Music Online: American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
An online streaming music service featuring classical music works from the Medieval era through the present. Recordings can be located by browsing lists or by using a search engine, and users can create and save playlists.
Contains genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and others. This database includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat. Users can trace the history of a people's music by comparing the traditional styles with the modern interpretations offered in this database.
Comprehensive music research of all the world's peoples. Contains the full text of the 10 volume print encyclopedia. Each volume covers a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Articles include photographs of musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies. Also includes drawings, maps, and musical examples.
IPA Source is a large collection of IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet) transcriptions and literal translations of art songs and arias originally in Latin, French, Italian, German, and Spanish. IPA Now contains over 5,700 texts, including about 1,000 aria texts.
Jazz Music Library provides a comprehensive streaming audio collection of jazz music, featuring thousands of jazz performers from legendary record labels. The database provides tracks from the early ‘20s to the present, covering all major jazz genres including swing, vocal jazz, bebop, blues, big band music, contemporary jazz, and more. It currently provides streaming access to more than 130,000 tracks, with new recordings added monthly. Access available to Kent and Stark campuses only.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. For Kent State University, students and faculty now have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles.
Index to writings on classical and popular music, including scholarly and journalistic publications and reviews of books, recordings, and performances. Covers publications from 1979 to the present. Updated quarterly. See print edition for coverage of writings from 1949 to present.
Music Online: Listening Plus is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With almost 70,000 albums amounting to more than 7 million tracks available now and new titles added every month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Music Online: Listening Plus allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes 1,000,000+ tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World and Folk music. Liner notes are available for some recordings. Apple & Android mobile apps available - http://libguides.library.kent.edu/StreamingAudioApps.
Music Online: Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.
Provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated daily.
ERIC is a useful database for finding educational information from lots of different sources (journals, magazines, books, conferences, and governmental agencies). It contains resources dating back to 1966 and is helpful when conducting historical research in education.
Humanities International Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. This database is updated daily.
This resource offers fully searchable comprehensive bilingual dictionaries and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning languages. Currently includes Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish bilingual dictionaries.
Includes millions of searchable citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.
Provides access to three multidisciplinary databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Updated weekly.