Performing Arts Collections in Special Collections and Archives: Collection Descriptions

Archival Collections in the Performing Arts

Special Collections and Archives houses a large number of archival and manuscript collections in theater and performing arts. In the area of theater, there is a concentration of material related to the Open Theater as well as local and regional theater organizations and individuals. Additionally, the collection includes a vast archive of theater playbills and programs including programs for Kent State University theater productions, Porthouse Theatre, and the Kent/Blossom arts program. The collection also includes a very large archive of sheet music dating from the late nineteenth century through the twentieth century. The department has significant collections of Hollywood actors and movie star memorabilia including photographs, film stills, and posters.

For a full listing of archival collections held in these subject areas, please see our lists of collections in the Performing Arts and Music.

Books and Journals in the Performing Arts

Book holdings include significant material in the history of theater, published plays, and works on Hollywood, Broadway, and musical performances and performers. To view holdings in these areas, please perform a KentLINK search on desired topics and limit your results to holdings in Special Collections. Please contact the Department of Special Collections and Archives for in-depth help in searching our book and journal holdings in performing arts subject areas.

• For information on selected highlighted collections, please see the Archives Highlights tab of this guide.
• For some sample KentLINK searches for performing arts topics, please see the Books/Journals tab of this guide.