specific countries.
WHO Fact Sheets
Includes general information on a number of health-related concerns, determinants, and conditions. Links to data resources and generally includes sections on at-risk populations, global impact, and WHO response.
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development
Includes searchable data with sections on health, population, finance, regions and cities, and health expenditure and financing. Under the heading of “Regions and Cities,” there is a category listed as “Regional Well-Being” that includes information about topics like air pollution, perception of corruption, homicide rates, access to the internet, and employments rates that could be useful for discovering disparities.
WHO Global Health Observatory
This resource from the World Health Organization can be searched by indicator, country, health topic, or data. It includes a Map Gallery that could be useful for visualizing locations where disparities are more significant.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Community Health Nursing

Demographic and General Country Information

Health Expenditure Information

Mortality Statistics

Disparity Information

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information