Black Lives Matter: Campus Resources

PAS 23002 BLACK EXPERIENCE II: 1865 TO PRESENT (DIVD) (KHUM) 3 CREDIT HOURS
Covers the Black Experience from 1865 to the present, including events, ideas and persons in Africa, North and South America, and the Caribbean.Prerequisite: none. Schedule Type: Lecture Contact Hours: 3 lecture Grade Mode: Standard Letter Attributes: Diversity Domestic, Kent Core Humanities, Transfer Module Humanities.

Counseling and Psychological Services- DeWeese Health Center

Support Groups

Student Mental Heath Coalition

Division of Mental Health and Substance Abuse

Association of American Colleges and Universities ( Truth , Racial Healing and Transformation)

Community and National Resources

Other

Ourselves, Black: Information about mental health promotion and positive coping as well as resources related to mental illness and treatment. Ourselves, Black provides relevant, current, and engaging mental health content and stories specifically routed in communities of color. 

Therapy for Black Girls: Therapy for Black Girls is an online space dedicated to encouraging the mental wellness of Black women and girls. You can follow TBG through their podcast and private community Facebook support group. They also provide a directory to connect women with culturally competent therapists. TBG holds free group support sessions weekly on Thursday nights at 7 p.m. EST.

Inclusive Therapists: The Inclusive Therapists database provides therapists with training for racial trauma and connects people of all identities, abilities, and bodies with culturally sensitive caregivers.

Mental Health First Aid: Supporting the Black Community as a Mental Aid First Aider

The Real Campus Mental-Health Crisis and New Models for Well-Being: Manage demand for counseling and stem students’ rising rates of distress by focusing on prevention.

The prevalence of anxiety and depression is rising across the country, particularly among young people. College students of all ages are more distressed than ever before, and increasing shares are enrolling with mental-health histories, in terms of diagnoses, treatment, and medication. But that is not the real campus mental-health crisis. The crisis is that the traditional model of providing services is broken. More and more overwhelmed students are seeking help, overwhelming their colleges. Even with growing staffs, counseling centers cannot keep up. Meanwhile, troubled students are left with unmet needs.

This Chronicle report explores how to handle the surging demand for mental-health services, fulfill legal obligations, and make well-being a campus-wide priority. The work of identifying problems and offering help can’t fall solely to the counseling center. The report shows how centers can expedite the intake process while expanding and clarifying options like teletherapy. And it examines how new facilities and resources — like meditation rooms, workshops, apps, and courses — can help students deal with underlying issues from loneliness to trauma, and to build resilience. Not all moves are costly. And providing that support creates the kind of environment where a diverse population of students can succeed, academically and otherwise.

Get the report and learn how to:

• Handle demand for counseling and get more students the help they need
• Identify options beyond individual therapy to suit different populations
• Interpret key legal issues related to mental illness and suicide
• Evaluate new resources to help students deal with common stressors
• Make students’ well-being a priority across the institution

• Black United Students (BUS)- seeks to serve and unify Black Students at Kent State University by providing a forum for discucssing and addressing their unique needs. 

Social Media:  Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/bus1968/     

Twitter: #Black @ Kent State: Black Kent State students share their experiences on Twitter

• Black Graduate Student Association (BGSA)- The purpose of the BGSA is to meet the academIc, professional, social needs of Black Graduate students at KSU.
• Kent African Students Association (KASA)- seeks to bring together people with a passionate love for Africa. Their mission is to educate Kent State Students about African culture and facilitate PanAfrican communication.
• Kupita/Transiciones (K/T)- a free program that includes a cultural orientation, transition experience and year-long mentoring program for newly admitted and transfer African American, Latinx, Hispanic, Native American and Multiracial students in mind. Spanning over the academic year, students will engage in activities to learn how to successfully navigate their college career by focusing on the cultural and social climate of Kent State University.​​​​​​ All students are welcome to join.
• Student Diversity Action Council-  From their website- " The Student Diversity Action Council (SDAC) is a student-led committee with the purpose of engaging students and student groups about diversity matters and providing a unique perspective to the Kent State Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI).
•  More Student Organizations-  Find more Kent State student  academic,  professional and cultural associations

Scholarships for Black and African American students

• Acel Moore Scholarship for Community Journalism

The National Association of Black Journalists provides this $3,000 scholarship to undergraduate and graduate journalism majors. Applications are due April 16.

• Agnes Jones Jackson Scholarship

Administered by the NAACP, this $2,000 scholarship exists for members who demonstrate financial need and maintain GPAs of 2.5 or higher. Applications are due in the spring.

• Blacks At Microsoft Scholarships

Microsoft provides two renewable $5,000 scholarships per year to African American, African, and Ethiopian learners who plan to study a STEM or business topic. Applications are due March 8.

• Center for Advancing Opportunity Undergraduate Research Scholarship

Administered via the Thurgood Marshall College Fund, this $75,000 scholarship exists for full-time students attending HBCUs who study an approved discipline. Applications are due February 3.

• David Porter Need-Based Diversity Scholarship

IES Abroad offers a $5,000 award to African American students who want to study abroad but lack the funds to do so. Applications are due May 1 and November 1.

• Dr. Nancy Foster Scholarship

This award, which gives preference to female minority students, is administered by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration and provides up to $42,000 annually. Applications are due December 17.

• George Washington Carver Scholarship

This academic fund supplies up to $10,000 to African American students enrolling in an approved subject at an HBCU. Applications are due in the spring.

• Hercules Scholarship

The Tom Joyner Foundation provides these awards to African American male high school graduates beginning their first year of studies at an HBCU. Scholarships offer a full ride, with applications due in the spring.

• NABA Scholarships

The National Association of Black Accountants provides 50 annual scholarships of up to $5,000 to African American learners working towards an accounting degree. Applications are due December 15.

• NBMBAA Graduate Merit Scholarship

The National Black MBA Association offers up to $10,000 per year to learners accepted to the University of Alabama’s MBA program. Applications are due January 31.

• Scholarship Guide for Black Students:

Comprehensive guide with a listing of national and  regional scholarships  for Black students.

• Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI): The Division of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) leads Kent State University's community effort to increase diverse representation, create and sustain equality of opportunity and intentionally foster an inclusive and equitable environment.
• Office of Compliance, Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action (EOAA): The mission of the Office of Compliance, EOAA is to ensure equal access to employment and educational opportunities in support of the university's commitment to equal opportunity, affirmative action, and diversity
• Pan-African Faculty & Staff Association (PAFSA) seeks to promote employment, participation in university affairs, and the intellectual contributions of the Pan-African community toward the growth and success of Kent State University.
• Women of Color Collective (WoCC) : The mission of the Women of Color Collective is to provide a platform which fosters the professional development, mental wellness, networking and personal growth of women-identifying faculty and staff of color at Kent State University and their allies
• Neal-Burnett, Angela. (Kent State Professor) (2020, June 10). How organizations can support the mental health of Black employees. (Article in the Harvard Business Review)