LibGuides: Music Databases: Databases

Finding Journal Articles

Best Bets for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Search for articles on class and popular music. Includes research articles, magazine articles, and reviews of recordings and performances.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (1967-Present only) This link opens in a new window
Includes references (most with abstracts) to scholarly writings, including books, articles, and dissertations from 1969 to the present in English and most European languages. Updated monthly.

Additional Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search for articles and special reports on topics related to education. Reports from government agencies (both state and federal) as well as professional organizations are included.
This resource is good for finding historical information on educational topics.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Find article citations from over 1,900 publications containing articles, essays, reviews, poems, fiction, photographs, paintings, and illustrations. Includes full text for hundreds of journals, books, and other publications.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Electronic archive of scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature.
RISM Musical Manuscripts after 1600 This link opens in a new window
Browse an annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Provides access to three multidisciplinary databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.

Dissertations

Best Bets

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of citations to dissertations and theses from around the world. Includes downloadable full text for most dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Coverage: 1861 to present.
Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (OhioLINK ETD Center) This link opens in a new window
Online theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students. Includes links to full-text.

Additional Resources

Doctoral Dissertations in Musicology This link opens in a new window
Search for citations to dissertations in musicology, musical theory, musicology, music education, and other music related disciplines. The full-text of the dissertations are not included.
WorldCat Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Access dissertations and theses available in OCLC member libraries. Many of these are available electronically, at no charge, directly from the publishing institution.

Digital Media

Audio

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming music collection. Includes classical music, historical recordings, Jazz, world music, and folk music.
Liner notes are available for some recordings.

Video

Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
View streaming video of current British theatre productions. Also contains behind-the-scenes documentaries and learning resources, including introductions, plot summaries, character biographies, relationship maps, language analysis, scene studies, performance backgrounds, and historical contexts.
Kanopy Streaming This link opens in a new window
View free films, videos, and documentaries with this by-request streaming video service for educational institutions. The Kanopy platform may not be supported on some devices, such as Chromebooks and mobile devices.
You must download the Kanopy App in order to stream videos on a mobile device.

Encyclopedias

Best Bets

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Locate the full text of encyclopedia entries on music from around the world.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search the full-text of the the Encyclopedia of Popular Music (4th ed.), Grove Music Online, the Oxford Companion to Music (2002 revision) and the Oxford Dictionary of Music (2nd ed. rev.).

Additional Resources

IPA Source This link opens in a new window
This resource is designed to assist educators and singers with language understanding and pronunciation.You can search by composer/author name or title.
Oxford Handbooks Online: Music This link opens in a new window
Reference e-books on the current scholarship of music research, including the areas of historical musicology, ethnomusicology, theory, pedagogy, dance, and technology.
Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Access ended June 30, 2024.
Searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials that are helpful when learning a new language.
Languages included: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish

Databases

Directory of Music Faculties This link opens in a new window
Database of music faculty in colleges and universities in the United States and Canada.
Daniels' Orchestral Music Online This link opens in a new window
Search for information on orchestral music. You can search by composer, title of piece, or instrument. The musical scores are not provided.
Gaylord Music Library Musician Necrology This link opens in a new window
An alphabetical list of musicians and composers who have died since the mid-1980s, giving full name, death date, and source of information.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
This resource is designed to assist educators and singers with language understanding and pronunciation.You can search by composer/author name or title.

Reviews & Critics

America's News This link opens in a new window
Complete electronic editions of more than 1,500 U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Read selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns, and other sources. Includes indexing and abstracts for national newspapers and full text television & radio news transcripts from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, and more.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Access news, investigations, opinion, photos, and video by the journalists of The New York Times.
Create a new NYT account:

Navigate to NYT pass page: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/verification/edupass

Click "Create Account and complete registration fields

Already have a NYT Account and need to renew:

Navigate to NYT pass page: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/verification/edupass

Click "Already have an account? Log in here"

Log in with existing NYT username / password.

Once you have your own NYT account, navigate directly to https://www.nytimes.com from your device (or download the app).
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Explore New York Times articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Music Databases: Databases

Performing Arts Library

Librarian for Music

Finding Journal Articles

Best Bets for Peer-Reviewed Articles

Additional Resources

Dissertations

Best Bets

Additional Resources

Digital Media

Audio

Video

Encyclopedias

Best Bets

Additional Resources

Databases

Reviews & Critics

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information