Skip to main content

International Students Library Guide: Home

This guide contains information for international students on how to access library services.

International Students' LibGuide

        

Welcome to the International Students' library homepage. This page will give you information on how you can access library services, and other useful information that will aid in your studies here at Kent State University.

Calendar information

undefined

 

Mandatory for all incoming international students, the International Student Orientation will be held on Monday August 21, 2017, 8:30am- Noon at the Student Center Ballroom. Join the staff of the Office of Global Education and other speakers as they introduce you to your new life and home at Kent State. You will be provided with a wealth of useful, need-to-know information. Breakfast and lunch will be provided. Please bring your passport or student ID with you. To learn more and register, please click here.

 

undefined

 

 A related event, the International Student Resource Fair will be held on Tuesday August 22, 1:00pm - 4:00pm at the Student Center on the  2nd Floor Mezzanine. Come learn about the numerous resources available on campus. Discover offices, organizations and groups that can help you and meet their staff. Please be sure to visit the University Libraries table and learn about the resources and services available to you at Kent State University Libraries.

 

undefined

 

The International Students' Reception Dinner will take place on Thursday September 14, 6pm-8pm at the University Library, 4th Floor. This event is free to all incoming international students and their families:

Free Food: Come join other incoming international students and their families and socialize over dinner.

Socialize: Come and make new friends and learn about other cultures from around the world.

Advice/Experiences: Come and hear from a panel of four international students about their experiences here at KSU

Academics: Come and learn about library resources and services and how we can help you succeed in your studies here at KSU.

Register online at: http://www.library.kent.edu/events/day/2017-09-14/international-student-reception

Summer Undergraduate Research Experience (SURE)

The SURE program funds promising undergraduate researchers for eight weeks over the summer to engage in faculty-supervised research.  The SURE program will support students with a $2,800 stipend and on-campus housing if needed. Faculty are provided with a $400 stipend to offset the cost of supplies/materials necessary for research. 

June 12, 2017 - August 4, 2017

Submit Applications from January 23 – March 1, 2017.

Sponsored by: Research and Sponsored Programs and Office of the President

Learn more: https://www.kent.edu/student_research/summer-undergraduate-research-experience

 Check back in starting August 2017 for Fall semester Events!

 

Wednesday April 12, 2017

Cultural Cafe: Japan & Scotland

Wednesday, April 12: Cultural Cafe. Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony, 4:00 to 5:00 pm. Featuring Japan and ScotlandJoin the Office of Global Education to learn about the history, culture and cuisine of two countries as presented by international students from those countries. Sample cuisine from the two countries during the intermission between the two presentations. Free and open to all.

 

March 11, 2017

 

 

Calling All International Teams

International student teams will compete for the Global JAM Championship in a series of elimination round match-ups leading to the winner-take-all championship game. Form a team with your fellow students and register to compete in the Global Jam Tournament. Deadline to register is Friday, 17. Team registration is limited, so don't delay. Register today!


Time: March 11, 2017
Location: Rec Center
Last Day to Register: February 17, 2017

 

 

MARCH 17, 2017

  • The Office of International Student Affairs and International Student Council (ISC) will be hosting the first International Talent and Fashion Show on Friday, March 17 at 5 p.m. in the Kent Student Center Ballroom
    • You can sign up to participate in this exciting event. You can be a model showcasing traditional clothing from your country, perform a talent, or both! 

      If you want to participate please complete this form no later than Monday, February 13 at 5 p.m. 
      Participants are required to attend a planning meeting on Friday, February 24 at 4 p.m. Location TBD. 

      If you have any questions please email ISCKentState@gmail.com
  •  

 ************************* Check back in August 2017 for Fall semester Library workshops***************

 

 

 

Searching Databases & Google Scholar

This workshop covers how to search databases and Google scholar.  The workshop will explore how to choose appropriate databases for your research and how to search these databases. Students will learn how to develop effective search strategies, enabling them to find the most relevant, useful resources. It will be offered on the dates and times below during the Spring semester. Please register online at: http://training.kent.edu/courses.php

 Monday, February 20, 9:15am-10:30am -RM 152

& Monday March 20, 10:50am-12:05pm -RM 152

You may also access additional information on your own through the following links:

  • KSU's library tutorials

  • Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL):  Writing in North American Higher Education context: A primer for International students.

    • This website is an introduction to the basics of academic writing for non-native speakers of English, who are also new to American colleges and universities.

Avoiding Plagiarism

This workshop will cover: definitions of plagiarism, the University policy on Plagiarism, and will teach strategies on how to avoid plagiarism. It will be offered in the library on the following dates and times:

Please register online at: http://training.kent.edu/courses.php

Monday, February 27, 2:15pm- 3:30pm- RM 152

Thursday, March 16, 5:15pm- 6:30pm- RM 152

Tuesday, April 18, 10:50am-12:05pm- RM 152

Useful additional information on plagiarism can be accessed through the following links:

Citation Basics

The Citation Basics workshops will explore the different citation styles (mainly APA and MLA) and  will also teach how to write your reference list or Bibliography. You will be given an opportunity to attend other sessions or to get extra help as needed.

