LibGuides: Creative Writing: Poetry: Stanza & Rhyme

Stanza

A group of three or more lines, usually with a fixed rhyme scheme, which is repeated more than once. Stanzas are used additively, unlike a one-time pattern of rhymed lines such as the sonnet, which is complete in fourteen lines (Kinzie, 1999).

Rhyme

The agreement of two metrically accented syllables and their terminal consonants. Rhymes can be either subtle (overshadowed by syntax) or definite (Kinzie, 1999).

Resources for Stanza & Rhyme

The Teachers and Writers Handbook of Poetic Forms by Ron Padgett (Editor)
ISBN: 0915924617
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
A reference guide to various forms of poetry with entries arranged in alphabetical order. Each entry defines the form and gives its history, examples, and suggestions for usage. For this second revised edition of the Handbook, 19 teaching poets have written 76 entries on traditional and modern poetic forms. The Handbook succinctly defines the forms, summarizes their histories, quotes good examples (both ancient and modern), and offers professional tricks of the trade on how to use each form.
The Making of a Poem by Mark Strand; Eavan Boland
ISBN: 0393321789
Publication Date: 2001-04-17
Intended for all those who love poetry, including teachers, readers, writers, and students, The Making of a Poem will be especially valued by those who feel that an understanding of form-sonnet, ballad, villanelle, sestina, etc.-would enhance their appreciation of poetry, but are daunted by the terms, the names, and the histories of various poetic forms. This anthology draws the reader in, by example and explanation, to the excitement and entertainment of these forms. It explains their origins, traces their development, and shows examples from the past and present. In a feature called "The form at a glance" the reader can try his or her own hand writing a particular form.
Merriam-Webster's Rhyming Dictionary by Merriam-Webster, Inc. Staff (Created by)
ISBN: 0877796416
Publication Date: 2007-06-01
"Based on Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary"--Cover.
New Rhyming Dictionary and Poets' Handbook by Burges Johnson
ISBN: 0062720147
Publication Date: 1991-09-25
A storehouse of rhymes and rhythms for poets--as handy a tool for a writer as a thesaurus.
Scholastic Dictionary of Synonyms, Antonyms, Homonyms by Scholastic, Inc. Staff
ISBN: 0439254159
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
This volume contains 12,000 synonyms, 10,000 antonyms, and 2,000 homonyms, making it an ideal reference tool for student writers.