POL 30003: Political Economy

Kent State University Libraries provides access to a wide variety of news sources through the following links. To find news articles on your topic for this class, you can search individual newspapers for your topic or you can search our large newspaper databases. No matter how you want to go about it, below are links to Kent State Libraries subscriptions to various newspapers and newspaper databases.  

Broad American Newspaper Databases: 

These are very large newspaper databases that will search 100s of regional and local newspapers from across the United States.  

• Newsbank / America's News

• Newspaper Source

Search Individual Newspapers: 

Ohio Newspapers 

• Akron Beacon Journal

• Cleveland Plain Dealer

• Columbus Dispatch

• Daily Kent Stater Digital Archive 

  • You can also search the digital archives of the Kent State University student newspaper from 1926 to the present.  Depending on your topic, you might find article reporting on political economic issues that are highly related to KSU students. 

Large National Newspapers

• Chicago Tribune

• Los Angeles Times 

• Wall Street Journal 

• New York Times

  • Kent State Libraries has an institutional subscription to the New York Times. Please feel free to create a free account using your kent.edu email.  

It might be best to search some of our article databases for magazine articles on your topic, rather than searching individual titles.  The following databases are best to search for magazine articles on your topic.  

Academic Search Complete

ASC is a very broad multidisciplinary database that will include a lot of scholarly articles but it will also include a great deal of popular magazines as well.  Enter in your keywords related to your topic and then click search.  Once you get your results, limit your results to Magazines from the left-hand menu.  

MasterFILE Premiere  

Very similar to ASC, MasterFILE is broad multidisciplinary article database that has access to many popular magazines. Although, the content between these two databases will overlap, they do have some content that is different from each other.