Skip to main content

International Students Library Guide: Home

This guide contains information for international students on how to access library services.

International Students' LibGuide

        

Welcome to the International Students' library homepage. This page will give you information on how you can access library services, and other useful information that will aid in your studies here at Kent State University.

Calendar information

 

 undefined

International Education Week is a joint initiative of the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Department of Education and is aimed at promoting programs that prepare Americans for a global environment and attract future leaders from abroad to study, learn and exchange experiences in the United States. (United States Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs)

The 2017 International Education Week takes place November 13-17 and features an array of events and activities including: World Poetry Reading, a Cultural café (featuring Benin and Azerbaijan) and the International Cook-off. Click here for a full listing of Events.

Cultural Café

Come and improve your cultural literacy by attending the Cultural café events and learning about other cultures!! The Office of Global Education sponsors a series of Cultural Cafés that aim at educating faculty and staff about the home countries of our international students. During each Cultural Café, two international students from two different countries give a short presentation about their home countries.  Food from the two featured countries is also served. The two countries featured in  November's cultural café are Benin & Azerbaijan. This event is free and open to all and will be held on Wednesday, November 15 at the Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony, 3rd Floor, 4:00 to 5:30 pm.  Learn more at: https://www.kent.edu/globaleducation/event/cultural-cafe-azerbaijan-and-benin

                                 undefined

 

 

 

PAST CAFES

October Cultural Café

                                                                     undefined

September Cultural Café

 

 

Was held Wednesday, September 20 at the Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony, 3rd Floor, 4:00 to 5:00 pm. 

 

Searching Databases & Google Scholar

This workshop covers how to search databases and Google scholar.  The workshop will explore how to choose appropriate databases for your research and how to search these databases. Students will learn how to develop effective search strategies, enabling them to find the most relevant, useful resources. It will be offered on the dates and times below during the Fall semester. Please register online at: http://training.kent.edu/courses.php

Monday October 2, 2017 - 9:15am-10:30am- RM 152 Main Library

Monday October 30, 2017- 5:15pm - 6:30pm- RM 152 Main Library

You may also access additional information on your own through the following links:

  • KSU's library tutorials

  • Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL):  Writing in North American Higher Education context: A primer for International students.

    • This website is an introduction to the basics of academic writing for non-native speakers of English, who are also new to American colleges and universities.

 

Avoiding Plagiarism & Citation Basics

The Avoiding plagiarism section will cover definitions of plagiarism, the University policy on Plagiarism, and will teach strategies on how to avoid plagiarism, while the Citation Basics part  will explore the different citation styles (mainly APA and MLA) and  will also teach how to write your reference list or Bibliography. You will be given an opportunity to attend other sessions or to get extra help as needed. Please register online at: http://training.kent.edu/courses.php. This workshop will be offered on the following dates during the fall semester:

Thursday September 21, 2017 - 2:15pm- 3:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Monday October 9, 2017- 2:15pm- 2:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Friday October 20, 2017- 10:50am- 12:05pm- Main Library RM 152

Useful additional information on plagiarism  and Citation Basics can be accessed through the following links:

http://libguides.library.kent.edu/plagiarism

http://libguides.library.kent.edu/citationtools

 

MLA & APA Workshops

Workshops that cover each of the citation styles in detail will be offered on the following dates:

MLA

Tuesday September 26- 2:15pm-3:30pm- Main Library Room 152

Thursday October 19 - 2:15pm-3:30pm- Main Library RM 152

APA

Friday, September 29- 2:15pm-3:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Thursday, October 26- 5:15pm-6:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Additional information on the citation styles can be obtained thru the following links:

http://libguides.library.kent.edu/tutorials

http://libguides.library.kent.edu/apa

 

Citation Management

Organize your research! Citation Managers (Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote ) can help you: Organize citations & pdfs · Create instant bibliographies · Create a personal database of sources you have found · Format papers with in-text citations and bibliographies · Share your database with others · and more…. This workshop will be offered on the following dates:

Thursday September 9, 2017, 10:50am- 12:05pm- Main Library RM 152

Tuesday, October 24, 2017, 5:15-6:30pm- Main Library RM 152

Register online at:http://training.kent.edu/courses.php

Homecoming International Celebration

Friday October 13, 7- 9 pm

Kent Student Center Ballroom

 

  Wednesday  September 20, 2017

Cultural Café: Haiti & Pakistan

Wednesday April 12, 2017

Cultural Cafe: Japan & Scotland

Wednesday, April 12: Cultural Cafe. Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony, 4:00 to 5:00 pm. Featuring Japan and ScotlandJoin the Office of Global Education to learn about the history, culture and cuisine of two countries as presented by international students from those countries. Sample cuisine from the two countries during the intermission between the two presentations. Free and open to all.

