LibGuides: Communication Studies Databases: Databases

Try These First

Communication and Mass Media Complete
Find articles on communication and mass media topics.
Communication Abstracts
Search for articles on a wide range of communication topics.
Topics include applied communication, interpersonal communication, mass communication, organizational communication, group communication, journalism, and public relations.
ComAbstracts
Search over 120,000 article and book abstracts in communications studies from 1915 to present.

Academic Search Complete
Access the full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering diverse academic areas of study.
Areas of study include social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.
Business Source Complete
Search articles from popular, scholarly, and trade publications. Subjects covered include management, economics, finance, accounting, and international business. Coverage: 1886 to present.
CQ Researcher
Access ended December 31, 2024.
Search a collection of reports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy from 1991 to the present.
Education Research Complete
Find articles on a wide range of educational topics, including research articles and practical articles.
Factiva
Search content from more than 20,000 news sources, including newspapers, TV transcripts, newswires, and business magazines.

Google Scholar
Use to search for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Includes articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Explore controversial issues from multiple perspectives. Includes viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Supports browsing by topic and keyword search.
APA PsycINFO (EBSCO Interface)
Search for academic articles, books, and dissertations in all areas of psychology and behavioral sciences. Contains full-text for some items. Coverage: 1800s to present.

SocINDEX
SocINDEX features more than 1,986,000 records with subject headings from a 19,600+ term sociological thesaurus sociology-specific thesaurus. Abstracts are included for more than 1,130 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895. In addition, there is coverage for more than 430 "priority" coverage journals as well as over 2,800 "selective" coverage journals. Indexing for books, monographs, conference papers, and other sources is included, and cited references are also provided. All subdiscipline

Identify the key concepts of your topic
Pick only the most important, distinct words or concepts to search

Topic: What is the affect of children being exposed to violence on TV?

Keywords: children violence TV
Make sure to search for the main concept or theory

Example: "affinity-seeking strategies" will retrieve fewer results than searching for "affinity-seeking"
Combine keywords with Boolean Operators (OR/AND)

OR for synonyms: tv OR television

AND for different concepts: television AND children
Use a truncation symbol (*) to find all words that start with the same root

For example, relation* will retrieve: relation, relations, relationships

Put it all together:

(children OR adolescents OR teenagers) and violen* and (tv OR television)