A site devoted to primary source material in American history. Information archived is from leading historical periodicals and books, and includes eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records.
Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from African American newspaper archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S
American Periodicals Series Online contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. Updated quarterly.
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages published between 1836 and 1922; some newspapers from Ohio are available. The site also includes directory information, including a link to library holdings, about American newspapers published from 1690 to the present.
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2012. Full-colour images, multiple search indexes, and the facility to browse each and every issue - all combine to offer a unique primary source covering the 19th and 20th centuries.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473 to 1700.
Consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas, Eighteenth Century Collections Online is the most ambitious single digitization project ever undertaken. Bearing witness to what many scholars consider the three most significant events in world history—The American Revolution, The French Revolution and The Industrial Revolution—this resource features full-text search capabilities, canonical titles of the period as well as contemporary works that analyze and debate those titles, and works by both well-known and lesser-known authors. From books and directories, to Bibles and sheet music, to sermons and pamphlets, Eighteenth Century Collections Online features a variety of materials to provide a critical tool for both faculty research and classroom use.
An index to European works relating to the Americas, which were written prior to 1750. The database is based on “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.”
Full-text archive of Harper's Weekly, a national publication during the American Civil War and Reconstruction eras. Contains illustrations, articles, advertisements, and editorials. Search by date, keyword, literature genre, and individuals' standing in society or occupation.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. For Kent State University, students and faculty now have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles.
Search for New York Times articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format. NOTE: if you are looking for current New York Times content, please consult LexisNexis Academic.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century, with archives releasing incrementally. Currently, this resource includes the following collections: British Politics and Society; European Literature 1790-1840 : the Corvey Collection; Asia and the West : Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; and British Theatre, Music, and Literature : High and Popular Culture.
Biographical source for Britain and the Commonwealth, as well as time periods in which other nations were British Colonies (such as the U.S.) Includes color portraits. Also indicates where the papers of an included individual are held.
Covers the years 1890-1982. Excellent source for locating articles written during a specific historical period. Publications covered are largely popular titles, such as Time and Newsweek. Search by topic.
The Sanborn Maps are large scale street plans produced by the Sanborn Fire Insurance company from 1867 to 1970. Sanborn Maps show the outline of each building including the location of windows and doors together with street names, street and sidewalk widths, property boundaries, building use, and house and block numbers. These maps are used by a wide range of researchers including local historians to locate and identify buildings and neighborhoods, urban historians to study the growth of towns a
Contains listings, summaries, and descriptions of news broadcasts found in the Vanderbilt University television news archive. Segments of the evening news as well as special broadcasts covering political conventions, presidential campaigns, international events, and more are included. Names of reporters, anchors, persons involved in an event, and a summary may be searched. Major networks covered are ABC, CBS, NBC and CNN, as well as ABC's Nightline since 1989.
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.