 

March 11, 2017

 

 

Calling All International Teams

International student teams will compete for the Global JAM Championship in a series of elimination round match-ups leading to the winner-take-all championship game. Form a team with your fellow students and register to compete in the Global Jam Tournament. Deadline to register is Friday, 17. Team registration is limited, so don't delay. Register today!


Time: March 11, 2017
Location: Rec Center
Last Day to Register: February 17, 2017

 

 

MARCH 17, 2017

  • The Office of International Student Affairs and International Student Council (ISC) will be hosting the first International Talent and Fashion Show on Friday, March 17 at 5 p.m. in the Kent Student Center Ballroom
    • You can sign up to participate in this exciting event. You can be a model showcasing traditional clothing from your country, perform a talent, or both! 

      If you want to participate please complete this form no later than Monday, February 13 at 5 p.m. 
      Participants are required to attend a planning meeting on Friday, February 24 at 4 p.m. Location TBD. 

      If you have any questions please email ISCKentState@gmail.com
  •  

Support Groups- Psychological Services/ University Health Services 

Conquering Anxiety

Wednesdays 4pm- 5pm

Conference RM c- 2nd Floor - DeWeese Health Center

 

Empowering Students in Recovery

Tuesdays 6pm- 7:30pm

Room 208, 2nd Floor- DeWeese Health Center

 

The Art of Coping: Building Emotional Resilience- 6 Session Series Commitment

09:26:17-12:12:17

Tuesdays 4pm-5pm

Conference C- 2nd Floor- Deweese Health Center

 

International Student Group Meetings- PAST

 

                                               

 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT SUCCESS
 Discussions held on FRIDAYS, 4-5pm
February 3 — May 5, 2017
DeWeese Health Center, Conference Room A (Lower Level)

You are invited to attend meetings on Friday afternoons for improving your success at KSU!
We will speak about overcoming language challenge, balancing home and U.S. culture, fitting in, academic success, self-care and career skills.
Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, LPC
Events are free and confidential. For more information, contact 330-672-2487

 

PAST MEETINGS:

Dealing with Discrimination and Prejudice

FRIDAY, December 9th, 4-5 PM

DeWeese Health Center Conference Room A (Lower Level)

Meet students from around the world!

General topics may include adjustment, academic, social, language, and communication issues.

Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, M.S.

For more information, please contact (330) 672 -2487.

Ways to build a successful career

FRIDAY, December 2nd, 4-5 PM

DeWeese Health Center Conference Room A (Lower Level)

Meet students from around the world!

General topics may include adjustment, academic, social, language, and communication issues.

Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, M.S.

For more information, please contact (330) 672 -2487.

What to do for Thanksgiving and other holidays?

FRIDAY, November 18th, 4-5 PM

DeWeese Health Center Conference Room A (Lower Level)

Meet students from around the world!

General topics may include adjustment, academic, social, language, and communication issues.

Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, M.S.

For more information, please contact (330) 672 -2487.

How to Have Great Relationships?

FRIDAY, November 4th, 4-5 PM

DeWeese Health Center Conference Room A (Lower Level)

Meet students from around the world!

General topics may include adjustment, academic, social, language, and communication issues.

Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, M.S.

For more information, please contact (330) 672 -2487.

undefined

Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)

The SURE program funds promising undergraduate researchers for eight weeks over the summer to engage in faculty-supervised research.  The SURE program will support students with a $2,800 stipend and on-campus housing if needed. Faculty are provided with a $400 stipend to offset the cost of supplies/materials necessary for research. 

June 12, 2017 - August 4, 2017

Submit Applications from January 23 – March 1, 2017.

Sponsored by: Research and Sponsored Programs and Office of the President

Learn more: https://www.kent.edu/student_research/summer-undergraduate-research-experience

undefined

Mandatory for all incoming international students, the International Student Orientation will be held on Monday August 21, 2017, 8:30am- Noon at the Student Center Ballroom. Join the staff of the Office of Global Education and other speakers as they introduce you to your new life and home at Kent State. You will be provided with a wealth of useful, need-to-know information. Breakfast and lunch will be provided. Please bring your passport or student ID with you. To learn more and register, please click here.

