LibGuides: Library Tutorials: Home

Library Tutorials

Introduction to University Libraries (6:22)
Provides an overview of the Kent State University Libraries' resources and services.
KentLINK and OhioLINK (6:41)
This tutorial will cover the basics of searching the Kent State University Libraries' online catalog, KentLINK, as well as the statewide catalog, OhioLINK.
Basic Search Strategies (6:01)
Introduces basic search strategies that you can use to right size your topic, select appropriate keywords, and combine search terms effectively in library catalogs and research databases.
Evaluating Information on the Web (7:51)
Covers approaches and strategies to evaluating information found on the public web, giving special attention to issues of authorship, accuracy and currency.
Connect from Off-Campus: Using KSU Proxy (1:50)
This brief tutorial will demonstrate how to connect to University Libraries' many online subscriptions from off -campus. This includes databases, e-journals, e-books and streaming media.

Discovery@KentState #1: Getting Started (3:06)
Learn about the content scope and the basic limiting options of the Discovery@Kent State research tool.
Discovery@KentState #2: Finding Books and Ebooks (3:47)
In this tutorial learn how to locate books and ebooks that appear in your Discovery@KentState search results.
Discovery@KentState #3: Finding the Full Text of Articles (4:48)
In this tutorial learn how to find the full text of articles in the library's databases.
Discovery@KentState #4: Saving and Emailing Citations (5:20)
In this tutorial learn about the options for saving and emailing your full text and citations in the database.

MLA Style 9th Edition: Module 1- Style Basics (7:05)
Covers the basics of the MLA 8th edition, including its overall scope, how to format your research paper, and how to format the layout of a Works Cited page.
MLA Style 9th Edition: Module 2- In-Text Citation (6:59)
Covers how to cite sources within your text following MLA Style 8th edition guidelines.
MLA Style 9th Edition: Module 3- Works Cited Basics (10:24)
Reviews formatting issues that are common across multiple elements of an MLA citation, including how to deal with names, dates, capitalization, and more. Also provides an introduction to the MLA Practice Template.
MLA Style 9th Edition: Module 4- Citing Books, Articles, and More (13:12)
Provides specific examples on how to format a Works Cited page citation using the MLA Practice Template and the formatting rules learned in Module 3.

APA 1: Introduction to APA Citation Style (4:56)
This tutorial provides a brief introduction to the 7th edition of APA.
APA 2: Formatting Basics (9:53)
This tutorial provides information on the basic formatting rules of APA 7th edition.
APA 3: Citing Books (6:39)
This tutorial provides information on how to cite books using APA 7th edition.
APA 4: Citing Articles (7:15)
This tutorial provides information on how to cite articles using APA 7th edition.
APA 5: Citing Media Sources (10:33)
This tutorial provides information on how to cite media sources using APA 7th edition.
APA 6: Citing Internet Sources (8:20)
This tutorial provides information on how to cite internet sources using APA 7th edition.
APA 7: In-text Citations (7:14)
This tutorial provides information on how to write in-text citations using APA 7th edition.
APA 8: Reference List Basics (4:58)
This tutorial provides information on how to create a reference list using APA 7th edition.