First, know the title of the song collection OR the song title, the composer/arranger, and the musical title. Need help identifying this information? Look at one of the indexes listed on the Using Song Indexes page.
Would you prefer to browse our collections? Visit the Browsing Musical Songs page and find call numbers to look through our collection or subject headings to search online. You may also peruse a selected list of our musical song anthologies.
Below are general call number ranges. More about call numbers at the Library of Congress Classification page. For tips on searching for other music items in KentLINK, consult the Finding Library Items guide.
| M1500 | full scores of musicals |
| M1503 | vocal scores of musicals |
| M1507 | song collections -- musicals |
| M1508 | songs -- musicals |
| M1630.18 | popular song collections |
| ML128 | song indexes |
|
Musicals -- Vocal scores with piano Musicals -- Excerpts -- Vocal scores with piano |
Songs (High voice) with piano* |
*Piano is used for purposes of illustration; may also use guitar, harp, orchestra, organ, etc.
Often song titles included in anthologies are not listed individually in catalog records, which means you will not find them doing a keyword search in KentLINK (see ex. -30 Years--30 Hits). Song indexes include lists of songs – sometimes arranged by title, sometimes by composer, sometimes both – and provide cross-references for the anthologies/collections that include the song.
To identify song titles in collections, start with the indexes below. Online indexes are more up-to-date and comprehensive than print. Look up the song by title, composer, first line, or whatever you have. A code represents the anthologies that have that song. When you identify the collection, search for it in KentLINK. Remember, if KSU doesn’t own the collection, search OhioLINK, SearchOhio or submit an InterLibrary Loan request.
All titles are available in the Performing Arts Library. Reference titles (“Ref.”) are non-circulating and are located in the Performing Arts Library Reading Room.
Note: Reference titles ("Ref") are non-circulating and are located in the Performing Arts Library Reading Room.
Today's Hours: 
Ask Us
My Library Account