The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management by David O. RenzThe go-to nonprofit handbook, updated and expanded for today's leader The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is the bestselling professional reference and leading text on the functions, processes, and strategies that are integral to the effective leadership and management of nonprofit and nongovernmental organizations. Now in its fourth edition, this handbook presents the most current research, theory, and practice in the field of nonprofit leadership and management. This practical, relevant guide is invaluable to the effective practice of nonprofit leadership and management, with expanded attention to accountability, transparency, and organizational effectiveness. It also extensively covers the practice of social entrepreneurship, presented via an integrative perspective that helps the reader make practical sense of how to bring it all together. Nonprofit organizations present unique opportunities and challenges for meeting the needs of societies and their communities, yet nonprofit management is more complex and challenging than ever. This Handbook provides a framework to help you lead and manage efficiently and effectively in this new environment. Building on solid current scholarship, the handbook provides candid, practical guidance from nationally-recognized leaders who share their insights on: The relationship between board performance and organizational effectiveness Managing internal and external stakeholder relationships Financial viability and sustainability and how to enhance both for the long term Strategies to successfully attract, retain, and mobilize the very best of staff and volunteers The fourth edition of the handbook also includes content relevant to associations and membership organizations. The content of the handbook is supplemented and enriched by an extensive set of online supplements and tools, including reading lists, web references, checklists, PowerPoint slides, discussion guides, and sample exams. Running your nonprofit or nongovernmental organization effectively in today's complex and challenging environment demands more knowledge and skill than ever, deployed in a thoughtful and pragmatic way. Grounded in the most useful modern scholarship and theory, and explained from the perspective of effective practice, The Jossey-Bass Handbook of Nonprofit Leadership and Management is a pivotal resource for successful nonprofit leaders in these turbulent times.
Applies a rigorous, analytical approach to improve public policy, inform the public and stimulate civic life
Electronic Books - Access through KentLINK
Applied Research Methods in Public and Nonprofit Organizations by Mitchell Brown; Kathleen HaleA complete guide to applied research, featuring original data and detailed case studies Applied Research Methods in Public and Nonprofit Organizations takes an integrative approach to applied research, emphasizing design, data collection, and analysis. Common case studies across chapters illustrate the everyday nature of research, and practical exercises reinforce concepts across all sections of the text. The book includes forms and formats for data collection and analysis, plus writing excerpts that demonstrate results reporting and presentation. The accompanying instructor's guide features assignments, discussion questions, and exercises referenced in the book, and the authors' own data sets are available for use online. Conducting research, analyzing results, and synthesizing the findings for key stakeholders is fundamental to the study and practice of public and nonprofit management. Aligned with management curriculum for both sectors, the book focuses on the common ground these organizations share when it comes to planning, conducting, and using research in day-to-day professional activities. The original research examples presented are in the context of this shared commonality, including resource acquisition, evaluative processes, and future planning through the lens of common social policy issues facing leaders today. Topics include: The research process and applied research designs Applied research questions and literature Data collection in the field and survey research Data analysis, writing, and presentation The examples highlight intergovernmental institutions in which public service occurs, and provide expanded reach to nonprofit organizations and the networked collaborations that make up a significant portion of today's public service. For students and practitioners of public administration, public policy, and nonprofit management, Applied Research Methods in Public and Nonprofit Organizations provides a comprehensive reference to this critical skillset.
Publication Date: 2014-08-13
Nonprofit Organizations and Civil Society in the United States by Kelly Leroux; Mary K. FeeneyLeRoux and Feeney s Nonprofit Organizations and Civil Society in the United States makes a departure from existing nonprofit texts on the market: rather than focus on management, it focuses on nonprofit organizations and their contributions to the social, political, and economic dimensions of society. The book also covers the nexus between nonprofits and civil society. This text offers a theory-oriented undergraduate introduction to the nonprofit field and an examination of the multifaceted roles these organizations play in American society."
