Provides access to nursing and allied health literature and information, including such disciplines as physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech-language pathology, consumer health, alternative therapies, and health sciences librarianship. Updated monthly.
Use this link to search the National Library of Medicine's database which is the primary database to use to identify professional journal articles about medical and health science topics. This database has the same search software interface as the CINAHL database.
The Cochrane Library is comprised of several databases that identify research at varying levels of evidence. The databases are: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), the Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, the Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessment Database, NHS Economic Evaluation Database.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It covers both scholarly and popular resources, with peer-reviewed materials comprising about 25%. It is possible to limit to scholarly journals only if desired.
Provides information about articles on questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes and manuals, rating scales and other measurement instruments in the fields of health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides nearly 590 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 627 journals. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Provides access to abstracts relevant to human nutrition selected from more than 1,000 academic journals, books, reports and conferences published worldwide. Areas of human nutrition include food techniques; foods; physiology and biochemistry; nutrition and health; and clinical nutrition. Online version of Nutrition Abstracts and Reviews Series A. Human and Experimental.
This database provides accurate, unbiased information on natural health, including herbs and supplements; conditions; drug interactions; alternative therapies; and homeopathy. These articles are entirely based on double-blind, placebo-controlled studies and other forms of meaningful scientific evidence. The more than 12,000 studies have been reviewed by a team of physicians and pharmacologists to insure the provision of reliable information without exaggeration or misrepresentation.
APA PsycINFO is the key resource for scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in the behavioral sciences and mental health. Journal coverage is from the 1800s to the present, and includes international material from approximately 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
REHABDATA is produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center and is freely available on the Web. "The main file, 1997-present, describes over 12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities."