Earth Science: Reference Books & Writing Guides

In recent years, the focus in hydrogeologic investigations has expanded to include aquifer sustainability as part of resource evaluations. While there are other books on the subject, Field Hydrogeology: A Guide for Site Investigations and Report Preparationprovides the first integrated presentation of the American Society of Testing Materials (ASTM) standards, US Geological Survey (USGS), and US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) field techniques. It also includes access to a Web site that contains software for designing aquifer tests and aquifer-recharge experiments.

A thorough knowledge of geology is essential in the design and construction of infrastructures for transport, buildings and mining operations; while an understanding of geology is also crucial for those working in urban, territorial and environmental planning and in the prevention and mitigation of geohazards.

Geological Engineering provides an interpretation of the geological setting, integrating geological conditions into engineering design and construction, and provides engineering solutions that take into account both ground conditions and environment.

Biogeography represents one of the most complex and challenging aspects of macroevolutionary research, requiring input from both the earth and life sciences. Palaeogeographic reconstruction is frequently carried out by researchers with backgrounds in geology and palaeontology, who are less likely to be familiar with the latest biogeographic techniques: conversely, biogeographic methods are often devised by neontologists who may be less familiar with the fossil record, stratigraphy, and palaeogeography. Palaeogeography and Palaeobiogeography: Biodiversity in Space and Time bridges the gap between these two communities of researchers, who work on the same issues but typically use different types of data.

The quaternary sciences constitute a dynamic, multidisciplinary field of research that has been growing in scientific and societal importance in recent years. This branch of the Earth sciences links ancient prehistory to modern environments. Quaternary terrestrial sediments contain the fossil remains of existing species of flora and fauna, and their immediate predecessors. Quaternary science plays an integral part in such important issues for modern society as groundwater resources and contamination, sea level change, geologic hazards (earthquakes, volcanic eruptions, tsunamis), and soil erosion.

The Facts On File Dictionary of Earth Science, Revised Edition provides students and general readers with informative definitions in accessible language. More than 3,700 updated and expanded, cross-referenced entries, more than 300 of which are new, cover all aspects of Earth science: geomorphology, stratigraphy, mineralogy, petrology, climatology, oceanography, paleontology, hydrology, geophysics, cartography, surveying, and soil science. Key concepts in physics, chemistry, biology, and mathematics are also defined.

This unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The techniques of remote sensing and other tools of investigation that have advanced rapidly over the last few decades are described in detail.

Subjects from all branches and disciplines of geosciences are discussed: Applied Geology, Geotechnology/Geoengineering, Mineralogy, Hydrology, Mining and Rehabilitation, Meteorology, and Water and Waste Management; subjects which are closely related to Bachelor's or Master's degree studies. Texts are taken from various authentic material including advertisement brochures, scientific monographs or internet sources. Terminology is practiced through multiple tasks and interesting exercises. The book is meant for learning in classes as well as for self-study. A glossary and proposals for solutions are provided at the end of the book.

Much like the Chicago Manual of Style, The Manual of Scientific Style addresses all stylistic matters in the relevant disciplines of physical and biological science, medicine, health, and technology. It presents consistent guidelines for text, data, and g

The Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology and Ancient Environments, a companion volume to the recently-published Encyclopedia of World Climatology, provides the reader with an entry point to the rapidly expanding field of paleoclimatology the study of climates of the past. Highly interdisciplinary in nature, paleoclimatology integrates information from a broad array of disciplines in the geosciences, ranging from stratigraphy, geomorphology, glaciology, paleoecology, paleobotany to geochemistry and geophysics, among others.