Skip to Main Content

Online Course Reserves for Performing Arts Classes: MUS 62521: Music History II (Albrecht)

Welcome to the Performing Arts Library course page for MUS 62521: Music History II with instructor Dr. Theodore Albrecht. This page contains links to online sound recordings that are required listening. Sign-in required from off-campus. If encountering difficulties listening to audio tracks, update to the latest version of your Internet browser (click here for more troubleshooting ideas).

You may also listen to playlists of required listening on your personal computer or your mobile device (to download App search Google Play or iTunes App store for "Naxos Music Library"). Visit the Listen to Music Online guide for more details on logging into the mobile app. The following works are not available in the Naxos playlist, but are available on this page below:

  • Bach: Magnificat in D Major, BWV 243
  • Bach: Cantata 202, Weichet nur, betrübte Schatten"

ATTN FIREFOX USERS: Naxos Music Library is currently experiencing technical problems associated with Firefox browsers. So, please either use a different browser (e.g. Chrome, Safari or Internet Explorer) to listen to the recordings on this page, switch to the "Old Player" instead of the default "HTML5 Player" screen (step-by-step instructions), or access recordings using the playlist hosted in Naxos Music Library.

Quiz No. 1

Quiz No. 2

Quiz No. 3

Quiz No. 4

Recordings of the following are not available online, but are available in the Performing Arts Library (call numbers and links to library catalog records are listed after each title in parentheses):

  • Monteverdi: Vespers of 1610 - with Jurgens conducting (CD 322) [See above for link to version with Herreweghe conducting]
  • Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks (CD 416)
  • Bach: Christmas Oratorio (CD 356)
  • Bach: Suites (Overtures) Nos. 2 and 3 (CD 529 - CD 530)