BMRT 21050 Fundamentals of Marketing Technology

Things to consider about Corporate Mission Statements:

• Not all companies – especially small companies – perform a formal strategic plan. 
• Small businesses may not publish a mission statement.
• It’s easier to find information about companies if their stock is traded on a public stock market.  It’s more difficult to find information about privately-owned companies.
• Companies that are owned by other companies are essentially privately-owned.  You may need to check the parent company for any information.

Try these resources to identify a company's Mission Statement:

• Visit the company website
• Read the company's annual report
  • Access the Mergent Online database
  • Use green menu tabs & select Annual Reports or Company Reports
• Read a MarketLine Report, if available
  • Access the Business Source Complete database
  • Scroll down search page and find a specific search box labeled Company/Entity; key in company name 

To build a SWOT analysis, review Industry Profiles, Company Profiles, and Competitor Profiles

Useful databases for Industry Profiles

• IBISWorld 

  Organized by NAICS code, offers lengthy research reports.
  Access is available for Kent Campus only. For assistance, contact your Subject Librarian

• Business Source Complete 

  Scroll down search page to search by NAICS and Document Type: Industry Overview

• Factiva 

  To obtain as Industry Snapshot, click on Companies/Markets > Industry. Select from Industry list.

Useful databases for Company & Competitor Profiles

• Factiva 

  To obtain a Company Snapshot, click on Companies/Markets > Company. Key the company name in the search box.

• Business Source Complete 

  Search company name and specify "CO Company Entity." Limit results by Document Type: Company Report

• Nexis Uni  

  Provides access to full-text newspapers (U.S. and some international), news wires, transcripts, and trade journals.

• Mergent Online / Investtext 

  Search reports written by analysts at investment banks, brokerage houses, and consulting firms. Reports cover financials and analysis on companies and select industries.

The RKMA Market Research Handbooks are downloadable market research handbooks covering the following market sectors: Casinos, Gaming & Wagering, Consumer Behavior, Entertainment, Media & Advertising, Healthcare Business, International Consumers, Leisure, Restaurant, Food & Beverage, Retail Business, Sports, Travel & Tourism. Each report breaks down into industry segments and covers market assessment, trends, demographics and more.

• Market Share Reporter Online 

  Search annual compilation of reported market share data on companies, products, and services.

• Mintel Market Research Reports 

  Provides research reports covering European, U.K., and U.S. consumer markets. The reports analyze market drivers, sizes and trends, market segmentation, along with consumer attitudes and purchasing habits.

Look for articles and information in the Business Source Complete database, the RKMA Market Research Handbooks, Mintel Market Research Reports database, and Market Research Reporter online.  

The Nexis Uni database has added ESG ratings.
According to the database:

"ESG stands for Environmental, Social and Corporate Governance. It is an approach to evaluating how well a corporation works towards social goals beyond maximizing profits for shareholders."

ESG ratings have become very important for shareholders because they provide information on the financial risks each ESG factor poses for the company. The ratings are helpful for investors to evaluate potential risks in business performance and to identify possible areas for internal improvement. However, it is essential to note that there can be some inconsistencies in ESG ratings depending on how the information was collected and evaluated. Also, when looking at the individual factors of ESG, environmental, social, and governance, it is important to note that different factors may be important to different companies. For example, a company like Tesla may care more about its environmental impact, therefore rating higher in the environmental section, and less about its social impact, scoring lower in that category. Shareholders may choose to look at each individual category and then the total ESG rating as a whole. In all, the higher the rating the better the company is performing related to each of these factors. 

For more information and how to access the ratings go to:  ESG Ratings on Nexis