Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Other Databases & Resources
What the Icons Mean
= OhioLINK Authentication
= Additional Information
Current Local & Select Current National Newspapers
Other Newspaper Sources
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection of UK Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden. These treasures can now be searched, browsed and discovered again within Gale Digital Collections.
Newspaper images can be magnified for easier reading or reduced for on screen navigation. You can save and print article images, create persistent links and email them to others. When trying to print entire newspaper pages, you will need to tile them to make them legible given the differing paper size between newsprint and common office paper sizes.
To find out more about the Burney Newspapers Collection, explore the Topic Guide, which has essays and biographical information about this vibrant period. Similarly, for additional background on a specific newspaper, select "About this Publication" from a results list.
19th Century US Newspapers This link opens in a new window
As compelling as it is comprehensive, 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life, among other subjects.
This full-text searchable, facsimile-image database makes experiencing historical events, daily life and 19th-century American culture as easy as clicking a mouse. 19th Century U.S. Newspapers provides both professional and general researchers with easy access to seemingly endless information and primary resources — the vast majority of which have never before been accessible online.
African American Newspapers, Series 1, 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Explore the African American newspaper archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Beginning with Freedom's Journal (NY), the first African American newspaper published in the United States, the titles in this resource include The Colored Citizen (OH), Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, Virginia Journal and Alexandria Advertiser, Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds of others from every region of the U.S.
America's News This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete electronic editions of more than 1,500 U.S. news sources and news video clips, covering local and regional news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people in the community. Paid advertisements are excluded.
British Library Newspapers, 19th Century II This link opens in a new window
The British Library Newspapers collection contains full runs of 48 newspapers specially selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as those from both established country or university towns and the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands, as well as Scotland, Ireland and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. The penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also present in the collection.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages published between 1836 and 1922; some newspapers from Ohio are available. The site also includes directory information, including a link to l...
Daily Kent Stater Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The Daily Kent Stater Digital Archive is a multi-year project to digitize every issue of the Kent Stater / Daily Kent Stater campus newspaper. The project, funded by the Kent State University Libra...
Early American Newspapers, Series II, 1758-1900 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 200 significant 18th and 19th-century American newspapers. Focuses on the period between 1820 and 1860, when the number of American newspapers rose dramatically. Based primarily on the newspaper collection of the American Antiquarian Society, Series II also includes titles from the holdings of the Library of Congress, the Wisconsin Historical Society and other organizations.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
Factiva is a good source for international business and company news. It includes full text news reports from more than 10,000 sources from 159 countries and available in 22 languages.
LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of many newspapers going back more than 30 years, federal and state case law and legislative materials, law reviews, company news and financial information, medical and health information, general information sources, and much more. Updates and coverage vary by section. Please note that Nexis Uni is the newer, upgraded version of LexisNexis Academic.
Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. This database is updated daily.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Create a new NYT account:
1. Navigate to NYT pass page: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/verification/edupass
2. Click "Create Account” and complete registration fields
Already have a NYT Account and need to renew:
1. Navigate to NYT pass page: https://myaccount.nytimes.com/verification/edupass
2. Click "Already have an account? Log in here"
3. Log in with existing NYT username / password.
Once you have your own NYT account, navigate directly to https://www.nytimes.com from your device (or download the app).
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Search for New York Times
articles published from 1851 up to two years ago. Includes the complete paper with full-page and article images in PDF format. If you are looking for current New York Times
content, please consult LexisNexis Academic, Factiva, or the New York Times website
Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
Contains listings, summaries, and descriptions of news broadcasts found in the Vanderbilt University television news archive. Segments of the evening news as well as special broadcasts covering political conventions, presidential campaigns, international events, and more are included. Names of reporters, anchors, persons involved in an event, and a summary may be searched. Major networks covered are ABC, CBS, NBC and CNN, as well as ABC's Nightline since 1989.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2012 This link opens in a new window
The Times Digital Archive is an online, full-text facsimile of more than 200 years of The Times, one of the most highly regarded resources for the 19th – 20th Century history detailing every complete page of every issue from 1785. This historical newspaper archive allows researchers an unparalleled opportunity to search and view the best-known and most cited newspaper in the world online in its original published context.