 

 

Wednesday, May 10: International Graduation Reception. Kent Student Center Ballroom, 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm. International Graduates! Join us to celebrate your upcoming graduation with food, fun, and guest speaker, Raj Agarwal. Registration Required. Register before April 9 to receive a FREE graduation stole with an imprint of the name of your home country. Click here for more details.

 

This event took place on Thursday, January 26- 6pm-8pm        

Place: Library Fab Fourth- Main Library- 4th Floor     

 

FEBRUARY 7, 2017

FEBRUARY 9, 2017

 

 

FEBRUARY 10, 2017

  • International Women Group: Valentine's Day cookie decoration event.  The event will take place on February 10, 5:30 pm in room 307 of Student Center.  

 

FEBRUARY 17, 2017

  • Office of International Student Affairs and International Student Council invites you to attend the Saudi Cultural Night!  There will be free food and cultural presentation. 

 

This event took place  on Thursday, Jan 19th, 6-8pm at the Kent State University Library- First Floor- Quiet Study area

Office of Student Research

 

https://www.kent.edu/ugresearch/student-research-events

 

 

  • December 14. International Graduate Student Reception. Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony, 4:00 to 6:00 pm. The evening's guest speaker is former KSU international student Miao Liu, '03, M.SA '05. Plus, food, fun and surprises.

 

 

 

Check out various events scheduled campus wide in honor of International Education Week including:

Monday, November 14: Global Market Day. Kent Student Center Ballroom, 5 - 7pm.

November 14-18: 丰(豐)富 Fēngfù:  A Time of Abundance Selected Works -Quiet Study Lounge, University Library - Open during regular library hours.         

Tuesday, November 15: World Poetry Reading - Traveling Stanzas - College of Architecture & Environmental Design, Room 120- 7:30 pm to 8:30 pm

Wednesday, November 16: OGE Cultural Café- Peru and Ukraine, Kent Student Center, Room 306- 4:00 to 5:30 pm.

Thursday, November 17: International Cook-off Competition  2016- Six teams will prepare two recipes and compete for first place to win the International Cook Off. The teams are Bangladesh, Brazil, Nepal, India, South Korea and Saudi Arabia. The winner will be chosen by 3 judges and the Crowd Favorite will be chosen by the electronic votes cast via text by the audience, who will be sampling the dishes. -Kent Student Center Ballroom, 6:30 - 8:30 pm.

Learn more / see a full listing of events at:

https://www.kent.edu/globaleducation/iew2016

The library’s theme- Explore the world-  features a display in the lobby with flags and statistics on our international students; and a table where students can learn about the resources we have related to international travel such as e-books, pocket guides, as well as print books. They can also play the vexillology game, and view a demo of the Global Warrior Database which we currently have on trial offer, or try it out on your own at: http://www.globalroadwarrior.com/directclient_index2.asp?c=kentstateuniversity

 

International Cook-off Competition

 

 

Part of the Events featured during International Education Week- the International Cook off Competition features six teams from Bangladesh, Brazil, Nepal, India, South Korea and Saudi Arabia. The teams will prepare two recipes and compete for first place to win the International Cook Off. The winner will be chosen by 3 judges and the Crowd Favorite will be chosen by the electronic votes cast via text by the audience, who will be sampling the dishes. -Kent Student Center Ballroom, 6:30 - 8:30 pm.

Learn more: https://www.kent.edu/globaleducation/2016cookoff

October Cultural Café-  Colombia & Honduras

                                           

The Office of Global Education sponsors a series of Cultural Cafés that aim at educating faculty and staff about the home countries of our international students. During each Cultural Café, two international students from the featured countries give a short presentation about their home country.  Food from the two featured countries is also served. October’s cultural café features Colombia and Honduras. The event will be held on Wednesday, October 26 , 4pm – 5pm at the Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony. Please see  link below for more info. No registration is required.

https://www.kent.edu/globaleducation/cultural-caf%C3%A9

 

 

 

 

 

 

Loading

Who Is my Librarian?

Find your subject librarian and how to contact them via e-mail, on the list at the link below. Subject librarians are available to help you with your research, doing one on one consultations and generally provide group library instruction specifically in your subject area.

Subject Librarians

Find a Librarian who speaks your Language

 

More Languages .....Coming soon....