LibGuides: Environmental Health Concepts in Public Health: Resources

Government Agencies

Partners in Information Access for the Public Health Workforce
"Helping the public health workforce find and use information effectively to improve and protect the public's health." A collaboration of U.S. government agencies, public health organizations and health sciences libraries.

Great resources on toxic substances and more!!

National Center for Environmental Health
CDC's program to maintain and improve the health of the American people by promoting a healthy environment and by preventing premature death and avoidable illness and disability caused by non-infectious, non-occupational environmental and related factors.
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
Serves the public by using the best science, taking responsive public health actions, and providing trusted health information to prevent harmful exposures and diseases related to toxic substances.
Ohio EPA
Look at resources listed under "Citizens and Educators" tab.

Research Databases

PubMed (MEDLINE) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed provides free, worldwide access to 35 million citations in all areas of the life sciences including but not limited to: medicine, nursing, biological sciences, veterinary medicine, dentistry, and much more. Accessing PubMed through this URL will provide links to online, full-text articles available through Kent State University Libraries subscriptions.

Check out the Literature Searching tab/page of the Literature Reviews library guide for database searching tips and tricks!

Help for Navigating TOXLINE in PubMed
How to use PubMed to locate toxicology resources.
PubAg
NEW!! Covers all of the core topics of the agricultural sciences including nutrition, food safety, food quality, animal and crop production and protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic and policy issues, agricultural imports and exports, agricultural statistics, extramural research, and extension education.
NAL Agricultural Thesaurus and Glossary
Use this to identify topical search terms for PubAg.

Gray Literature

Gray Literature 101
See the Gray Lit tab for great resources! From our colleagues at University of New Mexico Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center.

"Grey literature stands for manifold document types produced on all levels of government, academics, business and industry in print and electronic formats that are protected by intellectual property rights, of sufficient quality to be collected and preserved by libraries and institutional repositories, but not controlled by commercial publishers; i.e. where publishing is not the primary activity of the producing body."

12th International Conference on Grey Literature, 2010

Grey Literature Report
A publication of The New York Academy of Medicine Library.
Grey Matters
The Word file linked on this page lists oodles of resource sites! From the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health.

Disaster Resources

Disaster Lit
Database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost.
NLM's Disaster Information Management Research Center
Develops and provides access to health information resources and technology for disaster preparedness, response, and recovery.
CDC Health Studies Branch Publications
HSB conducts surveillance, rapid needs assessments, epidemiology studies, and provides training in disaster epidemiology to public health professionals.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Environmental Health Concepts in Public Health: Resources

Government Agencies

Research Databases

Gray Literature

Disaster Resources

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information