Humanities International Complete provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracting for over 1,900 titles, and full text of hundreds of journals books and other publications. The database includes citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
The database provides a comprehensive multicultural and inter-disciplinary research tool available to theater students, educators and professionals. Developed from data going back to 1984, this comprises a fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated databank of journal articles, books, book articles and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance.
JSTOR is an electronic archive of complete journal backruns, current to within 2 to 5 years. The collections include: Arts & Sciences I-VIII, Business Collection I-III, Ecology & Botany, General Science, and Language and Literature. For Kent State University, students and faculty now have access to 381 JSTOR journals representing over 2 million articles.
MEDLINE Complete provides medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and pre-clinical sciences. Uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 5,400 current biomedical journals. Provides full text access to over 1,800 journals indexed in MEDLINE.
Provides international coverage of sports and fitness literature, including physical fitness, physical education, sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, fitness, social and psychological aspects of sport and leisure, play, games, dance, and more. Full text is available for many of the articles covered.
DO NOT LINK TO THIS RESOURCE. TITLE CHANGED BACK TO WEB OF SCIENCE JAN. 2014. USE ENTRY FOR WEB OF SCIENCE INSTEAD. Three multidisciplinary "Web of Science" databases covering selected journal literature and conference proceedings in the areas of the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences. Updated weekly.
Provides full text for more than 4,000 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. This database is updated daily.
Music Online: American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past. The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests and more.
An online streaming music service featuring classical music works from the Medieval era through the present. Recordings can be located by browsing lists or by using a search engine, and users can create and save playlists.
Contains genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and others. This database includes a blend of contemporary and traditional world music recordings from many labels throughout the world. The focus is concentrated on contemporary genres, such as fusion and world beat. Users can trace the history of a people's music by comparing the traditional styles with the modern interpretations offered in this database.
Includes citations for dissertations dating from the first U.S. dissertation issued in 1861. Contains abstracts for dissertations from 1980 to the present and for master's theses from 1988 forward. The work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities are also included. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital format and have 24 page previews available.
Contains the full text of many newspapers going back more than 30 years, federal and state case law and legislative materials, law reviews, company news and financial information, medical and health information, general information sources, and much more. Updates and coverage vary by section. Please note that Nexis Uni is the newer, upgraded version of LexisNexis Academic.
Music Online: Listening Plus is a multidisciplinary collection of audiovisual content that touches on the curriculum needs of virtually every department. With almost 70,000 albums amounting to more than 7 million tracks available now and new titles added every month, this collection is unmatched in its breadth. Music Online: Listening Plus allows students and researchers alike to analyze unique and valuable content from over 500 producers and distributors around the world.
The most comprehensive collection of classical music available online. It includes 1,000,000+ tracks, including Classical music, Historical recordings, Jazz, World and Folk music. Liner notes are available for some recordings. Apple & Android mobile apps available - http://libguides.library.kent.edu/StreamingAudioApps.
Provides selected full text for over 180 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are provided from CBS News, FOX News, NPR, etc. This database is updated daily.
Music Online: Popular Music Library from Alexander Street contains a wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music, including alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries includes the published recordings owned by the non-profit Smithsonian Folkways Recordings label and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. It also includes music recorded around the African continent by Dr. Hugh Tracey for the International Library of African Music (ILAM) at Rhodes University as well as material collected by recordists on the South Asian subcontinent from the Archive Research Centre for Ethnomusicology (ARCE), sponsored by the American Institute for Indian Studies.