Finding Books and Dissertations

KentLINK
KentLINK is the library catalog for all 8 campuses of the University. It identifies what books, journals, government publications, and media (computer files, films, CDs, etc.) are owned and indicates their availability.

Use these resources to locate books, government documents and other resources on historical topics.

Please search the KentLINK first to see we have on your topic.

If you don't find enough resources on your topic or if a particular book you want is out, then search the OhioLINK catalog.

If the OhioLINK system has no available copies, then click on the SearchOhio link and your search will be placed in the SearchOhio system. Items found in OhioLINK or SearchOhio can be requested and sent to Kent State for you to pick-up.

Search WorldCat when you don't have any luck using the other three catalogs, but keep in mind that you will either need to go to the holding library to get those items or will need to request them via Interlibrary Loan (if they are circulating and not archival.)

OhioLINK Library Catalog
The OhioLINK Library Catalog is the database of all books and other materials owned by the 121 public and private colleges and universities that are OhioLINK member libraries. For any item not available at KSU, it is possible to request the item online and have it sent to any KSU library or another OhioLINK institution for pick up.
SearchOhio
a partnership of Ohio Public Libraries that works with OhioLINK to expand the materials available to both university and public library users.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
Worldwide union catalog created and maintained collectively by more than 9,000 member institutions. Contains records to over 100 million items in most (if not all) subject areas.

Finding Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global) This link opens in a new window
Search millions of citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day. Includes downloadable full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and some retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works.

E-Book Resources

ACLS Humanities E-Book This link opens in a new window
View full-text and full-page images for over 5,700 scholarly books covering most humanities disciplines and area studies.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Critical reviews of significant primary literature (1998-present) in the areas of biology, biomedicine, chemistry, physics, sociology, and related disciplines. Published yearly, this is the online, full-text version of the printed Annual Review of... series.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) This link opens in a new window
Browse electronic books from many academic disciplines.
Electronic Book Center (OhioLINK) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access thousands of scholarly and reference e-books in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
A collection of full text online reference books. Includes works in all disciplines.
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Browse millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
You must log in to have full access to the collection. Do so by selecting Kent State University from the drop-down menu and entering your FlashLine username and password.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains entries from over 100 major discipline-related dictionaries and other publications from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes the sciences, foreign languages, art and architecture, politics, business, literature and more.
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Read the full text of important scholarly e-books from Oxford University Press. Coverage includes both classic and newly-published works in the humanities, law, medicine, science, and social sciences.

Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 40,000 free full-text e-books in numerous formats, including HTML, EPUB, Kindle, and plain text.

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

HIST 32050 - Historical Research Methods: Finding Books and Dissertations