Performing Arts Collections in Special Collections and Archives: Books/Journals

Books and Journals- Hints for Searching

Special Collections and Archives has significant holdings of books and journals related to the performing arts. If you need help locating materials of interest, please contact the department for in-depth assistance. Below are some sample searches that can be executed in KentLINK to view holdings in selected areas.

Sample Search 1: Theater journals in Special Collections

In KentLINK, perform a SUBJECT search on "theater -- periodicals" and limit your results to Special Collections by selecting it from the drop-down menu to the right of the search box. 

You can also perform an ADVANCED KEYWORD search on "theater", and limit your results to MAIN--Special Collections and by material type PERIODICAL/SER.

Sample Search 2: One-act plays in Special Collections

In KentLINK, perform a KEYWORD search on "one act play*" (the asterisk will locate alternate endings of the word "play") and limit your search results to Special Collections by selecting it from the drop-down menu to the right of the search box. 

Sample Search 3: Quick search for books on Hollywood and Hollywood stars in Special Collections

In KentLINK, perform a KEYWORD search on "Hollywood" and limit your search results to Special Collections by selecting it from the drop-down menu to the right of the search box.

Sample Search 4: Works about Mozart in Special Collections

In KentLINK, perform a SUBJECT search on "Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus" and limit your search results to Special Collections by selecting it from the drop-down menu to the right of the search box.

Sample Search 5: Dance-related books and journals in Special Collections

In KentLINK, perform a SUBJECT search on "dance" and limit your search results to Special Collections by selecting it from the drop-down menu to the right of the search box. This will give you a list of all items that include a subject heading starting with the term "dance."