Thursday, February 9, 2:15pm- 3:30pm-  Rm 152

Friday, March 10, 10:50am- 12:05pm- RM 152

Citation Management

Organize your research! Citation Managers (Zotero, Mendeley, RefWorks, and EndNote ) can help you: Organize citations & pdfs · Create instant bibliographies · Create a personal database of sources you have found · Format papers with in-text citations and bibliographies · Share your database with others · and more….

Thursday February 16, 10:50am-12:05pm- Rm 152

Tuesday, March 14, 10:50am-12:05pm- RM 152

Register online at:http://training.kent.edu/courses.php

 We will resume in August 2017 for the Fall semester. Please check back at that time.

 

 

International Student Group Meetings

 

                                               

 

INTERNATIONAL STUDENT SUCCESS
 Discussions held on FRIDAYS, 4-5pm
February 3 — May 5, 2017
DeWeese Health Center, Conference Room A (Lower Level)

You are invited to attend meetings on Friday afternoons for improving your success at KSU!
We will speak about overcoming language challenge, balancing home and U.S. culture, fitting in, academic success, self-care and career skills.
Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, LPC
Events are free and confidential. For more information, contact 330-672-2487

 

PAST MEETINGS:

Dealing with Discrimination and Prejudice

FRIDAY, December 9th, 4-5 PM

DeWeese Health Center Conference Room A (Lower Level)

Meet students from around the world!

General topics may include adjustment, academic, social, language, and communication issues.

Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, M.S.

For more information, please contact (330) 672 -2487.

Ways to build a successful career

FRIDAY, December 2nd, 4-5 PM

DeWeese Health Center Conference Room A (Lower Level)

Meet students from around the world!

General topics may include adjustment, academic, social, language, and communication issues.

Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, M.S.

For more information, please contact (330) 672 -2487.

What to do for Thanksgiving and other holidays?

FRIDAY, November 18th, 4-5 PM

DeWeese Health Center Conference Room A (Lower Level)

Meet students from around the world!

General topics may include adjustment, academic, social, language, and communication issues.

Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, M.S.

For more information, please contact (330) 672 -2487.

How to Have Great Relationships?

FRIDAY, November 4th, 4-5 PM

DeWeese Health Center Conference Room A (Lower Level)

Meet students from around the world!

General topics may include adjustment, academic, social, language, and communication issues.

Led by Jayita Datta, Psy.D. and Heike Mitchell, M.S.

For more information, please contact (330) 672 -2487.

This event takes place at the Writing Commons in the library on the 4th floor. The schedule for the Spring 2017 Semester is as follows:

 

 

Mondays, 1:00-2:00 PM


Tuesdays, 1:00 –2:00 PM


 

 

No RSVP or Appointment necessary! Join us for casual group conversation to practice English Skills, meet friends and learn about other cultures.

For more information contact:

Phone Number: 330-672-1787

Email: writing@kent.edu

Location: Library 4th Floor

www.kent.edu/writingcommons

 

Wednesday, May 10: International Graduation Reception. Kent Student Center Ballroom, 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm. International Graduates! Join us to celebrate your upcoming graduation with food, fun, and guest speaker, Raj Agarwal. Registration Required. Register before April 9 to receive a FREE graduation stole with an imprint of the name of your home country. Click here for more details.

 

 

 

 

 

This event took place on Thursday, January 26- 6pm-8pm        

Place: Library Fab Fourth- Main Library- 4th Floor     

 

FEBRUARY 7, 2017

FEBRUARY 9, 2017

 

 

FEBRUARY 10, 2017

  • International Women Group: Valentine's Day cookie decoration event.  The event will take place on February 10, 5:30 pm in room 307 of Student Center.  

 

FEBRUARY 17, 2017

  • Office of International Student Affairs and International Student Council invites you to attend the Saudi Cultural Night!  There will be free food and cultural presentation. 

 

This event took place  on Thursday, Jan 19th, 6-8pm at the Kent State University Library- First Floor- Quiet Study area

Office of Student Research

 

https://www.kent.edu/ugresearch/student-research-events

 

 

  • December 14. International Graduate Student Reception. Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony, 4:00 to 6:00 pm. The evening's guest speaker is former KSU international student Miao Liu, '03, M.SA '05. Plus, food, fun and surprises.

 

 

 

Check out various events scheduled campus wide in honor of International Education Week including:

Monday, November 14: Global Market Day. Kent Student Center Ballroom, 5 - 7pm.

November 14-18: 丰(豐)富 Fēngfù:  A Time of Abundance Selected Works -Quiet Study Lounge, University Library - Open during regular library hours.         

Tuesday, November 15: World Poetry Reading - Traveling Stanzas - College of Architecture & Environmental Design, Room 120- 7:30 pm to 8:30 pm

Wednesday, November 16: OGE Cultural Café- Peru and Ukraine, Kent Student Center, Room 306- 4:00 to 5:30 pm.

