Contains nearly 12 million biographical entries from over 2700 current and retrospective reference books; covers historic and contemporary figures.
Design and Applied Arts Index *DISCONTINUED*
Discontinued. Access ended June 30, 2020.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) contains abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. DAAI covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Updated monthly.
Provides online access to a digital streaming video collection of unique films of current, leading British theatre productions. Includes behind-the-scenes documentaries as well as teaching and learning resources to facilitate a deeper understanding of the productions and texts. Learning resources include a detailed introduction, plot summary, character biographies, a relationship map, language analysis, scene study, performance background and historical context for each play.
Provides the full text of over 2200 plays by hundreds of different authors from the late 14th century through the end of the 19th century. This source is based on materials listed in the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature.
Humanities International Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
The database provides a comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theater students, educators and professionals. Developed from data going back to 1984, this comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. For Kent State University, students and faculty now have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles.
An index of plays in English searchable by title; author; subject; style; genre; cast type; and more. Play Index provides the full publication details needed to locate the play in its published manifestations. All Play master records contain a link to the results of an Internet metasearch of specially selected Web sites to link to full text, criticism, and other useful information.
Short Story Index provides indexing to over 100,000 short stories found within anthologies and collections. Search by author, title, subject, keyword, date, or literary technique. Also includes the full text for nearly 5,000 stories.
DO NOT LINK TO THIS RESOURCE. TITLE CHANGED BACK TO WEB OF SCIENCE JAN. 2014. USE ENTRY FOR WEB OF SCIENCE INSTEAD. Three multidisciplinary "Web of Science" databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Updated weekly.
Provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated daily.
Provides criticism on contemporary theatre, film and television as well as biographical and bibliographical information on people in this field. Full-text version of the print reference set by the same name. Part of the Gale Virtual Reference Library.
Provides information about the lives and careers of authors from all genres and eras. Also includes biographical and critical studies written by scholars, as well as suggestions for further readings and author bibliographies.
Includes citations for dissertations dating from the first U.S. dissertation issued in 1861. Contains abstracts for dissertations from 1980 to the present and for master's theses from 1988 forward. The work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities are also included. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
Full-text access to "Dictionary of Literary Biography," "Contemporary Literary Criticism" and "Contemporary Authors" reference sets. A bio-bibliographical guide covering writers from all eras, nationalities and genres.
IPA Source is a large collection of IPA (International Phonetic Alphabet) transcriptions and literal translations of art songs and arias originally in Latin, French, Italian, German, and Spanish. IPA Now contains over 5,700 texts, including about 1,000 aria texts.
Contains the full text of many newspapers going back more than 30 years, federal and state case law and legislative materials, law reviews, company news and financial information, medical and health information, general information sources, and much more. Updates and coverage vary by section. Please note that Nexis Uni is the newer, upgraded version of LexisNexis Academic.
Index to writings on classical and popular music, including scholarly and journalistic publications and reviews of books, recordings, and performances. Covers publications from 1979 to the present. Updated quarterly. See print edition for coverage of writings from 1949 to present.
Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. This database is updated daily.
This resource offers fully searchable comprehensive bilingual dictionaries and unique study materials that provide extra help with learning languages. Currently includes Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish bilingual dictionaries.
Provides both historical (back to the 17th century) and recent criticism on Shakespeare. Full-text version of the print reference set by the same name. Part of the Gale Literature Criticism Online database.
The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online is a searchable electronic database consisting of the most comprehensive record of Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide.