This site provides digital copies of 113 maps of Africa dating from the mid 16th to early 20th century. Included are thumbnail jpeg images with features such as zoom, pan, rotate, fit to window, and print. A descriptive bibliographic record accompanies each image.
The Atlas Nacional Interactivo de Mexico is a service of the Instituto de Geografía, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, the nation's largest and most influential center for geographic study. The Web site is only available in Spanish. The site provides a wide range of interactive current and historical maps of Mexico, as well as descriptions of the Institute's research, publications, and career opportunities. Maps can be scanned, zoomed, and printed.
267 historical maps from the 1910 Survey of Austria-Hungary are available to download (in jpeg format), zoom, and print. The site includes an index sheet of the general map of Central Europe (at a scale of 1:200 000). Data on the maps is also available. Though the site is primarily in Austrian, the data categories are also listed in English. Categories include Title, Current Name, Year, Relief, and Remarks. Unavailable map sheets are listed by number.
The Broer Map Collection includes historic maps and foreign language atlases from around the world along with road atlases from many eras. The maps range from the 16th through 20th century, with a focus on 19th and 20th century items. Maps can be searched by region, country, continent, or through the search engine. The site offers Google Earth so that certain historic maps can be compared from past to present. Images are offered in thumbnails that can be enlarged, with zoom, pan, and rotatio
This site contains over 8,000 historical maps including children's maps, national, state and local maps, maps of the world, Europe, Africa, and Asia. The site also allows users to create overlays representing current map changes.
Eastern European Maps. This site contains maps of the Austro-Hungarian Empire, German Empire, Balkans, Russian Empire, the Asian-Russian Empire, and Scandinavia. These maps were created in the late 1800s to early 1900s.
This resource includes maps from the 15th through 20th centuries, ending in the 1920s. Maps can be searched by author, date range, and land site, as well as in Hebrew. They can be viewed as a thumbnail, medium, or large image. To use the zoom feature, a MrSid plug-in is required.
This site offers international city and regional maps as well as country and world maps. Maps can be searched through each of these topics or though the site search engine. The collection includes maps ranging in date from the 16th through 19th centuries as well as three 17th century atlases. In addition to the usual zoom and pan features, this site also allows the user to clip parts of the image to view in a new window. The full library catalog record is listed with each image.