Skip to Main Content

Medical Librarianship Resources: Medical Terminology Resources

Medical Dictionary eBooks

Dorland's Medical Dictionary by Dorland
ISBN: 9781455709854
Publication Date: 2011
Thoroughly updated, this user-friendly reference, trusted for more than a century by healthcare personnel at every professional level, allows you to grasp the meanings of all medical terms in current usage. Understand and correctly use all the latest terminology in today's ever-evolving medical field with the 32nd Edition of the comprehensive, highly respected Dorlands Illustrated Medical Dictionary Enhance your understanding of all the current medical terminology in your field by relying on the most comprehensive and highly respected medical dictionary, bringing you more than 120,000 well-defined entries and 1500 clear illustrations. Make sure you're familiar with the very latest medical terms used today with more than 5,500 new entries drawn from current sources. Complement your understanding of new words and ideas in medicine with 500 new illustrations Get more information in a smaller amount of space as the revised entry format includes related parts of speech. --From the Publisher
Stedman's medical dictionary for the health professions and nursing
ISBN: 9781782681595
Publication Date: 2012
"Featuring more than 56,000 entries, this thoroughly updated Seventh Edition contains the medical terminology used in more than 30 of today's fastest growing health profession areas--plus comprehensive inclusion of entries suited for the nursing field. The book includes 1,000 enriched color images and photographs, a glossy insert with detailed images by Anatomical Chart Company, more than 65 appendices, and cut thumb tabs for quick A-to-Z reference. More than 70 leading consultants from health professions and nursing contributed to the enhancements of this edition. Also included with the purchase is a free one-year subscription to Stedman's Online: Stedman's Medical Dictionary for the Health Professions and Nursing, which includes all the content from the print dictionary, as well as access to 5,600 images, more than 48,000 audio pronunciations, and 48 live action videos; along with a free version of Stedman's Plus Medical/Pharmaceutical Spellchecker."--Provided by publisher

More Medical Terminology Resources

Medical Dictionary of Health Terms
Provided by Harvard Health Publishing at Harvard Medical School.
Medline Plus Medical Encyclopedia
Provided by the National Library of Medicine
Introduction to Medical Terminology
Find commonly used suffixes, prefixes, and word roots and more basics of medical terminology. Provided by the University of Minnesota.
Medline Plus Word Parts and What they Mean
Provided by the National Library of Medicine
Understanding Medical Words Tutorial from the National Library of Medicine
Free Online Medical Terminology Course
Provided by Des Moines University, this free online course offers 15 learning modules. Created by: Donald Matz, Ph.D., faculty consultant
William J. Dyche, Ph.D., program author
MeSH Subject Heading Resources
Provided by the National Library of Medicine. Includes information and tutorials on using MeSH heading when searching PubMed, MEDLINE Complete and other databases that utilize the MeSH controlled vocabulary.

Games, Flashcards, and More

Medical Terminology Quizlet
Free online medical terminology flashcards.
Philips Learning Center Medical Terminology Games
Includes an interactive quiz and 100 free medical games.
Sporcle Medical Terminology
Name the body part corresponding to the -ectomy in the "Name that -ectomy Quiz"

Last Updated: Nov 4, 2022 3:50 PM
URL: https://libguides.library.kent.edu/medicallibrarianship
Print Page

Subjects: Library & Information Science