Thursday, November 17: International Cook-off Competition  2016- Six teams will prepare two recipes and compete for first place to win the International Cook Off. The teams are Bangladesh, Brazil, Nepal, India, South Korea and Saudi Arabia. The winner will be chosen by 3 judges and the Crowd Favorite will be chosen by the electronic votes cast via text by the audience, who will be sampling the dishes. -Kent Student Center Ballroom, 6:30 - 8:30 pm.

Learn more / see a full listing of events at:

https://www.kent.edu/globaleducation/iew2016

The library’s theme- Explore the world-  features a display in the lobby with flags and statistics on our international students; and a table where students can learn about the resources we have related to international travel such as e-books, pocket guides, as well as print books. They can also play the vexillology game, and view a demo of the Global Warrior Database which we currently have on trial offer, or try it out on your own at: http://www.globalroadwarrior.com/directclient_index2.asp?c=kentstateuniversity

 

International Cook-off Competition

 

 

Part of the Events featured during International Education Week- the International Cook off Competition features six teams from Bangladesh, Brazil, Nepal, India, South Korea and Saudi Arabia. The teams will prepare two recipes and compete for first place to win the International Cook Off. The winner will be chosen by 3 judges and the Crowd Favorite will be chosen by the electronic votes cast via text by the audience, who will be sampling the dishes. -Kent Student Center Ballroom, 6:30 - 8:30 pm.

Learn more: https://www.kent.edu/globaleducation/2016cookoff

October Cultural Café-  Colombia & Honduras

                                           

The Office of Global Education sponsors a series of Cultural Cafés that aim at educating faculty and staff about the home countries of our international students. During each Cultural Café, two international students from the featured countries give a short presentation about their home country.  Food from the two featured countries is also served. October’s cultural café features Colombia and Honduras. The event will be held on Wednesday, October 26 , 4pm – 5pm at the Kent Student Center Ballroom Balcony. Please see  link below for more info. No registration is required.

https://www.kent.edu/globaleducation/cultural-caf%C3%A9

 

International Students Career  Workshops and Networking Event

Date: Monday October 24, 2016

Time: 8am- 4:30pm

Location: Kent State Student Center

Career Services  partnered with Global Cleveland, LaunchNet, the Office of Global Education, the School of Digital Sciences and Kent State International Mentors to host a unique career focused event for international students at Kent State University. International students are encouraged to attend this workshop series and networking event to prepare for seeking full-time, part-time, internship/co-op, and on-campus student employment. 

International Student Workshops

International Students' Reception Dinner - Fall 2016

 

 

This event took place on Thursday September 15, 2016,  4:00pm - 6:00pm at the University Library Fab 4th fl.

International students and their families.socialized over dinner and had a chance to hear about library services and also hear from a panel of 4 senior and graduate international students about their experiences at Kent State.

 

International Students' Orientation- Fall 2016

 

Combined with the Graduate Student Orientation, the International Student Orientation Fall 2016 took place on Tuesday August 24 in the Ballroom, Kent Student Center. After the morning session and lunch break, the Resource Fair will follow between 12:00-2:00 PM on the second floor of Student Center (by the windows).

- Visit the University Libraries Table and see what library resources are available to you

- Sign up for workshops:

- Searching Databases and Google Scholar

-Plagiarism Workshop-

-Citation basics and Citation Management

International Student Reception- Spring 2016

This event took place at the University Library 4th Floor on Thursday, February 11th at 4:30pm- 6:30pm.

Join us at the Library and socialize over dinner with fellow international students and their families. Please register at: bit.ly/Feb11_2016_IntRec. (Earn 100 FLASHperk points!)

International Students' Orientation

The International Student Orientation Spring 2016 took place on Thursday, January 14th, 2016 in the Ballroom, Kent Student Center. After the morning session and lunch break, the Resource Fair will follow between 2:30-4:00 PM on the second floor of Student Center (by the windows).

- Visit the University Libraries Table and see what library resources are available to you

- Sign up for workshops:

-Plagiarism Workshop

-Introduction to Library Resources and Services

-Citation management Software and tools

The International Cook-off Competition is part of the events scheduled for the  International Education Week from Nov. 15-20.  The Cook-Off Competition took place on Thursday, Nov. 19, from 6:30-8:30 p.m. in the Kent Student Center Ballroom. The cook-off is hosted by the Office of Global Education along with Kent State’s Dining Services, and will feature food and drinks from around the world. This year’s event will be Kent State’s sixth annual International Cook-off. 

Date: Thursday, Nov. 19, 2015

Time: 6:30-8:30pm

International Cook-off Competition.

 

International Student Reception

This event took place on Thursday September 10, 2015 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm at the University library Fab 4th floor. Join us at the library and socialize over dinner with fellow international students and their families.

 

International Students' Orientation

This event took place  Monday August 24th, 2015. Please visit the library table and get more information on KSU libraries and the services we offer.

Time and Place--  KSU Ballroom- 2:30 PM-5:00PM

 

 

 

 

Loading

Who Is my Librarian?

Find your subject librarian and how to contact them via e-mail, on the list at the link below. Subject librarians are available to help you with your research, doing one on one consultations and generally provide group library instruction specifically in your subject area.

Subject Librarians

Find a Librarian who speaks your Language

 

More Languages .....Coming soon....