LibGuides: Mark Twain Resources: Text Collections and Electronic Resources

Novels

Interestingly, a complete bibliography of Twain's works is nearly impossible to compile. Writing under several different pseudonyms and often in obscure regional newspapers, new material from him has been found as late as 2015. Here are printed copies of some of Mark Twain's novels available through the Kent Main Library:

The Adventures of Tom Sawyer, 135th Anniversary Edition by Mark Twain; Paul Baender (Editor); John C. Gerber (Foreword by); True W. Williams (Illustrator); Victor Fischer (Other Primary Creator); Richard A. Watson (Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: PS1305.A2 H43 2001
Publication Date: 2010
This is Mark Twain's first novel about Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn, and it has become one of the world's best-loved books. It is a fond reminiscence of life in Hannibal, Missouri, an evocation of Mark Twain's own boyhood along the banks of the Mississippi during the 1840s. This edition contains a selection of original documents by Mark Twain, including several letters.
The Annotated Huckleberry Finn by Michael Patrick Hearn (Editor); Mark Twain
Call Number: PS1305.A2 H43 2001
Publication Date: 2001
. First published in 1885, the book has delighted millions of readers, while simultaneously riling contemporary sensibilities, and is still banned in many schools and libraries. Now, Michael Patrick Hearn thoroughly reexamines the 116-year heritage of that archetypal American boy, Huck Finn, and follows his adventures along every bend of the mighty Mississippi River. Hearn's copious annotations draw on primary sources including the original manuscript, Twain's revisions and letters, and period accounts. 274 illustrations, two-color throughout.
Pudd'nhead Wilson and Those Extraordinary Twins by Mark Twain; Ron Powers (Introduction by)
Call Number: PS1317 .A1 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Featuring the brilliantly drawn Roxanna, a mulatto slave who suffers dire consequences after switching her infant son with her master’s baby, and the clever Pudd’nhead Wilson, an ostracized small-town lawyer, Twain’s darkly comic masterpiece is a provocative exploration of slavery and miscegenation.
Connecticut Yankee by Mark Twain
Call Number: PS1308 .A1 2018
Publication Date: 2018
This Norton Critical Edition includes: The first American edition (1889) of the novel, approved by Twain and published by his own company. All 220 original illustrations, bringing to life Twain's admiration for King Arthur, Merlin, and Camelot as well as his deep interest in time travel, technology, and political satire. Five contemporary critical assessments from American and British sources along with seven recent essays on the novel's major themes.
Mark Twain: a Tramp Abroad, Following the Equator, Other Travels (LOA #200) by Mark Twain; Roy Blount (Editor)
Call Number: PS1303 .B56 2010
Publication Date: 2010
It was as a humorous travel writer, in The Innocents Abroad and Roughing It, that Mark Twain first became widely known, and at the height of his career he returned to the genre in the works collected here. Twain's send-up of Old World customs as well as his critical dissections of Wagnerian opera and the German language are often interlaced with American reminiscences, whether in the form of an extended discourse on the language of blue jays or the recollection of an elaborate practical joke in Hannibal, Missouri.

Short Story Collections

The Short Works of Mark Twain by Peter Messent
Call Number: PS1338 .M48 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Between 1867, when The Celebrated Jumping Frog of Calaveras County and Other Sketches was published, and the appearance in 1906 of The $30,000 Bequest and Other Stories, seven major collections of short works appeared under the name Mark Twain. It has long been held that in most cases Twain had little to do with assembling these books, viewing them mainly as moneymaking ventures and leaving the work largely to others. In the first full and sustained study of the collections ever to appear, Peter Messent argues to the contrary.

Essay Collections

What Is Man? by Mark Twain; S. T. Joshi (Editor)
Call Number: PS1302 .J67 2009
Publication Date: 2009-01-30
Mark Twain is sometimes envisioned as a kind of nineteenth-century American offshoot of Voltaire. Like his French counterpart, he expressed a deeply felt indignation at religious hypocrisy and obscurantism, and peppered his satirical writings, especially in his later years, with stinging wit and iconoclastic fervor.
This unique collection assembles writings in which Twain views the multifarious claims of religion—metaphysical, moral, and political—with a skeptical eye.
Mark Twain and William James by Jason Gary Horn
Call Number: PS1342.P74 H67 1996
Publication Date: 1996
In Mark Twain and William James, Jason Gary Horn offers the first thorough investigation of the relationship between Mark Twain and William James, emphasizing Twain's friendship with James beyond their shared intellectual interests.
The Norton Anthology of World Literature by Martin Puchner (General Editor); Suzanne Conklin Akbari (Editor); Wiebke Denecke (Editor); Vinay Dharwadker (Editor); Barbara Fuchs (Editor); Caroline Levine (Editor); Pericles Lewis (Editor); Emily Wilson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
The Fourth Edition of the most trusted and widely used anthology of world literature retains and expands the most popular works from the last edition, while refreshing the anthology with NEW selections and NEW translations of major works. As always, the Norton provides hundreds of literary selections, helpful apparatus, beautiful illustrations, and a robust suite of digital resources

Electronic Resources

Here is a list of ebooks of Mark Twains novels available through KentLINK and Project Gutenberg:

Library Locations at the Kent Campus

Regional Campus Libraries

Mark Twain Resources

Novels

Short Story Collections

Essay Collections

Electronic Resources

Street Address

Mailing Address

Contact Us

Quick Links

Information