LibGuides: Government Information at Kent State University Libraries: Legislative Branch

Local Congressional District

Kent State University resides in Portage County, Ohio and has two Members of House of Representatives.

Emilia Sykes represents Ohio's 13th Congressional district.
Dave Joyce represents Ohio's 14th Congressional district. Rep. Joyce represents the main campus of Kent State University.

Legislative Branch Resources

Congress.gov
The Library of Congress hosts this site for congressional material. The legislative material goes back to at least 1989 with Public Laws available from 1973 to the present. Thomas also hosts the Congressional Record from 1995 to the present. Schedules for both houses of Congress are available as well.
Congressional Biographical Directory
This directory provides access to information about members of Congress, both past and present.
Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives
This is the official web site of the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives.
United States House of Representatives
This is the official web site of the U.S. House of Representatives.
United States Senate
This is the official web site of the United States Senate.
Congressional Record
This is the daily record of what happens in the House and Senate. This includes transcripts of what is said on the floors of the House and Sentate.

Library Resources

WestlawNext Campus Research
Provides full-text access to legal, news, and business-related research, including access to a number of Ohio newspapers such as the Toledo Blade and the Youngstown Vindicator.

Congressional Research Service Reports

The Congressional Research Service is part of the Library of Congress. The CRS publishes non-partisan reports on a wide vareity of topics requested by Members of Congress. There are several locations to find them:

everycrsreport.com is a third party that collects CRS Reports and hosts them on their website.
Congress.gov has an easy to use searchable website to find CRS reports relevant to your information needs.
Univeristy of North Texas has been collecting published CRS Reports for years. They have a sizable collection to search in.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Government Information at Kent State University Libraries: Legislative Branch

Local Congressional District

Legislative Branch Resources

Library Resources

Congressional Research Service Reports

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information