Publication Date: 2014-11-13
Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations by Michael Allison; Jude KayeThe bestselling guide to nonprofit planning, with proven, practical advice Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations describes a proven method for creating an effective, organized, actionable strategy, tailored to the unique needs of the nonprofit organization. Now in its third edition, this bestselling manual contains new information about the value of plans, specific guidance toward business planning, and additional information about the strategic plan document itself. Real-world case studies illustrate different planning and implementation scenarios and techniques, and the companion website offers templates, tools, and worksheets that streamline the process. The book provides expert insight, describing common misperceptions and pitfalls to avoid, helping readers craft a strategic plan that adheres to the core values of the organization. A well-honed strategic plan helps nonprofit managers set priorities, and acquire and allocate the resources necessary to achieve their goals. It also provides a framework for handling challenges, and keeps the focus on the organization's priorities. Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations is an excellent source of guidance for managers at nonprofits of every size and budget, helping readers to: Identify the reasons for planning, and gather information from internal and external stakeholders Assess the current situation accurately, and agree on priorities, mission, values, and vision Prioritize goals and objectives for the plan, and develop a detailed implementation strategy Evaluate and monitor a changing environment, updating roles, goals, and parameters as needed Different organizations have different needs, processes, resources, and priorities. The one thing they have in common is the need for a no-nonsense approach to planning with practical guidance and a customizable framework. Strategic Planning for Nonprofit Organizations takes the fear out of planning, with expert guidance on the nonprofit's most vital management activity.
Publication Date: 2015-03-10
Performance Management in Nonprofit Organizations by Zahirul Hoque (Editor); Lee Parker (Editor)With increased competition for external funding, technological advancement, and public expectations for transparency, not-for-profit and non-governmental organizations are facing new challenges and pressures. While research has explored the roles of accounting, accountability, and performance management in nonprofit organizations, we still lack evidence on the best practices these organizations implement in the areas of accountability and performance management. This book collects and presents that evidence for the first time, offering insights to help nonprofits face these new challenges head-on. Performance Management in Nonprofit Organizations focuses on both conventional and contemporary issues facing nonprofits, presenting evidence-based insights from leading scholars in the field. Chaptersnbsp;examine the design, implementation, and working of accounting, accountability, governance, and performance management measures, providing both retrospective and contemporary views, as well as critical commentaries on accounting and performance related issuesnbsp;innbsp;nonprofit organizationsnbsp;The book's contributors also offer critical commentariesnbsp;on the changing role of accounting and performance management in this sector. This research-based collection is an interesting and useful read for academics, practitioners, students, and consultants in nonprofit organizations, and is highly accessible to accounting and non-accounting audiences alike.
Publication Date: 2014-10-23
Promoting Nonprofit Organizations by Ruth Ellen KinzeyPromoting Nonprofit Organizations is a practical guide to developing and implementing a strategic public relations program to enhance a nonprofit s reputation. The ways in which businesses both for-profit and not-for-profit communicate with customers has changed dramatically in recent years. Coupled with economic uncertainty, nonprofits have had to adopt a leaner operational mode, further underlining the need for organizations to take advantage of all the promotion strategies available to them. This book: Discusses why public relations and reputation management go hand-in-hand with marketing efforts Offers a step-by-step guide to develop a public relations strategy Considers the importance of nonprofit sustainable citizenship Provides tips for reputation enhancement using a range of tools, such as social media and board ambassadorship Guides the reader in developing a reputation approach to crisis communication management Highly practical in its approach, this book is a great guide for students in public relations and nonprofit management courses, as well as for professionals seeking to enhance the success of their nonprofit organization. "
Publication Date: 2013-08-21
Nonprofit Investment and Development Solutions by Roger Matloff; Joy Chaillou; Joy Hunter ChaillouSolid guidance for managers and trustees to better position their nonprofits now and in the future The Great Recession has left a paradigm shift for nonprofit leadership and their board members as fiduciaries. It has changed how boards make, evaluate and document investment decisions, the risks they are willing to take and the way these details are communicated to donors. Nonprofit Investment and Development Solutions + Website will provide solid guidance for nonprofit leadership, staff and volunteers to better position their nonprofits to thrive now and in the future. This guide will provide: Sophisticated investment and development principles that are easily understandable and adaptable Specific steps to take in order to avoid unnecessary investment risk and secure financial stability Solutions and techniques for capitalizing on opportunities created by funding shifts and evolving donor expectations Principles and practices of fiduciary responsibility, behavioral finance, socially responsible investing, strategic development planning and charity efficiency In addition, Nonprofit Investment and Development Solutions + Website offers a web site resource with a variety of online tools and templates to help readers implement key concepts discussed in this book.